Customer Reviews for

She Got up off the Couch: And Other Heroic Acts from Mooreland, Indiana

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2006

    Flash light reading!!!

    I just finished, and I'm ready for the next one to come out. I always read before bed, and my husband doesn't mind unless it's hours later and I'm still reading. With this book I had to pull out the flash light after I had turn off the lights. I couldn't put this book down!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    She got up off the couch

    This is one of the best books I have ever read ! I have never reread a book until this one and Zippy. Just nice to see them both in my nook llibrary, cant wait ! Havens wirting is so relatable, very soon into it one finds we care about her and what happens next...not dramatic, just real everyday life. Am wondering how well her fiction will duplicate this. To make readers care is a secret to good writing, a subtle mystery laced within the text, that we well know not all authors achieve. Haven has done exactly this, and so well !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Loved this book!

    I was very happy to see this after I read "A Girl Named Zippy." Both have richly developed characters that one can relate to and are really very funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Pure awesomeness;D

    Another wonderful book by an equally wonderful author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2007

    Great Reading Again from Haven Kimmel!

    After reading A Girl Named Zippy, I bought this book, fearing that it might not be as good as the first. I was NOT disappointed! Both funny and heartwrenching at times, it is a wonderful book that I highly recommend. Zippy's mother is a true inspiration, and should be a reminder to today's young women of the struggles many women went through to get an education and career not so long ago. Because, once again, it's broken down into short stories, it's an easy read and I 'zipped' through it. I've become a true Haven Kimmel fan!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2006

    WARM, EMPOWERING REASSURING

    A legion of readers responded warmly and enthusiastically to Haven Kimmel's memoir, A Girl Named Zippy. Warmly and enthusiastically may be an understatement as it became a New York Times best seller. If the Times had rankings for audio bestsellers She Got ff The Couch as read by Kimmel would surely be there. While her second reminiscence about growing up in 1970s Indiana is every bit as witty and affecting as her first, this time we learn a great deal more about her mother, Delonda. Mom's story is one of empowerment for women. She is the 'she' who got up off the couch. She did, indeed, and went to college and grad school. Delonda buys a VW bug that has seen better days without knowing how to drive it. Tales of her learning to operate a motor vehicle are some of the most smile provoking segments. And, education results in a changed woman - not at all the gal Dad married. How does he react to this? We're also treated to reunions with some of our favorites from A Girl Named Zippy - sister Melinda and best pal Julie. What a pleasure that is. A seasoned actress could not have given a better voice performance than Kimmel whose timing is on target and interpretation of other character's voices always entertaining. After all, who knows the speech patterns of her near and dear better than Kimmel? Quite often, for me, the audio version is more enjoyable than the book That's true in this case. Highly recommended - enjoy! - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2006

    Heartbreaking and heartwarming all at the same time!

    As a long-time reader, I find it one of life's greatest and not-frequent-enough pleasures when a talented writer can transport me -- when her words seem to string together like railroad tracks leading to a place I've never been but, once I get there, am reluctant to leave. Kimmel provides just the ticket, all from the comfort of my own armchair. The people in this book and their circumstances are so heartbreaking and heartwarming all at the same time, I was sad when the journey was over. And it was over all too quickly since the artful chapters move along in the same soothing, and familiar clickety-clack way a five o'clock train might travel from one city to the next without it's passengers hardly noticing the distance travelled until it's time to get off at their stop. Loved it, loved it, loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1