Customer Reviews for

Shattered (Iron Druid Chronicles Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Thoroughly enjoyed this latest adventure. New characters, more p

Thoroughly enjoyed this latest adventure. New characters, more plots. Couldn't put it down. Loved every moment. 

posted by parriscandy1 on June 22, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

It seems when an author begins to run out of gas in keeping his

It seems when an author begins to run out of gas in keeping his main character and central story the main focus of his books, he gives secondary characters major POVs with side stories. This book was like reading 3 short stories and they were repeatedly interrupted by e...
It seems when an author begins to run out of gas in keeping his main character and central story the main focus of his books, he gives secondary characters major POVs with side stories. This book was like reading 3 short stories and they were repeatedly interrupted by each other competing to get your attention. Like the previous book Hunted, there was a lot of hum-drum, uninteresting fill activities by the characters.

I don't understand why Hearn did not elaborate more on the new character Owen's first time experiences with the modern world but there was almost nothing of his reactions.  It could have been very funny.  

Another problem I had was with the mixed tenses as in first person present and first person past.  It was awkward reading.

Hearn still has not honed the skill of writing effectively in the female view, nor of giving his words the strong emotions that would transfer to the reader.  I should have been teary eyed in a couple of places but I wasn't .

The end chapters with a battle scene was good and the story should have ended there, but there is an epilogue that dangles a carrot to entice us to want the next book. Due to my disappointment with both Hunted and Shattered, the dangling carrot isn't very enticing.. 

posted by BC1130 on June 25, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 22, 2014

    Thoroughly enjoyed this latest adventure. New characters, more p

    Thoroughly enjoyed this latest adventure. New characters, more plots. Couldn't put it down. Loved every moment. 

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2014

    I finished this book at 1am and LOVED it! This was quite possibl

    I finished this book at 1am and LOVED it! This was quite possibly my favorite book of the series so far. There are TWO TALKING DOGS NOW! And more Druids! Lots of laugh out loud moments, and a few teary ones as well. If you haven't started reading this series, I highly recommend it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2014

    It seems when an author begins to run out of gas in keeping his

    It seems when an author begins to run out of gas in keeping his main character and central story the main focus of his books, he gives secondary characters major POVs with side stories. This book was like reading 3 short stories and they were repeatedly interrupted by each other competing to get your attention. Like the previous book Hunted, there was a lot of hum-drum, uninteresting fill activities by the characters.

    I don't understand why Hearn did not elaborate more on the new character Owen's first time experiences with the modern world but there was almost nothing of his reactions.  It could have been very funny.  

    Another problem I had was with the mixed tenses as in first person present and first person past.  It was awkward reading.

    Hearn still has not honed the skill of writing effectively in the female view, nor of giving his words the strong emotions that would transfer to the reader.  I should have been teary eyed in a couple of places but I wasn't .

    The end chapters with a battle scene was good and the story should have ended there, but there is an epilogue that dangles a carrot to entice us to want the next book. Due to my disappointment with both Hunted and Shattered, the dangling carrot isn't very enticing.. 

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2014

    Entertaining

    This is just a fun series to read. Nothing earthshattering, but the books do entertain for a time. Looking forward to the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2015

    Great read

    Could not put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2015

    Great Read

    I love reading about Atticus, Granuile, Oberon and now Orlaith. Kevin Hearne has the ability to bring these characters to life on the page completely fully-formed. I did find this chapter in Atticus life to be somewhat difficult to read with so many different characters perspectives but no matter what, Shattered is definitely worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2014

    My traditional style of reviewing would reveal too many spoilers

    My traditional style of reviewing would reveal too many spoilers and giveaway too much. Shattered has been dealing out harsh lessons through out the whole book for Atticus, Owen, and Granuaile but in particularly The Fae. The old saying that which we ignore will become glaringly placed in front of us where we can't ignore it. The saying can be aptly applied to this book and through out the series. There is definitely a subtle theme running thru this series that everyone makes mistakes it's in admitting them then and only then do we truly learn about ourselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2014

    Excellent Read

    Hearne always delivers a good story, but I was a little concerned with this one as he now has three main characters from whose point of view he is telling the story, and in this one, they often have separate stories to tell. No reason to be concerned! He did a fantastic job of giving everyone's account, keeping up the interest and suspense, and leaving just enough left unfinished that I am eagerly awaiting the next installment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2014

    Hallo

    Hallo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2014

    Thistle

    Yes silv?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2014

    Silv

    Lol ok. Cya tomorrow. Zz

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    Another great story!

    Kevin Hearne just doesn't quit - his stories are awesome reads. If you like the series so far, you'll love this new chapter in Atticus' life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    :)

    :) really really good loved the new characters and the old ones

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2014

    Just when things get a little to serious Oberon steps in and say

    Just when things get a little to serious Oberon steps in and says something hysterical. Romance, mystery, magic and every god you can think of. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Herne does it again!

    Another home run in the Iron Druid Chronicles!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Another great read by Hearne!

    Yet again Kevin Hearne rocks our collective socks off. Can't wait for another installment of this wonderful series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    AMAZING!!!!

    Another amazing edition to the iron Druid Series, Hearne is an amzing author with depths of characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2014

    Kevin Hearne spoils me for other authors, his prose is so entert

    Kevin Hearne spoils me for other authors, his prose is so entertaining it leaves the writing of others in the pale. This latest installment of the Iron Druid series is just as fabulous as the others. A must read, especially for those who enjoy creative storylines. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    NUMBER OF HEARTS: 4 REVIEW:   Once again I found myself drawn in

    NUMBER OF HEARTS: 4
    REVIEW:  
    Once again I found myself drawn into the world of Druids, Fae’s and magic.   There was a lot going on in this book.  So if you have not started this series yet, you really need to start with book one.   If not you will be completely lost on the events that happen in Shattered.   
    Kevin changed things up a bit in Shattered.  The book was not told solely from Atticus’s point of view, which was good and bad.  
    Good because we got to learn more about Granuaile and Owen.  It was good to see Granuaile grow as a Druid.  It was a very painful growth, but I do believe that she will become an even more amazing Druid.  Good because Owen gets real and learns a thing or two about life and himself.   
    Bad, because listening on audio I am totally in love with Luke Daniel’s version of Atticus & Oberon, so there was less Atticus talking. 
    Overall this was a great book.  If you are a fan of the IDC then you will enjoy this book.  Like I said in the beginning it is written different 3 POV.  I will say it took me a bit to get into, but in the end I really enjoyed and loved having the different POV’s.   I for one am looking forward to the next IDC series and hope that Atticus & Granuaile get a little more time together in the next one!!  

    As always Luke Daniel’s wins my heart.  I love to listen to him read.  Just love him. Yep... that is all I got.  Just love him!!!  

    Disclaimer: 
    I purchased this book from Audible and this review is my own opinion and not a paid review. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Cluttered

    Good read, but the changeing perspectives hurt the overall story I thought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3