Customer Reviews for

She Said Yes: The Unlikely Martyrdom of Cassie Bernall

Average Rating 5
( 5 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2000

    It gave hope to those who need it

    This book was the best book I have read in a long time. It gives hope that any life, no matter how far from God, can be turned around. Cassie didn't have a perfict life and that is real, I dont think I would have beleaved it if Misty Bernall didnt put in the part where Cassie hung out with the wrong crowd. It inspired me to try to be a little nicer to the people that I care most about. The Question is would you have said yes if you were asked that question?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2006

    OMG Its Sad, But A Good Book

    That Is Messed Up What Them Kids Did. But Thats Life. You Should Really Read This Book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2004

    This book is so heart-breaking!

    This book is the best book i have ever read. God bless the parents and brother of Cassie Bernall! I loved this book! I do not want to offence the parents and brother but i do not no what i would do if i lost a family member especcially my sister!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2003

    heart lifting

    This is one of the best books ever, even though it is truley one of the saddest stories i have ever read, I reccomend it to all parents and their children.It is truley the BEST!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2003

    a lurlene macdaniel and cassie fan

    its very sad but excellent filled with hope

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2003

    a devoted Cassie fan!!

    i love Cassie Bernall's story....she is truly an inspiration and example to me, as she was to one of my struggling friends....thank you, Brad and Misty Bernall, and God bless you and your son!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2003

    MaJoRaLlY ToUcHiNg!!!

    One of the most touching and inspiring books I've ever read. I love the fact that she found the god inside herself, and was willing to die for that god. My thanks to her mother for writing this book. It changed me, read it and hopefully it will move, change, and inspire you too to become a better person. Thanks so much for the inspiration!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2001

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!

    This book was the best book I have ever read. It has everything you want. I cried and felt the struggle the Mother and Father must have went through when she past. It has made me more of a believer of God. So thanks Mrs. Bernall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2001

    Sad!!

    This is such an amazing book, for anyone who can handle it. I'm glad it gave such a postive message of faith, and of all the victims of Columbine, Cassie definatly sticks out in my mind. It also shows how important your last words to somebody are, and I'm glad Cassies mom's were I love you. Watch out though, I was on the first chapter and cryin!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2001

    We have a Winner

    his was a wonderful and touching book. I could read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2001

    Wonderful, Tearful

    This book brought so many tears to my eyes. I never heard the actuall descriptions of what that school looked like post-shootings until I read this, and it made me cry so much I had to put the book down. This book opened my eyes so much. I too have gone through the stage where I do not know if I believe in God or not, but after reading this book it opened my eyes so much that I began reading my bible again. I still have my questions, and I do not think they will ever get answered, but this is the book that inspired me to go back to how I began. Believing. Every teenager who is questioning the religous ways should read this. It could help you a lot on your questions. I loved this book so much, and it really made me feel what she felt. I would like to give all thanks to Cassie's mother for spending her time on this because it helped me, and I am sure many others, a lot. Thankyou!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2001

    She Said Yes

    She Said Yes is about the Columbine High School Shooting. It is about a girl named Cassie Bernall that had her ups and downs in her life, like most people do. The only thing different was that hers were not good at all. The author is her mother, Misty. This book is a very sad story about Cassie getting shot in the school because she said yes that she believed in God to the shooters. This is a great book and everyone should read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2000

    The book I read was AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I think that She Said Yes was one of the best books I have read. It shows the true side of being a teenager. I think that it took so much courage to say yes to her killers. I thought the title was awesome. Misty Bernall did an awesome job with it. I think that it is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2000

    My beliefs and feelings toward this book

    To me Cassie is a true hero of what she had said and i'm not sure i would have the same courage to say yes in front of two killers. She has been a hero not only in America but all over the world. She has fought not only to live but also go through the troubles of doing drugs and hanging out with the wrong croud. She has given hope not only to me but to others who really were in need of it. I recommend this book to people of all ages and hope they will enjoy this book as i did. THANK YOU CASSIE!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2000

    My Insperation

    This book talks about a girl named Cassie Bernall that died at Columbine High school , the book talks about her life from going from drugs to jesus christ and because of her faith in jesus christ she died that day April 20,1999 because she said yes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2000

    Would you say yes?

    I think this book was very good. Very Sad. Cassie is such a great role model. Since i have heard of this story I think more people need to get invloed with God. Think about it, if madmen held a gun up to your head and asked you Do you belive in God? What would you say? Saying yes well cost you your life and saying no won't. What do you belive in?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2000

    I say Yes!

    I first read She Said Yes last Dec. and fell in love with Cassie's Story. She leads a journey or courage and has to face the final test she never dreamed of. As a teenager today I know what peer pressure is and Cassie's way of dealing with peer pressure today is amazing. I admire her courage and will carry her story in my mind and in my heart!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2000

    Great!

    This book was wonderful! I loved it! I hope that anyone that gets the chance will read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2000

    She Said Yes: The Unlikely Martyrdom of Cassie Bernall

    I am a father and a youth counselor. The kids in my youth group have funded and given away over 70 copies of this book at their public high school. Inside each book they have glued a little note that tells the reader to sign their name in the book and pass it on to a friend when they have finished. This way the message of Cassie's story lives on and on. We got the idea from a mother/daughter team in Ohio who are doing the same thing. Similar things are happening all over there are 500,000 copies in circulation now! It is a great book and it is changing lives. People who have been moved by it should spread the word to others. That's how we can do our part. April 20 is the anniversary of the tragedy. It would be great if thousands of lives could be touched on that day with a gift of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2000

    An awesome Book!!!!!!!

    THIS BOOK IS ONE OF THE BEST THAT I HAVE EVER READ. IT IS A VERY AWAESOME AND OUTSTANDING BOOK. THIS BOOK IS A VERY SAD ONE BUT IT GETS YOU TO THINKING ABOUT WHAT SHE WENT THROUGH , WHAT WOULD YOU SAY, WOULD YOU SAY YES. SAYING YES WITH A GUN TO HER HEAD TOOK ALOT OF COURAGE AND i ADMIRE HER FOR THAT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3