Customer Reviews for

Shattered Dreams

Average Rating 4
( 183 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good read

I just love Laura Landon's books and Shattered Dreams is one of her best. Whenever I found the time, all I did was read.

posted by marianne68 on August 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hard to Explain Read

The story in this book was actually really good and the author pulled me into it quick. I loved that heroine was different than most heroines in that she had a physical impairment. The hero was very noble and good. The side stories of the other characters were also grea...
The story in this book was actually really good and the author pulled me into it quick. I loved that heroine was different than most heroines in that she had a physical impairment. The hero was very noble and good. The side stories of the other characters were also great. The only thing that ruined it for me was the last few chapters of it. I just hoped that the characters would do things in the right order.

posted by clevyo on November 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read

    I just love Laura Landon's books and Shattered Dreams is one of her best. Whenever I found the time, all I did was read.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2010

    Highly Recommended - rich characters, compelling story!

    Laura Landon has woven a gripping story of four vibrant souls...worthy of loving and being loved...yet each finding himself - or herself - picking up the pieces of a shattered dream. The compassion for one another is genuine as they each play a part in one anothers' healing. Not many authors can bind four such strong characters into a well-paced page-turner. Not so with Laura Landon! This Victorian historical is a charmingly satisfying read!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Exciting from beginning to end!!!!

    Very good read, could not put down once I began reading this mystery/romance novel. Highly recommend!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    BEAUTIFUL!!!!

    Such a great live story. Will definitely read again!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Hard to Explain Read

    The story in this book was actually really good and the author pulled me into it quick. I loved that heroine was different than most heroines in that she had a physical impairment. The hero was very noble and good. The side stories of the other characters were also great. The only thing that ruined it for me was the last few chapters of it. I just hoped that the characters would do things in the right order.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome romance with a touch of mystery and suspense! Loved it!

    Since I received my Nook Color last Christmas, I've added a little over 70 books to my collection and a lot of it is historical romance. This is by far one of the best in that department. Lady Elyssa is so much more than her disability. Brent and Elly's story is very touching. Although Elly has tested herself and beat the odds, she knows her place in society and knows that no one would give her a thought as far as becoming a bride. Brent is like the bachelor of the year. Everyone wants him even though he's known as a rake, but he wants to fall in love. His parents didn't set a good example so he's been guarding his heart until the walls come crashing down when he meets Elly in a 'personal' horse race.

    Not only do you get Elly's story, you also get the story of her brother Harrison and Cassie, his ex-fiance. No one knows why Cassie turned away from Harrison when they seemed to be so in love. He was crushed when she up and married someone else. This is part of the mystery as well as the suspense based on the person who is trying to keep Harrison and Cassie apart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    I thought the story was really good. I loved Brent and how he i

    I thought the story was really good. I loved Brent and how he is with Elyssa. I loved the two stories and the mystery and of course the happy ending. I just wished the love scene was a bit longer...Will be looking for more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Great read

    LOVED IT....so touching and romantic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    LOVE IT !!

    the books is all about dreams, having the courage to grab on to them and meet any challange head on and come out on top. LOVE this book !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Pretty Good

    I found the family dynamic very interesting. The characters were all very likable. The plot was nice and predictable. However, the sub plot seemed to overshadow the main one instead of enhancing the overall story. It's a good, light read, even though it's not a memorable one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Very sweet romance

    I really loved this story! The characters were lovable and well defined. You felt as if you knew them and were routing for them. The story warmed my heart. I will read more of Laura Landon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    Great read. Highly recommend.

    Great read. I really enjoyed the book. Very refreshing and entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Couldn't put the book down. Will read more books by her. This book could have been a series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    this was a gift, the receiver was very excited to read it!

    this was purchased as a gift for a friend, who likes this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting permise, only OK story

    Elly has a handicap that isn't apparent to Brent when first meeting her. He finds himself at a houseparty where he has to entertain a sister of a friend, and guess who it is. The story revolves around their relationship, but eventually there is a misunderstanding.....that dreaded "misunderstanding" trope. Good read for $.99 though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    Excellent book

    Very hearwarming story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Good book

    Never heard of this author, bought the book because it was 99 cents, I'm glad i did. Couldn't put the book down. Will read more books by her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Timeless!

    A friend is offered a colt of a valuable horse to accompany his younger sister during a two week party at their estate. A paid favor turns to love in this beautiful tale of love conquering all. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    Very Good Romance, give it a try.

    This the second book by Laura Landon I've read. I enjoyed this one because she used a character that was not physically perfect. Also there were two story lines going in the book. Good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Wonderful

    This is my second book by Landon. This one was wonderful too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10