Customer Reviews for

She Owns the Knight (A Medieval Time Travel Romance)

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A great read!

I've read so many bad time travel romance novels that I was pleasantly surprised by this one--well written, interesting and believable characters, and a good story. I read far later into the nights than I should have!

posted by Anonymous on July 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

LONG

Good but a bit too long. Over 900 pages on my Nook. Not a fast read for me...I kept looking at the page number to see where I was at and I frequently put my Nook down to do other stuff. I was relieved when I finished the story. I guess the story line was just a bit bor...
Good but a bit too long. Over 900 pages on my Nook. Not a fast read for me...I kept looking at the page number to see where I was at and I frequently put my Nook down to do other stuff. I was relieved when I finished the story. I guess the story line was just a bit boring.

posted by 3791151 on April 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    I couldn't put it down

    I was captivated by the characters and story. I felt like I was the heroine! I read until I finished the whole book which was 3 in the morning lol I didn't want it to end. This book is funny, charming, and romantic without being mushy or sexually explicit. The characters come alive off the page. I recommend this book to everyone. But a word of advice-- be sure you have the time to spend to read it because once you start you just may find that, like me, you will not be able to put it down :D

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    A great read!

    I've read so many bad time travel romance novels that I was pleasantly surprised by this one--well written, interesting and believable characters, and a good story. I read far later into the nights than I should have!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    "She Owns the Knight" is my first book by Diane Darcy

    "She Owns the Knight" is my first book by Diane Darcy and I loved the book.  The story kept me wanting to see what happened next because it was somewhat of a mystery.
    I love reading Historic Fiction. Although this books was not  factual I love reading about Medieval times and time travel and this book filled that  request.
    I am planning on reading more of Diane Darcy's books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    Wow! Fabulous read--incredibly well done!

    SHE OWNS THE KNIGHT is fun, light, sparkling with humor and yet rich with intrigue! The characters are strong, believable, true to themselves. Couldn't put it down. This book is a KEEPER, and I'll enjoy reading it again! Diane Darcy is a talented writer...can't wait to read more from her.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    LONG

    Good but a bit too long. Over 900 pages on my Nook. Not a fast read for me...I kept looking at the page number to see where I was at and I frequently put my Nook down to do other stuff. I was relieved when I finished the story. I guess the story line was just a bit boring.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2015

    I really enjoyed reading this

    I love time travel romance, and this one didn't disapoint me.there were fresh characters and twists in the plot, and always will she stay or will she go!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Captivating

    Beautiful. 900+pages. Captivating characters. Cautiom you may laugh and have a chessy grin

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Great read!!

    If you enjoy medivel and time travel, this is the book for you. I loved the humor and the interaction between cultures of past and present. Just sorry it ended. Would love to have a sequel for Gillian and Kellen!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Enjoyable

    some very funny parts and a fast, fun summer read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This story had me rolling in laughter. Hard belly laughs! Engla

    This story had me rolling in laughter. Hard belly laughs!

    England 1260:
    Lord Kellen Marshall was married to a Corbett. His wife tried to poison him but she drinks the poison instead. Before she dies, she admits she despises him and has a lover who fathered their daughter and fathered the babe she carries. After she dies, he sends to her father demanding another daughter to wed and if he fails, threatens war. He will never trust another woman.

    England, present day:
    Gillian Corbett has broken her engagement and is spending her would be honeymoon searching for her genealogy in England. As she sits drawing a castle ruin and graveyard she is set upon by four young men. One tries to steal a gold ring her father gave her and as she's running from them she falls into oblivion and finds herself set upon by four men on horseback wearing medieval clothing.

    Kellen and his men see what's going on and ride out to investigate. Seeing the ring on her hand, which looks to be a Corbett seal, he takes her to be his intended and takes her back to the castle. Gillian can't believe what she's seeing or where she's at and thinks she's either dreaming or badly hurt by the original guys trying to attack her and maybe she's been knocked unconscious. Kellen has a midwife check her to make sure she's a virgin and she was screaming and cussing like a sailor at the women holding her down. Kellen and his men are below stairs with their mouths hung open by her ranting.

    "Has the girl been raised in the barracks with the fowlest of knights?" one of the knights asks.

    As they go through her backpack they are amazed at the odd items they encounter. Her passport picture has them astounded. I was howling in laughter reading about them trying to figure out what the objects are. They think the zipper on her shorts are a chasity belt.

    "She no longer had any doubt that she was wide awake. This wasn't a dream, and she wasn't in a coma. There was nothing like a good gynecological exam to snap a girl out of a delusion."

    I urge you to pick this book up and follow these two and their friends on their journey to love. I laughed and I cried. I wanted so badly to blink myself there with them. One of my favorite reads this year!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    A little romantic story

    In this story it was easy to expect what will happen but still it was so fun even though i knew what will happen... i really do lovr this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Stolen idea from Outlander

    A brief story and no challenge to see where it will go. Don't waste your money.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    readable remance

    ok time travel romance very long tho

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2014

    Loved it!

    One of the best time travel Ive read in a long time. Laugh out loud read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    Lost a lot of sleep because I didn't want to put it down.

    Lost a lot of sleep because I didn't want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Fun!

    This was a fun easy read. Loved it. Could not put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Great Book!!

    Loved this book. Can't wait to start book two!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    I absolutely loved this book! It is a must read. It's nice to r

    I absolutely loved this book! It is a must read. It's nice to read a book that is clean without being sexually explicit. Ms Darcy develops the characters clearly to where you picture them in their rightful rolls. Good job!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Loved it

    An enjoyable read. I will be looking for more books by Diane Darcy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2012

    Loved this book. Fun, sweet, and loved Kellan. I found myself

    Loved this book. Fun, sweet, and loved Kellan. I found myself laughing outloud. A true page turner. Hope there is more books to come with the other characters. Won't be dissapointed with this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2