Customer Reviews for

Shattered Innocence: The Abduction of Jaycee Dugard - The Untold Story

Average Rating 3.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Jaycee Dugard story

Such a sad story. But very happy that she survived.

posted by 9503521 on September 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Different from what i expected

I was disappointed that most of the book was about the abductor and way too much detail about his previous court history. I wanted to know how she and her daughters were coping.

posted by 4735409 on February 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Different from what i expected

    I was disappointed that most of the book was about the abductor and way too much detail about his previous court history. I wanted to know how she and her daughters were coping.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Jaycee Dugard story

    Such a sad story. But very happy that she survived.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This Is Not The Jaycee Story You Are Looking For When the three

    This Is Not The Jaycee Story You Are Looking For

    When the three Ohio women were released from their captivity, I was reminded of another woman who had grown up as a prisoner and was forced to bear her captor's children, Jaycee Dugard. This book is subtitled "The Untold Story," but that simply isn't true. It is almost entirely gleaned from newspaper and print magazines, and court documents, and almost all of it is about the Garridos, NOT Jaycee. If the author managed to score a personal interview with anyone involved, it was impossible to discern.

    There IS value in this material - who WERE Phillip and Nancy Garrido? Why was this convicted kidnapper and rapist free to harm another human being (was going to say another woman, but at 11, Jaycee was scarcely that)? How did he morph from a seemingly normal young man into a MONSTER - and what is the story with the zombie wife, who married him while he was in Leavenworth and has been kicked-dog-loyal to him ever since? This book addresses some, if not all of those issues. However, in some places it becomes tedious and info-dump-y in the extreme.

    And of what most people want to know - what was JAYCEE thinking, feeling - at the time she was abducted, during her years in that backyard, and since that time? Well, she's written her own autobiography, and she tells her story exceedingly well. THIS is not that book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Good Coverage

    The author did a good job of showing what type of person(s) would do such a horrible crime and what lead to finally discovering Jaycee Dugard. This book shows how the legal system broke down and allowed Phillip Garrido to run free and continue his preverted ways. This book had more insight into Jaycee's thinking towards the end and it included black and white photos at the back of the book. If you want to read about Jaycee's abductors... this book is great. If you want to read about Jaycee Dugard's experience, read her book. I thought reading both gave me a great insight into the abdutors and the abductee.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Interesting but sad story

    My thoughts and prayers are with Jaycee and her daughters. I had always wondered how this story took place and how they survived the living hell they went through. Still turns my stomach how these monsters live on this earth, and do such horrible things to humans

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Interesting

    Hard to see how our system fails to work!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Great Book!

    Chilling story that makes you want to never let your children out of your sight. Well written and has concise portrayls of all involved. Am glad that the author did not feel that it was necessary to go into graphic detail regarding the sexual crimes that were a part of this case. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Not for kids i agree but still a good book

    Great read but i agree not for kids

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Highly recommended

    Shows the gaps in our individual states oversight of sexual predators.
    They live among us and the public is not aware of their presence. If any
    of us sees some unusual circumstances within our neighborhood report it
    to the authorities and keep after them until they follow up on what appears to be something out of the ordinary going on maybe right next
    door. Think of the years of this child's life that was needlessly
    stolen because her captor was not monitored closely but checked out with
    a ho-hum attitude. I had to read without stopping and was angry the
    whole time because of the failure of authorities to investigate this
    predator as they should have.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Very Dry Reading

    Very dry reading.. mostly informational regarding her abductor.... reads as if the author read the police and court reports and then wrote the book..

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    God

    Loves you Jaycee

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Readbefore

    I read the first book she wrote it was heart feit so i wont be reading this one as what would be the difference? So ill move on to the nexttrue crime

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    Must read

    I liked the book,because it gave the details of Jaycee's ordeal without giving the grafic details. She is a very strong woman. And I am so glad she got away, finally.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Great

    I have not read the entire book, but from what I have read, it is very surprising and enjoyable to read. Jaycee Dugard's experiences were horrific and this book gives the reader great and shocking knowledge about her encounters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    Recommended

    This story Begins in 1991 when Jaycee Lee Dugard was 11 and, was kidnapped right in front of her own house. She was just walking to school when a car took her also; her step dad was there to see everything, and called the police. Her family did everything that they could but they never did find her. Then 18 years later a strange man went to the police with his two daughters to talk about a book. The police also thought he was strange also so told him to come back again. The next time he came back he showed with 3 girls, 2 younger girls and 1 older one. The oldest girl then told the police that she was Jaycee and the two other girls were her daughters. The book over all is not bad, and it was also written well. What I liked was that the book was written well, but what I did not like was that this book is more for adults than kids. I would recommend this book for anyone looking for a more of an adult book. The book over all was not bad and I did enjoy reading it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Good

    Wonderful

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Conflicting story told from the true memoir by Jaycee.

    I have not read this book except the synopsis and I have found a major inconsistency with his claim on how she was rescued. Robert Scott told a totally different outcome than Jaycee Dugard said herself in her memoir titled, "A Stolen Life by Jaycee Dugard." I will not spoil what had actually happened. I hope you all read her book; it was disturbing but great read. I am glad Jaycee and her daughters are safe and well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    pretty good

    I found that the book could have been better but all in all it was worth reading

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Disturbing...however a good read

    The book itself was a good read. However I was left wanting more....more in Jaycee's words. My heart goes out to Jaycee and her daughters. I pray they are happy now and lead a peaceful life.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2