Customer Reviews for

She

Average Rating 5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2006

    still speaks to me...

    This book and cd was and still is awsome.. it spoke to me as it still speaks to me and my husband today.. we shared a moment in this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2006

    The Best Of The Best

    I think that Saul Williams is one of the best poets if not only the best im only 16 and i abosulutly love his poetry he gets deeper then any mind and this is one of his best so far i have been in love with this man's poetry since he was on the show ' Girlfriends' playing Lynn's poetic boyfriend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2004

    A work of sheer beauty. . . a book unlike any on the market today

    I read this book while living overseas in Southern Africa for for 2 1/2 years and it rearranged my thought process and restructured my thought patterns in terms of words and ideas. My own personal writing bloomed as a result of ingesting this book. This man is in the van guard of writing and artistry and his concepts and messages transcend, race, creed and color.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2003

    mind blowing

    I picked this book up not knowing who or what I was getting into and I am glad my heart led me in Saul's direction! His poetry is touching....the CD is soothing! I would definitely recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2003

    Love is ment to be.....

    Love is Deep Shared by 2 A good passion and Bold person with a glimps of cushion and touch the pride of joy it could bring thatlove is my everything

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2002

    Saul Williams 'She'

    Perhaps the deepest poem i have ever heard... it goes right into what people feel... what other people cant put in words Saul spits like its simple. amazing... and beyond comparison to anything else... the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2001

    A Blinding Experience

    Saul Williams is one of, if not thee greatest contemporary literary minds at work in the black community as we lauch into this next century. She, is a reflection of loving relationships and heartbreaking shipwrecks and the happiness that is shared in between by both men and women. Saul cleverly lassles the English language in a way which will enable him to enjoy a successful ride as a poet/spoken word artist for many years to come. This book is an invaluable source of emotion which speaks to the human condition. I would look forward to Saul receiving the poetic baton from other contemporary greats like Nikki Giovanni and Sonia Sanchez. Let's applaud this man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2000

    May I also recommend the CD?

    This was an amazing book, but may I reccomend the cd. Narrated by Saul WIlliams, it is very deep and a beautiful literary work. BEAUTIFUL!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2000

    'She' is packaged bliss.

    Not long ago, I rented, with great anticipation, the movie 'Slam.' Upon renting this title, i really knew nothing about the movie or the cast. When i finished watching it, i had a new hero. Saul Williams. It was four a.m., I hadn't slept in over twenty-four hours, and I found myself so inspired that I had to write something before I could even think of going to sleep. Saul's flare for language is one unmatched in the modern world. He can spin images in your mind so vivid, you feel like his poetry is creating a whole nother world just for you to visit. Upon reading his book, I found myself in the exact same position of inspiration as I had been in seeing 'Slam.' His poetry has made me more serious about my own poetry. To read his poetry is to be taken to heaven and back, and to hear him read it is to be taken lightyears beyond that. Saul Williams is and will be one of the greatest poets who has ever lived. Read his poetry and you will know exactly what I am talking about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2000

    incredible

    saul williams is an incredible writer. reading 'she' expanded my view to see that many words do not want to be what they are. I know that sounds weird, but williams plays with the meanings of words so much that I had to read the book twice in a row before even beginning to see the world as he sees it. and afterward, I was thankful I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 1999

    Wonderful Poetry

    This collection of poems is inspiring and absolutely stimulating. I recommend this book to everyone. It truely arouses your creativeness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1