BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Shattered: An Extreme Risk Novel

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tracy Wolff Does it AGAIN!

Bittersweet and edgy with sharp jagged shards, Shattered by Tracy Wolff is the journey of one confident and accomplished, snowboarding “legend” who is imploding from within over self-manifested guilt, true grief and overwhelming responsibility. Ash feels responsible for...
Bittersweet and edgy with sharp jagged shards, Shattered by Tracy Wolff is the journey of one confident and accomplished, snowboarding “legend” who is imploding from within over self-manifested guilt, true grief and overwhelming responsibility. Ash feels responsible for the death of his parents and the paralyzing injuries his young brother must deal with for the rest of his life. Tansy is a cancer survivor and an advocate for the “Make A Wish Foundation” on a mission to grant a dying boy his wish to meet his biggest hero, Ash Lewis, but “that” Ash is gone, a shell of himself. Gone is the level-headed, fearless man who took life by the horns and reveled in its rewards. In its place is a man so lost in his own world of pain that he fails to see what he is doing to those around him.

Strong to a fault, Tansy is as determined to see her mission through as Ash is to denying his worthiness of adoration from anyone. But there are sparks that ignite between these two that may be just what Ash needs to rejoin the world and the friends he left behind. Will Tansy convince Ash that everything is not about him, that he is alive and has so much yet to give? There are people who need him, the “him” he is keeping locked away, will Ash learn to open his heart and let go of the past?

My hat is off to Tracy Wolff, who has created a world filled with heart, humor, turmoil and second chances. She tells a tale of love, loss and misguided blame and the pain it causes everyone. Ash is a wonderful character, the change in him is devastating to see, having met him in book one of this amazing series. Tansy is a breath of fresh air, innocent, damaged, but still living life to the fullest in her own quirky way. Ms. Wolff has tackled extremely emotional topics with heart, as she reveals the strength of two boys, each facing a journey that no child should have to face and makes them human, alive and shining brilliantly, if given the chance. I laughed, I cried and I got angry at how unfair life can be. For an author to so completely immerse me in her world, hanging on every word and scene, is the sign of wonderful storytelling. Tracy Wolff has raised her own bar another notch higher.

posted by DiiMI on May 21, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

DO NOT BUY FOR IPHONE APP-NO CONTENT

It infuriates me when publishers put out books, take our money and have no content! This is a known issues, deal with it. Unfortunately, this is a bad reflection on the author. I spoke with online help today and they suggest I wait one to two weeks for the issue to be a...
It infuriates me when publishers put out books, take our money and have no content! This is a known issues, deal with it. Unfortunately, this is a bad reflection on the author. I spoke with online help today and they suggest I wait one to two weeks for the issue to be addressed.

posted by zmyr on May 25, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 21, 2014

    Shattered, An Extreme Risk Novel, Tracy Wolff Review from Jeanni

    Shattered, An Extreme Risk Novel, Tracy Wolff
    Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews

    I loved the first in this series, Shredded. Its based around characters who are Olympic standard snowboarders, and though I know nothing of this sport it didn't affect my enjoyment of the story.
    At the end of the last book Ash has just been told his parents and younger brother had been in an accident. His parents died and Logan, who's just fourteen, is paralysed from the waist down. Ash has given up boarding to look after him, vowing not to do a sport that Logan can no longer enjoy. Logan is a great character and I felt for him. As a wheelchair user myself I know only too well how over protective family can be, and Logan's feeling a bit trapped by it all, but can't get that through to Ash. Ash feels its all his fault as they were on the way to watch him, so its a spiral of guilt and problems the two are stuck in. Ash's friends have been trying to get him to board again in the months since the accident but to no avail. Then along comes Tansy, a tiny slip of a girl who moves something in Ash. She's from the make-a-wish foundation, and has a request from a dying child who wants to meet Ash. They don't get off well, but by some odd circumstances they end up together on a boarding trip to Chile, with the sick child and his parents and health carer.
    Ash is really attracted to Tansy and she to him, but what she doesn't tell him is she's a cancer survivor currently in remission. At nineteen she's been in and out of treatment for ten years, so add to her overprotective parents the fact she has none of the usual teen experiences of boyfriends, parties and clubbing. Her sister is great, younger in years but older in experience, she sends Tansy some porn sites to educate her about sex – that was really funny...I felt for Ash too – she's kept quiet because she didn't want to be thought of as Cancer Girl – where people treat you differently though they don't mean to. You lose your sense of self and become someone unreal. Been there, done that, and understood perfectly where Tansy was coming from! I don't know if Tracey has experience of herself or someone close with cancer or wheelchair use, but as someone who's in both categories ( 19 years past the time I should have died) I feel she's done both those parts incredibly well.
    Of course one moment everything’s going swimmingly and Ash is snowboarding for Timmy, the dying child, who is having a great time, and Tansy is enjoying her first romance and sexual encounters, when the bomb drops and it all goes wrong. Again its handled really well, I can imagine and empathise with all of the characters in how they react. Its a great read, hot sex, adventure and a great romance too.
    Stars: five, one to keep.
    ARC supplied via Netgalley

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Tracy Wolff Does it AGAIN!

    Bittersweet and edgy with sharp jagged shards, Shattered by Tracy Wolff is the journey of one confident and accomplished, snowboarding “legend” who is imploding from within over self-manifested guilt, true grief and overwhelming responsibility. Ash feels responsible for the death of his parents and the paralyzing injuries his young brother must deal with for the rest of his life. Tansy is a cancer survivor and an advocate for the “Make A Wish Foundation” on a mission to grant a dying boy his wish to meet his biggest hero, Ash Lewis, but “that” Ash is gone, a shell of himself. Gone is the level-headed, fearless man who took life by the horns and reveled in its rewards. In its place is a man so lost in his own world of pain that he fails to see what he is doing to those around him.

    Strong to a fault, Tansy is as determined to see her mission through as Ash is to denying his worthiness of adoration from anyone. But there are sparks that ignite between these two that may be just what Ash needs to rejoin the world and the friends he left behind. Will Tansy convince Ash that everything is not about him, that he is alive and has so much yet to give? There are people who need him, the “him” he is keeping locked away, will Ash learn to open his heart and let go of the past?

    My hat is off to Tracy Wolff, who has created a world filled with heart, humor, turmoil and second chances. She tells a tale of love, loss and misguided blame and the pain it causes everyone. Ash is a wonderful character, the change in him is devastating to see, having met him in book one of this amazing series. Tansy is a breath of fresh air, innocent, damaged, but still living life to the fullest in her own quirky way. Ms. Wolff has tackled extremely emotional topics with heart, as she reveals the strength of two boys, each facing a journey that no child should have to face and makes them human, alive and shining brilliantly, if given the chance. I laughed, I cried and I got angry at how unfair life can be. For an author to so completely immerse me in her world, hanging on every word and scene, is the sign of wonderful storytelling. Tracy Wolff has raised her own bar another notch higher.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Tracy Wolff blew me away with Shattered. Her extraordinary abili

    Tracy Wolff blew me away with Shattered. Her extraordinary ability to bring such a realistic depiction of life tragedies while masterfully capturing the pure essence of the human heart. Why did that blow me away, well Wolff also manages to bring us an extreme sport, action packed, romance. Shattered is story telling at its best! 




    Shattered is the perfect name for this story. Ash Lewis is a snowboarder, whose life was forever changed when his parents died in a car crash, leaving him guardian of his now paralyzed brother. Guilty and racked with loss, Ash abandons his boarding passion.




    Tansy Hampton is a cancer survivor. Personally understanding the loss of your childhood due to illness. Tansy now works for the Make a Wish Foundation to give those terminally ill children their dreams. Tansy's first assignment is to convince Ash Lewis to grant a child his dying wish...to see Ash, his hero, snowboard in person 




    The story beautifully reveals two difficult journeys of two amazing children. One child is dealing with his own mortality, losing the battle with cancer. The other child is dealing with being paralyzed and the loss of his parents. Wolff captures the heart ache but also amazing strength of each child's marvelous fortitude. 




    Wolff tackles so many intensely charged situations but still hold true to the extreme sport theme. She provides a rocky and difficult romance, that will also touch your heart and keep you invested till the very end.




    You can't help but be moved by this emotionally jarring, extremely touching story. I would swear that Wolff has personal experience in similar circumstance to bring such realism to her characters plights. This is a must read!!! 




    I also recommend that if you ever have the opportunity to participate with the Make a Wish Foundation or the Ronald McDonald Foundation, that you take it. It is a life alternating experience.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2014

    5 Extremely Worth the Read Stars I was crushed at the end of th

    5 Extremely Worth the Read Stars

    I was crushed at the end of the first book when we learn Ash's parents and brother were in an accident. This book picks up shortly after the accident. Ash is not himself as he struggles to deal with his world being turned upside down and the guilt he deals with because of it. No longer snowboarding he seeks solace in random hookups. He mistakes Tansy for another random hookup when she approaches him to help with a make a wish for a young boy dying from cancer. With some wrangling from his great friends which make another appearance in this book along with his brother, he goes along with the plan.

    Tansy has had her own issues dealing with her past and is glad someone finally sees her for herself. She falls hard for Ash and along the way he does the same. Because she understands where Logan is coming from, she helps Ash interact with his brother. I really loved Tansy as a heroine. She is sweet, she is a fighter and she is just likable.

    The interactions of Ash and the gang with Timmy the make a wish child are so touching. Ash and his struggles make you really feel and connect with him. I love how everything comes down at the end. I figured something along that line was inevitable but I loved the way Wolff gave you just enough drama to have you eagerly turning the pages to find out what will happen but doesn't draw it out so much to make you frustrated.

    Seriously I cannot say enough good things about this book and I seriously cannot wait for the next book as I am certain we will finally get Luc and Cam's story. I think it could get pretty interesting especially since Cam still seems to have feelings for Z.

    Thanks to the author for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    An emotional, sweet, gem of a read, Shattered was a fantastic Ne

    An emotional, sweet, gem of a read, Shattered was a fantastic New Adult romance. I absolutely loved this book! It was deeply emotional, sweetly romantic, and a truly enjoyable read. Loved it!

    Tansy was a lovely heroine. She was very strong and, after years of fighting cancer, she was determined to live life to the fullest. She wasn't the type to back down and was willing to go after what she wanted. Lively and entertaining, she was an imminently likable character. I thought she was great.

    Ash was also wonderful. Like Tansy, he had a lot going on. He was in the middle of grieving over his parents' deaths, figuring out how to care for his injured brother, and just trying to keep his life together. And, through it all, he was a sweet guy who was very loyal and protective of those he loved. He was amazing and I adored him.

    The romance was both sweet and steamy. I thought Tansy and Ash were perfect together. I liked how they were both exactly what the other needed, and how they helped each other become stronger. And, the chemistry between them was constantly sizzling. There was some serious steaminess going on. I thought they were a lovely couple.

    The plot moved quickly and I was hooked the entire way through. I liked how the emotions were portrayed so clearly, in a way that drew me into the characters. I really enjoyed the story and the ending was so sweet. I can't wait to read more from this series!

    Shattered was a brilliant New Adult romance that I absolutely loved. I enjoyed reading it from beginning to end. It was emotional, sweet, romantic, and I loved every bit of it. Romance lovers, this book is a must read.

    *I received a complimentary copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    You can't go wrong with sexy, damaged snowboarders! Yum!

    You can't go wrong with sexy, damaged snowboarders! Yum!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2014

    Loved it!

    Multi-layered story, well eveloped characters & lots of steam! Ms. Wolff is one if my go-to authors

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2014

    Love this series!!

    I have thoroughly enjoyed reading this series. I know there have to be more stories for the rest of the group and can't wait for those to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    Secret

    Here. Or 'darkness within' result one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2014

    After finished Shredded I was looking forward to Shattered but I

    After finished Shredded I was looking forward to Shattered but I did put it off for a bit because I expected it to be extremely emotional
    and difficult to read.  Shattered far surpassed any of my expectations.  This is a New Adult novel, now I'm not a big fan of New Adult but
    Shredded caught my attention and I fell in love with these crazy, snowboarding extremists!  There was no way I wasn't going to read
    Shattered after that and I'm so glad I did.  This isn't your typical NA genre novel.  This is so much deeper.  This book deals with real life
    issues, not just angsty post-teens that are trying to find themselves.  These characters have their lives ripped apart and through their
     friendship and love find a way to pull it back together.  Ash & Tansy are incredible lead characters, neither are whole but they don't give
    up, they don't do the "why me's" that you would expect with their situations.  That take really horrible events and use them to become the
     strong individuals that they are.  They bring each other past the pain and together find ways to be whole and move forward.  The
    emotions that you experience during this book run the gambit, it's no holds barred emotional roller coaster time.  You get the extreme
    highs from the thrills of adrenaline junkies to the crashing lows of love lost through trauma and illness.  I could not put this book down
    and went through a couple of boxes of tissues.  

    This is an all around fantastic read so don't be put off by the genre and miss out on something truly special.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    Received an ARC copy from Netgalley for a honest review. Loved i

    Received an ARC copy from Netgalley for a honest review. Loved it. Was blown away with the intensity and depth of this book. Storyline was well written, heart wrenching and so emotional that made it believable and realistic. Ash and Tansy both have suffered tragedy in different ways but come out as survivors. Loved all the characters in this book. I would definitely recommend as a must read book. I can't wait to read more in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Shattered is book 2 in the Extreme Risk series by Tracy Wolff.  

    Shattered is book 2 in the Extreme Risk series by Tracy Wolff.  Entertaining, emotionally daunting and terrifically written!  This is a story of survival at all cost.  Ash Lewis was blindsided at the news his parents were dead and his young brother Logan was fighting for his life.  His world was turned upside in a matter of seconds when he received this news.  He was now a guardian to a paralyzed 14 year old and his dreams of being in the Olympics died too.  Tansy has fought her entire life to live.  She is a cancer survivor in remission struggling everyday to find her identity.

    Ash struggles daily to cope with his brother's paralysis blaming himself for the accident.  Logan wants Ash to treat him like he did before his accident.  Their communication barrier grows throughout the story.  Tansy is in remission and works for Make-A-Wish Foundation.  Her first assignment is to connect with Ash Lewis and help a dying little boy's wish come true.  When she first meets Logan he is taken back by her "pink" hair and flamboyant outfit.  He thinks she has come to "make-out" with him, but she rejects that idea immediately.  Once he realizes what Timmy's wish is he refuses to agree to help her and turns her away.

    Tansy thinks that is the end of the rope until she receives a call from Ash's agent saying that he has agreed to grant the wish and will help anyway he can.  After that she receives an anonymous letter and check to fly the family, care takers, and snowboarders to the snowcap alps in South America.  There are surprises ahead and uncertainty along the journey for the couple.  Will Ash leave his demons behind and look forward to a future with Tansy? Will Tansy's cancer return? Will she survive?

    The author does a fabulous job delivering an amazing story for the reader.  You delve into the snowboarding life and the strain of dealing with a horrifying disease.  This story flows well and is an outstanding read!  I encourage you to give this book a try, it won't let you down.  Tracy Wolff's talent will leave you satisfied and infatuated with her characters! ~flo

    Overall rating:  4.5 Rockin Stars

    Hero:  4 stars
    Heroine: 4.5 stars
    Plot:  4.5 stars
    Steam Level:  4.5 stars
    Cliffhanger:  No

    Would I recommend this book:  Yes.  The gang is back together and fighting to help Ash through this difficult time.  It shows the love and commitment that they share.

    Would I recommend this author:  Yes.  Tracy Wolff is exceptionally talented in describing the despair & anguish associated with cancer.

    ***Received an ARC of this book from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review***

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Dismay

    #2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Silv

    Choice number two?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Heyyy

    Kiss your hand, post this on three different books, then look under your pillow(;

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED IT!!! I love this series and Shattered did not disappoint

    LOVED IT!!!

    I love this series and Shattered did not disappoint it got better!!
    In this story we follow Ash Lewis and the way Shredded ended I wanted this book ASAP!!!
    Ash Lewis is dealing with the major tragedy that rocked his world at the very end of Shredded and my heart couldn't stop hurting for Ash. He is a man use to planning everything and be dreams of Olympic goal. 
    Now he's in a situation where he has to sacrifice a lot to be there for his brother Logan.
    Tansy is a girl ready to live life to the fullest after spending 10 years in hospitals being poked and prodded due to her cancer.
    She is in remission and ready to make a difference with her job and her fist assignment is to get Ash Lewis to agree to grant a Make-a-Wish child's dream come true. 
    Sparks fly from the very moment these two lay eyes on each other and they go on a journey figuring out a world where things aren't they way they thought they would be and these two figuring out who they are going to be now and of course falling in love!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    WOW - what a great story - at the end of Shredded I was like, wh

    WOW - what a great story - at the end of Shredded I was like, what the whaaa??? But this author is amazing and redeemed herself by writing this special story with Tansy and Ash -- OMG people this is a must read -- thanks to the author for sharing a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1