Customer Reviews for

Shattered Vows: Hope and Healing for Women Who Have Been Sexually Betrayed

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Very helpful in allowing me to accept this reality, affirming my

    Very helpful in allowing me to accept this reality, affirming my feelings and finding a way out of my darkness

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2012

    A very good read, helpful....just seeing my thoughts and feeling

    A very good read, helpful....just seeing my thoughts and feelings in
    this book helped put my mind to rest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Shattered Vows, Mended Hearts

    There is probably no spouse who wants to admit that they need to read this book. The pain brought on by sexual betrayal is almost unbearable. Laaser draws from her own experience to paint a picture of healing for us. I was surprised to find myself in these pages. For those looking for help with healing, look no further.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    AMAZING book

    Transparent, realy, honest, helpful and healing. It's like the other is talking directly to you...in the middle of this book now and i'ts like healing to my soul. The author knows what she's talking about and it comes through in every page, highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Inspiring Book

    This book was very well written. I am inspired by the author's openness and vulnerability. She gives advice to the hurt and the person inflicting the pain. She gives inspiration to those that choose to stay and battle it out and also to those that chose to move on. Will definitely be one of the audio books that I listen to over and over.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Shattered Vows gives help, hope, and practical ways to heal from the devastation of betrayal. I highly recommend this to all who are experiencing this, or know someone who is.

    Deb Laaser gives practical exercises to help you grow personally. Her stories are candid and honest. There is a lot of good information to help you become educated on sexual addiction, how it took over your husband's life (and consequently yours), and how to overcome this devastation. She reminds us that while our husband's actions are not our fault and we do not have to be responsible for them, we have a responsibility to become all that God wants us to be as women of God. When we grow in character and change our behaviors in Godly ways, our men will notice. Only when the husband and the wife shake off the sin and move toward being like Jesus together do we find true intimacy. Deb Laaser also encourages us as we grow and heal to reach out to other women as they heal & grow on their journey. I used this book in my small group of women whose husbands/boyfriends struggle with sexual purity - it was awesome to see them learn and be challenged by this book. The one critique I have is the questions at the end of the chapters seem too easy to open ended, and don't always touch on each point of the chapter. for my group I added some more specific questions based on the reading. However, I highly recommend it for personal reading, or group studies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2008

    I've been set free

    I just read Shatterd Vows by Debra Laaser. WOW, finally a book that shared stories like mine! This book is very thought provoking ~ centering in on change in self. I am now looking at my husband in a new way and I do not get my self worth through him anymore ~ I've been able to free him from such an unrealistic expectation. Thank you. Thanking God I'm free!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1