Customer Reviews for

She Walks in Beauty

Average Rating 4
( 158 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

WONDERFUL!!

This is a lush view of the Gilded Age New York in the 1800s. Clara is a bright, intelligent young woman who dreams of going to Vassar College. She is informed by her father and aunt that it is her responsibility to marry the De Vries heir, Franklin, to set right the wro...
This is a lush view of the Gilded Age New York in the 1800s. Clara is a bright, intelligent young woman who dreams of going to Vassar College. She is informed by her father and aunt that it is her responsibility to marry the De Vries heir, Franklin, to set right the wrongs done by his family twenty years ago. Clara would much rather spend her time with her nose in a book, reading Byron's poetry or learning about science and interesting worldly matters than to have an eighteen inch waist and know proper etiquette, but she feels she must not go against her father's wishes. Thrown into the opulent world of upper class New York, she finds herself going from one party to the next and forced to second guess her lifelong friendship with Lizzie who also has her heart set on Franklin. The more she is exposed to the luxury, the more she starts to question value when measured against the plight of poor immigrants. The rich pay to keep their facade of respectability while the poor suffer such humiliation just to survive. Clara's beautiful heart, dignity and thirst for knowledge carry her through as she desires more in life than a marriage of convenience. This story is the perfect combination of romance, faith, suspense and great humor. It truly has something in it for everyone...The reader will soon be transported back into a beautiful and amazing era of life full of lush parties, scrumptious gowns and lots of PROPER ETTIQUETTE. WONDERFUL!!!


Other exciting books I've fallen in love with are: CONSTANT HEART, SILENT IN THE SANCTUARY, EXPLOSION IN PARIS, and HEART OF THE MATTER.

posted by LCH47 on June 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good book

I only have one complaint, for some reason each time a new chapter started there was at least one incorrect spelling. It was just odd. However, overall the book was good. Truly the love of money is the root of all evil. Also, it teaches that true love exist. Nicely done...
I only have one complaint, for some reason each time a new chapter started there was at least one incorrect spelling. It was just odd. However, overall the book was good. Truly the love of money is the root of all evil. Also, it teaches that true love exist. Nicely done and I recommend it.

posted by yaya82 on March 20, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    Not quite perfect

    First, let me say that I really enjoyed the story. However, I was amazed by the typos that so frequently disfigured the first few words of each chapter, where they were printed in all caps to make them completely unavoidable. Keep the author. Fire the proofreader!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    AN AMAZING INSPIRATIONAL HISTORICAL FICTION DURING THE GILDED AGE OF 1800 NEW YORK CITY!

    SHE WALKS IN BEAUTY bySiri Mitchell is an Inspirational historical fiction set in 1891 New York City during the Gilded Age.It is well written with great detail and depth. It has deception,keeping ones faith, forgiveness, romance, wealth, privilege,friendship, fashion, finding ones true self,desires of the heart and family obligations. It gives insight into the social class of the Gilded Age. Clara is bright, intelligent, pretty, passionate,and is a pawn in her father and aunt's game to right a wrong to their family.She is having her debut into society and is being forced to marry the heir to a banking kingdom. She does not realize the deception until after her father is dead. She would sacrifice her heart to help her family, but soon realizes she can not do what they expect of her. Franklin, the heir to the famous De Vries fortune, is selfish, arrogant, a womanizer, and Clara does not like him every much. Harry, is the youngest of the De Vries's son, he is friendly, handsome, down to earth, and Clara finds herself attracted to him. Lizzie, Clara's friend, finds herself attracted to Franklin, Lizzie enjoys the social scene where as Clara only endures it. They have their friendship tested because both of their families want the young women to marry the famous heir Franklin. This is truly an insight into our tragic Gilded Age history with all its glamor, parties, beautiful gowns and injustices to the lower social class. What women did back then to be beautiful will make you wonder why beauty was so important to the upper social class. If you enjoy the Gilded Age of 1800 New York City you will enjoy this one, for it has drama, injustice, glamor,beautiful balls and gowns. This book was received for review and details can be found at Bethany House Publishers and My Book Addiction and More.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    She Walks In Beauty

    Clara Carter thinks she has plenty of time to find a way out of her debut into New York Society. However, when the De Vries family heir becomes the eligible bachelor of the social season, Clara's aunt decides that she will debut this year and somehow manage to get the De Vries heir to propose to her. Bound by family loyalty and society's tradition, Clara attempts to do all that her father and aunt desire for her to. In the end, she must choose between family, love, money and hope.

    She Walks In Beauty is an enchanting story of one young woman's pursuit of love. But does she want the kind of love she is offered? Hard choices and learning family secrets have a way of making a person mature and that is exactly what happens to Clara in this book. The story is well-written and genuinely captures all of Clara Carter's emotions and experiences. I found myself not wanting to put this book down. I appreciate the way the author worked in social issues of the time. Poor immigrant housing and the extreme measures that women would subject themselves to in order to be beautiful were two of the main issues. Those issues can still be considered relevant in our culture today.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    Great Historical Fiction!

    iri Mitchell's lastest novel, She Walks In Beauty, is set during New York City's Gilded Age in 1891. It's a time in history where marriage was more of a business deal than act of love. Clara Carter is a 17 year old girl who is more interested in her education than becoming a debutant, but it seems her Aunt has a different plan. When Clara learns that she is to debut a year early to save the family honor, she knows she has no other choice. Clara becomes the star of the social season and is in competition with her best friend for the De Vries heir. She longs for true love and not one based on making better social connections. However, she is not sure whether she is worth that kind of luxury.

    When I began reading this book I wasn't sure if I would enjoy a historical fiction novel, but in the end I have found a new genre to love. Siri Mitchell does a great job of weaving the love of God through the story of a young woman who has very little choice about her future. Mitchell also incorporated contemporary artists, poets and authors into her novel, and that gave a depth to what was going on in the Gilded Age. I got so lost in the story that I didn't put it down until it was finished, and even then I wish the story did not end.

    This book was provided for free for review by Bethany House Publishers.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    Very Entertaining

    Set in the 1890s, during the Gilded Age.

    Clara Carter and Lizzie Barnes, both barely 17, are best friends, have been all their lives. Their mothers were friends, until Clara's mother dies. Clara's aunt, and Lizzie's mother decide that each girl should be presented to society, by debuting a year early, in hopes that they snare the heir of the De Vries fortune as their husband. This puts Clara and Lizzie as rivals, and both the aunt and mother try to keep them separated, though it doesn't always work. Clara meets Franklin De Vries the heir, and his younger brother, Henry. She and Lizzie are the two Debutantes who attract a lot of attention, including Franklin, and both are pushed to entice Franklin to choose them. Who will he choose? And does Clara really want him to choose her.
    Along the way, Clara learns much about herself, her mother who died when she was very young, and the father who turns out to be nothing like what she always thought he was. The subplot is very interesting, and it made the whole book.

    Bethany House Publishers
    392 pages
    I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House to read and review, no other compensation was received. I am not required to write a favorable review, all opinions expressed here are my own.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    This historical fiction piece is as beautiful to read as it is to imagine. The author transports you to a time where women's roles were designed by society and not by personal choice. This love story warms the heart while educating one on the past.

    If you like historical pieces with a genuine love story intertwined then this is the book for you. It is a wonderfully compassionate but accurate piece on the meaning of true love and relationships we all establish to find it. This story fills your mind with beautiful images of grand balls and debutantes of days gone by but not omitting the dark side of every families intentions. True love is what inherently we all want no matter what generation we are from. Also, the author bridges the gap between earthly relationships and the one we have with God. She does it eloquently, symbolically, and even very directly at times. This is a love story for many to enjoy from young to old alike.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Nice read

    Nice read. Gives a little bit of insight into the debutante scene of the 1880's. Ending was pretty predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    V

    This was an excellent book. I enjoyed it very much. I highly recommend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Wonderfuli

    I loved this book because of how real it was. A great page-turner! The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because it would have beem such a bettet book had she gone into less detail about the clothes amd food and more detail about how the two characters meet up in Europe. Otherwise, wonderfully written!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Good

    This was a ver interesting story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    pretty good book

    I liked it but it had too many problems that just didn't make since.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Enjoyable

    Interesting book to read about a young lady learning how to be a lady in her day and how to catch the most eligible bachelor. An enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Great read ro rakw E Time machine

    Great read ro rake you back in time as a first clasd nee yorker

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Fun stuff

    I've read this book twice. It's funny and intriguing and i enjoy myself throughout the book. Of course you can guess at the beginning which man she will end up with but its still fun to watch how Clara transforms from a girl into a young woman. This is a wonderful, light, summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    A great read

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book from start to finish. I only like to read books that grab me from the very beginning, and this on did that. Highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Enjoyable

    Very good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Great book.

    Loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Fun and refreshing!

    This was one of the most enjoyable Victorian-era romances I've read, lighthearted yet filled with important moral and spiritual lessons. I definitely will read more from Siri Mitchell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    Enjoyable reading

    I will look for more writen by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    Excellent! Wish it had gone on !

    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3