Customer Reviews for

Shattered Souls

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Awesome book and GORGEOUS writing!

Creepy and engaging from the start, Shattered Souls twists ghosts with the heaven and hell concept in an original and well executed manner. With a strong protagonist, action and build up early on, and an explosive climax, this one definitely pulls the reader in from the...
Creepy and engaging from the start, Shattered Souls twists ghosts with the heaven and hell concept in an original and well executed manner. With a strong protagonist, action and build up early on, and an explosive climax, this one definitely pulls the reader in from the start and doesn't let go. Add in the gorgeous writing and blend of easy banter and intense situations, and this is a stellar debut and an author to take note of.

Lenzi is a very dimensional, well rounded character, whose personality comes through early on. She is brave and determined, and despite the fear she often feels, always finds the strength to face it head on. Zak, her boyfriend, is charming and likable early on, and though he brings plenty of tension to the table as the story progresses, he very clearly cares for her deeply. There are some sweet moments between the pair, and some heartbreaking and intense ones as well. He pulls out both the best and the worst in Lenzi, and though he doesn't have a constant presence within the story, he is built strongly enough early on to remain memorable throughout. Alden is completely swoonworthy, charming, cocky and relaxed while also having his moments of insecurity and awkwardness. His relationship with Lenzi is built and developed in a very steady and understanding manner, having both an immediate intensity and a slow yearning.

Lindsey's mythology and explanation take common concepts and twist them into something all her own, and she does it fantastically. The basic idea is simple, but her execution is phenomenal. From the physical effects of what Lenzi is and what happens to the overall reasons it events exists, Lindsey explains everything by the end of the book. Little clues are smattered throughout, also, that an astute reader will pick up on, while other things come completely unexpectedly. The writing is gorgeous, having a very bold fluidity that gives both a solid voice to Lenzi while also bringing out both the physical settings and the emotional ones. Lindsey has made intangible things like fear and pain realistic and something any reader will understand. Add in the romance and building sexual tension, and she has nailed this one with the emotional side of writing in a way that comes off as completely easy and effortless.

This is a book that will make the reader think, and that has taken some simple concepts and twisted them into something completely unique. The characters are fantastic, having a small cast but all of whom are bold, well developed, and memorable. While some parts could be considered slow, Lindsey has inserted wit and humor to combat it. With a great word economy, and stunning writing that is to the point without being elementary, and an extended and explosive climax, Shattered Souls is a brilliant and bold debut.

posted by A_Good_Addiction on May 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Love it!

Awesome read! Really great action and romance. Wouldnt read it at night though lol. MARY LINDSEY I WANT A SEQUEL!!

posted by 9448408 on December 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome book and GORGEOUS writing!

    Creepy and engaging from the start, Shattered Souls twists ghosts with the heaven and hell concept in an original and well executed manner. With a strong protagonist, action and build up early on, and an explosive climax, this one definitely pulls the reader in from the start and doesn't let go. Add in the gorgeous writing and blend of easy banter and intense situations, and this is a stellar debut and an author to take note of.

    Lenzi is a very dimensional, well rounded character, whose personality comes through early on. She is brave and determined, and despite the fear she often feels, always finds the strength to face it head on. Zak, her boyfriend, is charming and likable early on, and though he brings plenty of tension to the table as the story progresses, he very clearly cares for her deeply. There are some sweet moments between the pair, and some heartbreaking and intense ones as well. He pulls out both the best and the worst in Lenzi, and though he doesn't have a constant presence within the story, he is built strongly enough early on to remain memorable throughout. Alden is completely swoonworthy, charming, cocky and relaxed while also having his moments of insecurity and awkwardness. His relationship with Lenzi is built and developed in a very steady and understanding manner, having both an immediate intensity and a slow yearning.

    Lindsey's mythology and explanation take common concepts and twist them into something all her own, and she does it fantastically. The basic idea is simple, but her execution is phenomenal. From the physical effects of what Lenzi is and what happens to the overall reasons it events exists, Lindsey explains everything by the end of the book. Little clues are smattered throughout, also, that an astute reader will pick up on, while other things come completely unexpectedly. The writing is gorgeous, having a very bold fluidity that gives both a solid voice to Lenzi while also bringing out both the physical settings and the emotional ones. Lindsey has made intangible things like fear and pain realistic and something any reader will understand. Add in the romance and building sexual tension, and she has nailed this one with the emotional side of writing in a way that comes off as completely easy and effortless.

    This is a book that will make the reader think, and that has taken some simple concepts and twisted them into something completely unique. The characters are fantastic, having a small cast but all of whom are bold, well developed, and memorable. While some parts could be considered slow, Lindsey has inserted wit and humor to combat it. With a great word economy, and stunning writing that is to the point without being elementary, and an extended and explosive climax, Shattered Souls is a brilliant and bold debut.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    An incredibly imaginative, all-consuming and unputdownable read

    Shattered Souls is an incredibly imaginative and refreshingly original debut novel from author Mary Lindsey. The story and characters are exciting and surprising and just brilliantly written.

    The story gets right to the point and brings the reader immediately in. There is no long wind-up and no immediate mystery. Readers are thrust into Lenzi Anderson¿s life just as the trouble for her begins. She starts hearing voices and is afraid that she is suffering from the same ailment that took her father from her less than a year ago.

    Her boyfriend Zak is initially understanding and supportive, until she meets Alden who suggests that what she¿s going through is not the same as what happened to her dad. Alden tells her that her name is Rose and that she has been reincarnated in order to help the Hindered ¿ souls with unresolved issues that remain Earth-bound.

    Alden claims that the two of them are connected and that they have been reincarnated again and again to serve this purpose ¿ she as a Speaker and he as her Protector. As Lenzi struggles with this newfound information, Zak fights to keep her by his side.

    But even though she doesn¿t remember her past lives, her feelings begin to grow for Alden, taking her further and further away from the life she¿s known and the boy she thought she loved.

    Shattered Souls is an all-consuming and truly unputdownable book. Even though this story has a paranormal focus there is such a realness to it that comes from the characters. They are genuine and their actions, reactions and responses are very believable.

    Mary Lindsey has done such a remarkable job in crafting her world and each of her characters. And because the world centers around the main character, Lenzi, it allows readers to engage with her in a much more personal way, letting them really get to know who she is as the story progresses.

    Shattered Souls has everything that readers of this genre will enjoy ¿ a slightly less than perfect heroine with a wickedly sarcastic sense of humor, who develops her strength and courage over the course of the book; a gorgeous, strong and fiercely loyal hero; an immensely flawed and incredibly jealous boyfriend; and a gripping paranormal storyline involving a past shrouded in mystery, a ticking clock, and a malevolent spirit seeking vengeance.

    This story is not only a must read, but a must re-read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Absolutely adored this book! I've always been interested in thes

    Absolutely adored this book! I've always been interested in these types of stories. I agree with what someone else had said about the love triangle but I kinda had a feeling about what was going to happen in the end. While I'm very happy the author is making a sequel I'm also a bit sad that it won't be of the same characters. Yes, there will be two new characters. :( I fell in love with the characters in this book I wish their love story/adventures would continue.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Spectacular!

    A spectacular debut. I was intrigued the entire time and LOVED the main character, Lenzi. And can we talk about Alden? That boy be smokin' hot! I especially enjoyed the delicious twists spread throughout this story. I'm usually pretty good at guessing what's coming, but Author Mary Lindsey definitely threw me more than once. Outstanding from start to finish. If there's a sequel, I'll be the first in line!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2011

    You won't be able to stop reading!

    WARNING: This is not a book to begin on a night when you need to get to bed early.
    According to the cover, Mary Lindsey's SHATTERED SOULS is about "Love, Death, Destiny, Danger." But it's also about nightmares. The kind everyone has when they're asleep and the kind some special people have when they're awake.
    Lenzi is special; she has both. A few are merely disturbing, others are terrifying. In the everyday, waking world she yearns for normalcy. But screaming at people no one else can see is bound to make her mother and friends worry. And send her to counseling.
    One of Lenzi's recurring dreams is of a gorgeous guy with steel gray eyes. When she suddenly meets him in person, he changes her world forever. Alden tells her that she's a reincarnated Speaker, someone who can talk to lost souls and help them move on. He has been her Protector for centuries ¿ centuries that Lenzi doesn't remember. And doesn't want to.
    She hates the voices that beg her for help. She hates that she would have to open herself to them in order to help. But most of all, she hates and fears the spirit named Smith who has been trying to destroy her for ages.
    This is a book about choices, about being self-centered or giving. Normal or special. Dead or alive. The suspense builds so surely and believably, you scarcely realize you're turning pages in a book. It's almost as if you'll see one of those shattered souls if you look over your shoulder¿
    Clear writing, engaging plot, and characters you are about¿it¿s all in there.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Loved it! I am in high hopes there is a continuing story to this

    Loved it! I am in high hopes there is a continuing story to this one!!! I didn't want to stop reading and wanted more when I finished the book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    What can I say? Shattered Souls was terrific. I¿m not known for

    What can I say? Shattered Souls was terrific. I’m not known for dabbling in the YA paranormal side of the book world, but people like Mary Lindsey are showing me that not all of it is trashy smut. (I'm not sure why, but I always thought of the majority of it being that way.)

    I bought Shattered Souls without having looked into it. Generally speaking, I read reviews for books written by authors I’ve never read before. This one was a gamble for me, but the cover was beautiful and the synopsis on the back was just too hard to resist. I could’ve picked ten books at B&N that day. I limited myself to two. It didn’t take me long to realize there was no way I was leaving without Shattered Souls.

    Put yourself in a world where your father died of schizophrenia, and now you’re hearing voices. Pretty scary right? You’d start thinking that you’re going insane. But, thank goodness for Lenzi, she has Alden (*swoon*), who explains everything. If you’ve ever seen the show “Ghost Whisperer” with Jennifer Love Hewitt, you kind of have an idea of what Lenzi’s job is. Hold on though. Lenzi can hear the dead but her job is also ten times cooler than Hewitt’s was in “Ghost Whisperer.” Like Hewitt, Lenzi has to help the dead move on but occasionally, she comes across a very angry ghost, and that’s when things get dicey…. I found the process of her helping the dead move on to be much more interesting. Honestly, the change brought the danger up to a significantly higher level, which made it much more entertaining.

    Lenzi was a wonderful narrator. I found her to be very realistic every step of the way. The inner battle she had between believing she was insane and believing she wasn’t, was perfect. She had just the right mix of doubt that made her eventual belief in the latter realistic but not too much that it seemed unrealistic. Her interactions with Alden often made me smile. Here’s a boy she barely knows who is telling her something impossible and she’s thinking he’s crazy but hot. The author didn’t go overboard with this though. Most of the time, Lenzi was a protagonist who was very focused on the mystery in front of her. Noticing how hot Alden is was just a coincidence.

    Alden was wonderful and he’d do anything to keep Lenzi safe. His knowledge brought new depth to Lenzi’s character (not that she was shallow before), which served the plot very well. He was a very pleasant character to follow and read about and I think he and Lenzi are both characters that people will easily identify with.

    One thing I really like about Shattered Souls is its similarity with other YA books while also being different at the same time. The author handled the love story perfectly. Watching Lenzi and Alden fall in love was such a treat. And the writing flowed very nicely and was easy to understand. I really don’t have any complaints.


    Cover

    I really love this cover. The details of individual rose petals adds so much depth. The background adds an imaginary texture to the cover that also really appeals to me.


    So allow me to offer my congratulations to Mary Lindsey on winning my, yes, still-imaginary Mary Poppins award. It was definitely, "Practically perfect in every way."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    i read the book got to meet the author and read it great book so

    i read the book got to meet the author and read it great book so sad theres not a seqeul
    i mean the begining was fantastic and the love story part was awesome its like twilight meets romeo and juliet in my pov the font is buitiful not to mature and challnging i give this book and a+
    cant wait for her next book ashes on waves

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Amazing book ever!!!!!

    Shattered souls was the most amazing book i have ever read. I can not explain how much i loved this book. I cant wait to read the next book. And i hope there will be a movie of this book. That would be amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Lol :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Amazing!

    Ive never cried this hard while reading. Loved everything besides the jumpy beginning. But the rest of the book overshadowed that one flaw.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Addicting

    Once i started reading i couldn't put it down. I love to read historical fiction and fantasy/science fiction books so this book was perfect to read as it is a little bit of both. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended for Paranormal Romance Lovers

    I didn't expect to like this book so much, but when I closed the book at the end the words, "That was a good book," came out of my mouth, not that there was anyone to hear me or care. So let's see if I can tell you what made me like it so much. Lenzi is kind of broken and as like attracts like, she's with a boy that's broken. He seems really sweet at first, but then he drives drunk and tries to make out with her on her father's gravestone and passes out in a graveyard in a bad part of town leaving Lenzi, on her birthday, pretty much alone. Yeah, my opinion of him took a nose dive really fast from there. Then this stranger comes up out of nowhere in the graveyard and starts talking to Lenzi like he knows her and she's supposed to know him and Lenzi, who already thinks she might be succumbing to her father's scizophrenia, really thinks she's going crazy. But Alden, the stranger in the cemetery tells her some things she just can't deny and he protects her, even from the boyfriend that wants to drive her home drunk and her mother's lecture when she has to pick her up. There is no insta love. Insta attraction maybe, Alden is cute and Zak is a jerk, a drunk one. And apparently very jealous and has a temper. Alden looks pretty good in comparison. But Alden fights Lenzi's attraction through the whole book because they have a past and Lenzi who was Rose in the past made it clear it was a professional relationship. And while we are on professions, Lenzi is a Speaker she resolves issues the dead have here on Earth so they can go on to wherever. Alden is her Protector, keeping leftover souls from taking over her body and staying there. It's a pretty unique concept and the denial and fight Lenzi puts up that she is this person and does this job takes up quite a bit of the book. I liked the way Mary Lindsey slowly revealed this new world to readers. I didn't feel overwhelmed. It seemed pretty straightforward to me. I also liked that Lenzi and Alden had real lives and parents to contend with and live with and weren't just living a supernatural life. I'm really interested to see where the story will go from here because I know it isn't over. So if you want a new type of paranormal romance, this is the book for you. Not taxing to your emotions or your brain, but very enjoyable. It's definitely a quick read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Captivating and sensual

    This novel is addicting from the beginning, though it takes the first 20 pages to sink into it. However, once you do, you're hooked. Sweet, yet still filled with sexual undertones, this novel is worth reading, and wont dissappoint.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    I LOVED IT

    It was an amazing book i really wish the author would write a second one gowbthe book ended was a really really big cliff hanger in my opinion how the strlory plays out is just amazing Lenzi and Zak have a strong relashinship until Alden comes and Zak dosnt understand their realashinship it just plase write a second

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Best book ever!

    I hesr from others that there is going to be another but I want it to be the same characters. Like f smith came back or something. But i just loved it. I couldnt but the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Shattered souls

    I thought this book was amazing. I never read a book that kept me wanting more. I was addicted. So far my favorite book. I am a romance sucker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    I can tell by reading the summery that this will be the book eve

    I can tell by reading the summery that this will be the book everyone will love!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Amazing

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book. I wish it had alittle more at the end but I t

    I loved this book. I wish it had alittle more at the end but I think the author wanted to make way for a sequel.
    Hopefully it won't be a long series I hate when authors like to drag out the storyline

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2