Customer Reviews for

Shattering Glass

Average Rating 4.5
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Great Book!

    Simon Glass is a chubby, awkward nerd who everyone hates. He is always being made fun of by the other students. Things change when a new student, Rob Haynes comes around. Rob wants to turn Simon into the popular ¿prom king¿. With the help of Young, Bob, and Coop, other boys at school, Simon rises to the top of all the social classes. He begins to have complete confidence in himself, makes many new friends, and approaches good opportunities that he never would of had before. The other boys start to become jealous over Simon. However, he unravels a personality that no one expected. For example, he hacks the school computers to change personal information of others. With all of the self-happiness and confidence, he discovers a dark, and brutal secret that changes everything.

    Shattering Glass would receive five stars, and everyone will love it! Readers can¿t put it down. This book had many new twists and surprises that kept getting better. The whole concept of turning a nerd, into the most popular guy at school was very interesting and entertaining to read. It also changes the way you may think of other social classes. At the end of the book, the final secret was very surprising and suspenseful.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    I have read many good books but never have I liked a book so muc

    I have read many good books but never have I liked a book so much where I wrote a review on my own time. This book just might be one of the best books I have ever read. I told my sister and cousin about this book. Very well written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    Gail Giles is a great author. She has such a way of foreshadowin

    Gail Giles is a great author. She has such a way of foreshadowing that makes you curious and on the edge of your seat. She also makes the characters relatable. Shattering Glass is a great realistic fiction book that tells how power can become unmanageable when used by 
    someone who is immoral and/or immature. The story is told through the perspective of a high school boy named Young. Simon Glass is 
    one of the main characters who is the school wide pinata. Simon is always being made fun of and teased because he is chubby and smart. But Rob, Young's friend and one of the most attractive and popular boys, wants to turn Simon around and make him the most 
    popular kid in school. Robs plan works wonderfully until everything goes horribly wrong at the end. After reading this book, you will want to
     re-assess your friends. Young couldn't have been more right when he said "Simon Glass was easy to hate. I never knew exactly why, there was just too much to pick from. I guess, really, we each hated him for a different reason, but we didn't realize it until the day we killed him."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    I loved this book!! It totally kept me on my toes. The ending om

    I loved this book!! It totally kept me on my toes. The ending omg!! I'm not going to ruin it for the ppl that will read this so i am just going to say its a must read!! GET THE BOOK!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2013

    Simon Glass is a chubby kid that everyone hates in high school.

    Simon Glass is a chubby kid that everyone hates in high school. He's made fun of everyday by other students. But then Rob comes and
    helps change Simons look and Bob,Lance, and Coop help Rob make this happen. But when Simon becomes cool and people begin to 
    like Simon, Rob gets jealous because people are begininng to like Simon. Simon begins to fell confinidente with himself and makes 
    more friends that he thought would never happen. Simon has a dark secret that changes everything and the group of boys made a 
    mistake that they didn't think that they thought would never happen. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Shattering Glass

    While in my English class, we chose to read this fiction novel. I didn't really comprehend most of it because of all my absences. But all i really know is that Simon Glass was a nerd who was fat and clumsy. He was somewhat a loser and everybody hated him. Everybody picks on him, until Rob Haynes shows up. Rob was a transfer student and became popular in the school, and decided to help Simon out... or rather have other plans for him... (HINT: somebody gets murdered!)

    (this story was okay, but not as the usual of the others i recommended for you.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    Oh My Gosh!

    This book was remarkable! I loved it from beginning to end! I would recommend it to anyone! It is so insightful and very powerful. It can change your views perhaps on social life at school, but overall it is thrilling and you WILL be suprised. I read it a few months ago actually, but it is unforgettable! Gail Giles is genius! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The trickers got tricked

    This book shows glass as one thing but in the end another its sad how it all ends but the ride is fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2009

    This book should be made into a movie! Great visual opportunities!

    The beginning of each chapter starts with a police interview with a person who may have had something to do with the crime, which helps unfold different aspects of the story. It bounces from that police interrogation to what happened five years prior, so that part could confuse a reader not expecting it or someone who is not patient/curious enought to figure out what's going on. There is a tough topic for guys that is subtly revealed in this story. It takes a very "typical" teen movie topic (re-making a nerd) and twists it into a psychological thriller. I highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2009

    Shattering Glass

    I was required to read this book in my english class, and I think it sucked. It was boring with too much going on and too many characters in the scenes. In one scene, everyone voices their opinion which becomes too much and leaves you wondering "whose who?" I really didn't like how there was a quote from a character at the beginning of each chapter. It took away the suprise of learning what's going to happen. This book was not suspenseful at all. I do not recommend it anyone.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is absolutely amazing. I couldn't put it down.

    This book is an amazing book. Gail Giles really out did herself on this one. It shows depth, emotion, and voice. It's something you want to read over and over again. I think this book outshines all the other books Gail Giles has written. It's like a romantic, suspenseful, thriller!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A must read!

    This book was very intriguing and mysterious. The way this novel was written helped me better undertand and visualize every situation. Eventough the author tells us the ending in the very first paragraph of this novel, it is still very unexpected when it finaly comes. I recomend this book to all audiences. I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2008

    Shattering Glass

    Could you ever imagine hatig a person so much, that someday you might end up killing him/her?? In the book Shattering Glass by Gail Giles it actually happens. This is a realistic teen fiction novel. Simon Glass is a nerd, a loser and on the the lowest part of the high school social ladder. People pick on him so much-until Rob Haynes shows up. Rob, a transfer student and the senior class leader has plans in store for Simon. Rob gets help from his crew-Young, Coop, Bob with a mission: to turn Simon from freak to would-be Prom King. But Simon rises to the top of his game, showing confidence and a devious side that power hungry Rob doesn't like. And when Simon decides to tell a dangerous secret, events begin to darken. The result is a bone-chiling, unexpected,...brutal ending. I liked the book alot, there is so much suspense. Gail Giles lives in Alaska with her husband, two dogs, three cats, and some wild moose that stay every now and then. The author for Young Adults selection and Quick Pick for Reluctant Readers selection, her books have been nominated both in 2003, in ALA Teens Top Ten selection, for Shattering Glass and Dead Girls Don't Write Letters. Overall, I would give this book an eight out of ten.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2008

    wow

    This was a great book! It was very entertaining and suspenseful, eventhough it tells you the end in the first paragraph. It makes you think about your role in life. Make sure you read the blurbs at the beginning of each paragraph, or else you wont get what happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2008

    A reviewer

    As the parent of a 14 year old 'mature,gifted and quirky' daughter, we were finally able to find a book that wasn't too 'girly' for her and peaked her interest with complicated characters who were full of secrets. Beacuse of the mature subject matter, I read the book along with her and we discussed the content to distinguish between what events were real possibilities and the choices that were acceptable in our household in relation to those events. The fact that it was set in the Houston area made it even more interesting for her because she could identify with many of the locations and points of interest. She really enjoyed reading about high school life from the 'guy's' perspective and I think it helped to give her some insight into their world. As a high school/jr. high teacher, this would be an excellent book to use in LA classes and it would be even better to have the author come in to discuss it with your students - she's a local in the Woodlands! All of Gail Giles' books made the rounds this past school year amongst her 8th grade Pre-AP class as they were required to read a book a month and complete a project. If you have a teenager who can't find reading material that appeals to their darker side, check out Shattering Glass and you will be making weekly trips back to the bookstore to get the rest of Ms. Giles' books - she's that good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2008

    A great book to read.

    Shattering Glass by Gail Gills is a must read book. Shattering Glass is about a couple of popular guys with a plan to make Simon Glass a popular kid. But they run into to many problems trying to make him cool. In the end it's different then what you probably would have expected to happen. Gail Gills has a strong lead and semi-easy to follow. The way he lead you was good because he made you think one thing, but at the end it was all different. The captions Gail Gills puts in at the beginning of each chapter makes it a little confusing at first, but toward the end they begin to make sense. I highly recommend this book for teenagers and up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2008

    MUST READ!!!!

    Do you know an outcast or are you one? In the book Shattering Glass Simon Glass is a outcast and a freak. He is fat, clumsy, and a nerd. He has no friends and no one thinks he ever will. On the popularity chart he sits with the lowest of the low, and will probably stay there. Then there are the cool guys everyone likes Bob, Young, Rob,and Coop. Now Rob sits at the top of the popularity pyramid and this year he has a plan to change Simon's state. He is going to bring him from invisible to Prom King, But Simon is going to develop a attitude no one expected. He is going to find out one of Rob's darkest secrets that he will spit in his face. And at prom one of them might not come out alive. Gail Giles does a great job putting this book together, as she creates Simon's nerdy personality or how he works his daily life. She makes Rob the big shot and everyone his followers where ever he goes. The book adds so much drama and suspense when Rob's secret is displayed. It becomes a page turning book that you are unable to put down. I think late middle school and high school students would enjoy this book. You have to make sure not to skip the little paragraphs before every chapter though. It helps if you read them. I give this book 5 stars and it is a definite read, you wont, be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2008

    One of the best books I have read

    Have you ever read the book shattering glass? Well i have. Let me tell you a little bit about the book. In the book there is a kid named Simon who always gets picked on by the other kids. Simon gets bullied and teased, until one day the bulling and teasing goes to far and someone ends up hurt. I give this book a rating of 5 stars because, the book was cool, and the book related to the real world with the teasing and bulling. If you like a book with suspense shattering glass is a book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    I thought that this book was very good in many different ways. I could relate to it and it was very visual. It is about a high school student¿s life during his senior year. He is popular and he has many friends. One of his friends is Coop. He is the typical school jock. He is very athletic, but he struggles academically. Another friend is Bob. He is the ladies man. He has good looks, dresses well, and has a great smile. Young also has one more friend, Rob. Rob moved from one county to another witch happened to be where B'Vale High School was. When he came he quickly became the popularity leader of the guys at school. He also likes to control people. One day there was a nerd named Simon Glass who was getting bullied by a guy named Lance Ansley who was flowing with testosterone. And Rob decided that he was going to make him popular. Through the book Young finds his High School lover, Ronna. A beautiful girl who also likes Young. They go out for a while and then Rob tells Young that he needs to give Ronna away to Simon so he can be popular, and he did. He made it so it looked like he cheated on her and then thing started to go down hill. Graduation comes and good things happen, but one thing goes wrong and somebody freaked out. It leaves you on the edge of your seat biting your fingernails, and almost disgusted at the visualization that the author shows. It was a very good book, but it got a little confusing at times. I would definitely recommend this book to Young Teenagers and up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2007

    THE BOOK THATS A PIECE OF ART, SHATTERING GLASS

    Wow!!! this book is awesome it just needs a little more to the ending. I hate reading but when i read this book u want to stop reading but u find another mystery coming up. It's funny, suspicious, breath-taking, natsy, 'ronna and young they did stuff they had no biz.' scary, sad, and also entertaining. I call this book a piece of art.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5