Customer Reviews for

Shattered

Average Rating 3.5
( 157 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

This is a fast-paced legal thriller

Having lost her position at a law firm that went bankrupt, Lisa Grant) leaves Lexington, Kentucky to go home to the family horse ranch Grayson Springs. Lisa does not feel bad about losing her job as she needs to care for her mom who is dying from ALS.

Lisa obtains ...
Having lost her position at a law firm that went bankrupt, Lisa Grant) leaves Lexington, Kentucky to go home to the family horse ranch Grayson Springs. Lisa does not feel bad about losing her job as she needs to care for her mom who is dying from ALS.

Lisa obtains work at the Fayette County District Attorney's office working as a research assistant to DA Scott Buchanan, whom she once loved. His attitude makes her realize he hired her under pressure due to her connections to her mom. Lisa looks into the files of a cold case in which Michael and Angela Garcia and their two children (Tony and Marisa) vanished without a trace in 1981. However, the case shakes her to her bone marrow when she sees the picture of Marisa and a doll the child clings to; she is looking at herself as a little girl and the doll is identical to one she had. Her inquiry with Scott's help turns ugly when an arsonist tries to kill her and her mom

This is a fast-paced legal thriller that after a prologue has Scott cursing out Lisa for failing to do her job; setting the tone of their relationship. The action never slows down as someone is out to harm Lisa and her mom although the younger has no idea why. Although the climax is over the top of Black Mountain with an incredulous denouement, fans will enjoy Karen Robards taut romantic suspense.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on January 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Boring

I have read every book this author has written and never been disappointed until now. I started it at the beach and put it down half way through because it was awful. There were so many run on sentences and parenthesis and dashes that it was too distracting to follow. ...
I have read every book this author has written and never been disappointed until now. I started it at the beach and put it down half way through because it was awful. There were so many run on sentences and parenthesis and dashes that it was too distracting to follow. She went on and on about things that had absolutely nothing to do with the plot. Speaking of the plot, it was pretty shaky at the start and no real action until the very end. Ms. Robards earlier works are worth your time. This one is not.

posted by kjb192 on April 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    Good escapism read

    Good characters and great plot delving into the past. Always a favorite theme for me. Would recommend it to anyone to read. Lots of mystery and a little love mixed in never hurts!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    Great Plot - A little wordy!

    This story was a real page turner. I loved the characters and was hooked from the begining. However, the author spends too much time describing the scenery. I would highly recommend this book, but be prepared to skip lengthy descriptions of places and clothing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    Great read!

    I love Karen Robards and "Shattered" was yet again another great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Thriller

    This was one you could not put down once you started it.
    Really enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    I loved the characters - all of them.

    This books was so good, I could not put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    Riviting

    Kept my nose to the book and always wanting to see whst was goingbto happen next

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Twists until the last page

    This is an incredible well written book. Twists and turns leaves you guessing and you cannot imagine the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2013

    Very good book!

    Really enjoyed this book and couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Highly Recommended - a must read!

    Keeps you on the edge of your seat, very exciting action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Loved it

    Another great story from karen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Good book

    Very fast pace. Good book. I injoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    Great

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Shattered Lives and Family Secrets

    I've been reading Karen Robards for at least 20 years and she's always been an auto-buy author for me. You can count on her to deliver a great romantic suspense read.

    Shattered delivered on both counts, but not without a few issues.

    One issue I have to mention right up front (doesn't really have anything to do with the storyline). Both the author's website and Goodreads list the heroine's name as Lisa Shewmaker when in fact her name in the book is Lisa Grant. How does that happen?

    Scott and Lisa have history in spades. Lisa has been in love with Scott ever since she was a teenager, a spoiled, rich little heiress, prancing around in her tight clothes and skimpy bathing suits trying to attract the attention of the cute, slightly older, hired help. Scott knows trouble (and jailbait) when he sees it and manages to keep his teenage hormones in check and resist the little princess.

    Fast forward ten years and a reversal of fortune has brought a jobless Lisa back to the home she grew up in to care for her ailing mother. And right back into Scott's life. Now he's the Boss, a respected District Attorney and she's come to him begging for a job.

    You can sense right from page 3 of the 1st chapter that there is going to be some serious fireworks between these two when Scott threatens to fire Lisa for being late for work one day. It doesn't help that Scott just happens to witness Lisa being dropped off by her boyfriend or the extended lip lock in the parking lot before "loverboy" drives away. Jealous much?

    The sexual tension and chemistry between them is hot, unfortunately Scott has a strict policy against dating co-workers, but you know what they say about rules being made to be broken? Hey he did hold out for over half the book, which by the way was just too long in my opinion, but it kept me reading waiting for the payoff.

    As far as the suspense goes the beginning flashback chapter set the stage for the action that was to come. It doesn't take long to figure out where the story is headed and the title Shattered is a dead giveaway. Lisa was like a cat with nine lives as more than one attempt was made on her life as she tried to solve a decades old cold case. Even though I was sure about the ending, Robards did throw a few wrinkles in before reaching the final conclusion that I didn't see coming so the ending was not as obvious as I thought it was going to be.

    Speaking of the ending, it was way, way, way to rushed. It was almost as if the author realized she'd reached her word count and wanted to tie everything up in a nice neat little bow in the last 10 pages. All the questions got answered, but I really felt cheated.

    Overall it was a good, solid read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Great read

    Deep in thoroughbred county Lisa Grant has come home to be with her mother dying of ALS. Working for the DA's office she stumbles across a photo that's like looking in a mirror, but asking questions about the woman and her family that went missing 30 years ago is like opening Pandora's Box, she needs help and she turns to her boss local DA Scott Buchanan who she's known for years and lusted after almost as long. Scott Buchanan son of the town drunk and all around no account father has made good for himself by hard work and it's brought him to the pinnacle of his career, being the DA. His long time nemesis coming home to be with her ailing mother asks him for a job, even though he knows it's a terrible idea, he does it. It's a terrible idea because he's been having illicit thoughts about her since before it was legal to do so. But she's here and she's in trouble and he's the only one that can help. But there's trouble in paradise and it seems to surround Lisa wherever she goes. Scott is determined to help her, but in doing so he finds more than physical danger also the danger of loosing his heart.
    Karen Robards gives us a spine tingling mystery/thriller and a sensual romantic suspense in one terrific read. The plot takes us to the privileged in horseracing and the underbelly of society and does it with page turning excitement. Her dialogue is precise and yet flows fluidly throughout the novel. Her depictions of the lifestyle of the rich and famous brought down to earth really resonated with me and made the characters more real. And speaking of the characters, her hero Scott is the man that all mother's want their sons to turn out to become and he's made ever more human with all the ghosts of his pasts that only increase his attraction to the readers. The heroine Lisa is someone you may want to despise because of her lofty beginnings, but when she's brought down to earth not only by her mother's illness but also because of financial difficulty the audience will find itself championing for this unlikely star. Her co starring characters are a very solid addition to the telling of the story. Her love story is honest and heartbreaking, it's intense and sensual and it makes you want to cheer for them. The love scenes are extremely physical with a great deal of carnality to tempt the purest of us and yet there is also a feeling of that Grand Passion that most of us find so elusive.
    But don't be fooled by the romance because there is an incredible mystery inside this fast paced page-turner with all the requirements that a true mystery fan looks for, a great who-done-it. So all you mystery and romantic suspense fans alike will find just what you're looking for in Shattered which is #9 on this weeks NY Times Best Seller list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    A great read

    I enjoyed this book because the ending was completely unexpected. I had read other books by Karen Robards in the past and downloaded this one to my nook for a long weekend read. It is about a woman who takes a job that is a step down to care for her sick mother. The book is a thriller and kept my attention because it ventures into unexpected turns in the plot. the ending was not where I expected it to go and that was the best part. I would absolutely buy another of Karen Robards books just because of the plot twists that made it a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3