BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

She Walks in Beauty

Average Rating 4
( 158 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

WONDERFUL!!

This is a lush view of the Gilded Age New York in the 1800s. Clara is a bright, intelligent young woman who dreams of going to Vassar College. She is informed by her father and aunt that it is her responsibility to marry the De Vries heir, Franklin, to set right the wro...
This is a lush view of the Gilded Age New York in the 1800s. Clara is a bright, intelligent young woman who dreams of going to Vassar College. She is informed by her father and aunt that it is her responsibility to marry the De Vries heir, Franklin, to set right the wrongs done by his family twenty years ago. Clara would much rather spend her time with her nose in a book, reading Byron's poetry or learning about science and interesting worldly matters than to have an eighteen inch waist and know proper etiquette, but she feels she must not go against her father's wishes. Thrown into the opulent world of upper class New York, she finds herself going from one party to the next and forced to second guess her lifelong friendship with Lizzie who also has her heart set on Franklin. The more she is exposed to the luxury, the more she starts to question value when measured against the plight of poor immigrants. The rich pay to keep their facade of respectability while the poor suffer such humiliation just to survive. Clara's beautiful heart, dignity and thirst for knowledge carry her through as she desires more in life than a marriage of convenience. This story is the perfect combination of romance, faith, suspense and great humor. It truly has something in it for everyone...The reader will soon be transported back into a beautiful and amazing era of life full of lush parties, scrumptious gowns and lots of PROPER ETTIQUETTE. WONDERFUL!!!


Other exciting books I've fallen in love with are: CONSTANT HEART, SILENT IN THE SANCTUARY, EXPLOSION IN PARIS, and HEART OF THE MATTER.

posted by LCH47 on June 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good book

I only have one complaint, for some reason each time a new chapter started there was at least one incorrect spelling. It was just odd. However, overall the book was good. Truly the love of money is the root of all evil. Also, it teaches that true love exist. Nicely done...
I only have one complaint, for some reason each time a new chapter started there was at least one incorrect spelling. It was just odd. However, overall the book was good. Truly the love of money is the root of all evil. Also, it teaches that true love exist. Nicely done and I recommend it.

posted by yaya82 on March 20, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    WONDERFUL!!

    This is a lush view of the Gilded Age New York in the 1800s. Clara is a bright, intelligent young woman who dreams of going to Vassar College. She is informed by her father and aunt that it is her responsibility to marry the De Vries heir, Franklin, to set right the wrongs done by his family twenty years ago. Clara would much rather spend her time with her nose in a book, reading Byron's poetry or learning about science and interesting worldly matters than to have an eighteen inch waist and know proper etiquette, but she feels she must not go against her father's wishes. Thrown into the opulent world of upper class New York, she finds herself going from one party to the next and forced to second guess her lifelong friendship with Lizzie who also has her heart set on Franklin. The more she is exposed to the luxury, the more she starts to question value when measured against the plight of poor immigrants. The rich pay to keep their facade of respectability while the poor suffer such humiliation just to survive. Clara's beautiful heart, dignity and thirst for knowledge carry her through as she desires more in life than a marriage of convenience. This story is the perfect combination of romance, faith, suspense and great humor. It truly has something in it for everyone...The reader will soon be transported back into a beautiful and amazing era of life full of lush parties, scrumptious gowns and lots of PROPER ETTIQUETTE. WONDERFUL!!!


    Other exciting books I've fallen in love with are: CONSTANT HEART, SILENT IN THE SANCTUARY, EXPLOSION IN PARIS, and HEART OF THE MATTER.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Beautifully written

    All I have to say is, wow. This book was really good! from the start I was interested in Clara, and had taken an instant liking to her. The plot was a nice easy pace that flowed smoothly and descriptions and detailed scenes as to what Clara had to go through to act properly during her debut were well done and very engaging to read. Her social outings were well written and every time one ended, I wanted to keep reading to see what would happen at the next party or dinner she attended. Her social "training" was comical to read at times and some of her social blunders made you want to cringe for her (like when she lost her shoe).

    Yet aside from those light moments, there were serious moments as well. I didn't like her Aunt who treated her like a chess piece, and although Clara's father wasn't really a main character, when I learnt more of his true colors, he wasn't a very likable person at all. It was very interesting to read about the various rules women and men had to go by in order to go about in society. Some rules I found absolutely ridiculous, yet some had very awful consequences (tightlacing corsets for example).

    I really did like how Clara developed as a character. From a very naive girl to one who just wanted to be who she wanted to be, and to do what she wanted to do. She wasn't afraid of the social consequences and at times was brave enough to do something that went against the conventional rules. I also loved her friendship with Lizzie. Although they were "rivals" in their debuts, it was sad to see how they were pawns to their relatives and were even sometimes asked to turn against each other in order to have the greater advantage in attracting Mr De Vries. However I'm glad their friendship meant much more to them and it was just wonderful to read how the two of them got along so well despite social pressures. I actually wanted to learn more about Clara and her mother, although when Clara finds out what happens to her mother, it was actually quite horrifying to read. (I can't really be specific, it'll give the plot away).

    Albeit a novel in Christian fiction, there isn't much about God and theology so it's not preachy. Which makes the novel great for those that aren't into the Christian fiction genre. It certainly seemed to lean towards historical romance much more than Christian literature. The plot does become a little predictable, but that did not bother me, I was too engaged into the plot.

    Overall, a wonderful, beautiful read. I greatly enjoyed it and for those that love to read about America in the 1890's please give this a try (actually, for those that like The Luxe series, this is definitely for you - no backstabbing involved here though but just enjoy it nevertheless).

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful Story

    I love a book that not only captures my imagination, but expands my knowledge of times past. She Walks in Beauty did just that.

    Clara Carter is a beautiful young debutante in New York's luxurious Gilded Age of the late nineteenth century. Her sole purpose is to secure a marriage proposal by the end of her debut season, but not just any proposal. Her family has decided that she is to marry the most sought-after heir in New York. With her fate settled and her waist being constricted with a corset, Clara is whisked into ballrooms, operas, and dinner parties.

    The heart can't be commanded, however, and Clara soon realizes that marriage for love is far more worthy than a marriage for the sake of money and good standing. Her future lies in the balance of romance and convenience.

    I thoroughly enjoyed She Walks in Beauty. I often read it during my breaks at work and was always disappointed when I had to put it down. I learned much about the Gilded Age, a period of American history that I was largely unfamiliar with. The Gilded Age was the beginning of celebrity obsession, and to read the story of a beautiful young debutante who loathed the attention was fascinating.

    I often have a hard time truly enjoying historical fiction, but this book was fabulous. Pick up a copy and be whisked back to another time.

    I was provided a copy of She Walks in Beauty by Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my review.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    She Walks In Beauty By Siri Mitchell

    She Walks In Beauty
    By Siri Mitchell
    Published by Bethany House

    Set in New York City in 1891, an unsuspecting and unprepared young woman is thrust into the public eye; one of several young ladies making a debut that season. The goal? To catch and marry the wealthiest heir, by any means necessary. There are rules, but some rules are meant to be broken. There are friendships, but all is fair in love and war. isn't it?

    In a time when young women were discouraged from educating themselves in anything other than social manipulation and the pursuit of the highest possible status (via marriage), Clara Carter finds herself in a completely undesirable environment. With no options and no permissible voice of her own, she becomes a pawn in a game larger than she could ever imagine.

    A phenomenal piece of historical fiction, She Walks In Beauty is a tragic reminder of our societal past. Mitchell writes with exquisite detail, passion and clarity drawing the reader into every moment of her young heroines life. This is one book I could not put down, devouring all 392 pages in less than a day.

    I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Gilded Age story hits far deeper than the average romance

    She Walks in Beauty by Siri Mitchell is a lush yet realistic view of Gilded Age New York. Clara Carter has been informed by her father and aunt that it is her responsibility to marry the De Vries heir, Franklin, to right wrongs done by his family twenty years ago. Clara would much rather spend her time with her nose in a book of Byron's poetry or learning about science and the world than have an eighteen inch waist and know the difference between a lettuce fork and a lemon fork, but she feels helpless to go against her father's will. Thrown into the lushly opulent world of upper class New York, she finds herself going from one party to the next and forced to second guess her lifelong friendship with Lizzie who also has her heart set on Franklin. The more she is exposed to the luxury, the more she starts to question its value when seen against the plight of immigrants. Mitchell perfectly depicts this era in New York, where the rich pay to keep their veneer of respectability while the poor are forced to suffer ever deeper humiliations to survive. Clara's beautiful heart carries her through, and readers will find themselves falling in love with her dignity and desire for something more than a marriage of convenience. There are a few too plot contrivances that don't quite work (three overheard conversations in one novel pushes believability), but for the most part, readers won't be able to put down this story of romance, integrity, and hope.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Much loved book

    This was a wonderful read and I enjoyed every second of it. I found at times that I couldn't keep a smile of my face at some of the things that would happen in the book. I really couldn't put this book down and didn't want it to end. This is a must read and I recommend it to everyone. Sometimes I wish I could go to such exciting balls and dinner parties. It was easy to escape into the world of these pages.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2014

    The story line was captivating, the characters well developed, a

    The story line was captivating, the characters well developed, and I feel it really showed the challenges of this time period and what different individuals did to overcome them.  I couldn't put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Makes you appreciate the era we live in. Very Interesting Read!

    This was such a beautiful book, beautifully written and and beautiful audible visual. I appreciate our time for women. Everything in those days was so cumbersome, and strict, RIGHT OR WRONG...What a relief to come back to our relaxed way of living after reading this. Makes you appreciate your life!! A must read!!!”

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    is the best book I have read in years, its clean and and hard to put down.

    This book reminds me of the classics I love like EMMA, Sense and Sensibility, Jane Eyre. etc.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    I've only read the sample...but

    Beautiful cover...sample has me hooked! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    She Walks in Beauty

    This is Christian historical fiction set in New York in the late 1800s. Clara is pretty and smart, and would prefer to be left alone with her books and her governess, plus her best friend Lizzie. Unfortunately, her aunt has other ideas--Clara is going to debut this year. And since her governess thought they had another year before she'd have to teach Clara things like how to be a lady and exactly what an ice cream fork is...well, Clara's behind. REALLY behind.

    So now she has three months to learn how to charm any man into marrying her and she has to start wearing a corset. (And can I just say how relieved I am that I don't have to wear one? Because they do NOT sound fun.)

    Her aunt and her father decree that she's to set her sights on "the De Vries heir," the most eligible bachelor in the city. There are two problems with this. First is that Lizzie wants him too. And the second? Clara kind of likes his brother instead.

    I absolutely recommend this, even if you aren't a fan of Christian fiction (it's very, very light on the Christian aspect). And Clara is really awesome. I always enjoy reading about smart heroines who do more than wait around to get married. (And she's a reader, which is always a plus.)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Beautiful Novel by a Fanstastic Author!

    There are just some books that grab a hold you on the very first word. Grabs you with the beauty of the words, the lyrics of the characters and the tapestry of the era.
    I felt like I stepped into the 19th century. The novel was so well researched down to the very intricate of details. I learned things about that era I had never known before, all while it pertained to the story and the character's lives.
    I have nothing negative to say about this book. It follows the life of one debutante, Clara, as she enters her first season and her family is set on getting her the wealthiest husband. The moral, health and faith issues that surround this young woman, who has to go through so many changes, clenched at my heart and I longed to see her happy.
    I found some of the customs astonishing that Clara was put through, all to be beautiful and I believe that the overwhelming message in this novel is that beauty is only skin deep. It is what is in the heart that matters.
    A truly marvelous novel, I highly recommend it and have added it to my best of 2010 list and my favorites of all time!
    This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publishers for my copy to review.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic Fiction of any kind.

    Whether you are a fan of Christian Fiction or not, this is a great read! I couldn't put it down! Siri is great at revealing the daily lives of her characters. Although I had read about tight lacing and the problems it caused, Siri shows how it truly affected women of the time. Siri's characters are very real. She portrays the non-conformist so that they feel real and her heroine's trials become my own. Siri, I can't wait to see what woman's beauty torture you have to show us next! Makes me wonder what future women will think about waxing, liposuction, etc.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    Outstanding American Fiction

    Admittedly, I've been a long time fan of Siri Mitchell's writing, but this book is her best, most captivating yet! I was completely drawn-in, becoming a member of New York's gilded society of the 1890s, savoring each page, soaking in every word, sighing with contentment as the story ended. (Though, I wished more and more pages followed!)

    As in her previous novels, Mitchell completely captures the tone, feel, and language of the age. She weaves true social issues seamlessly into the plot while creating true-to-life fictional characters.

    If you love great fiction, love a picturesque look into history through the lens of story, read Siri Mitchell.

    I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    Excellent

    Excellent read! The plot, the characters, everything was just amazing! This story was too cute!! Will definitely be reading more from this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Emotional read

    This book takes you on an emotional roller coaster as you follow the life of a girl making her debut into society. It opens your eyes to the lengths of what women would do for fashion and attention during the guilded age of the 1890s in New York City. It also touches on the dark side of the city and what some people feel they must resort to in order to be rich and remain in the life of luxury. Good read and not your normal romance. 320 pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Excellent

    Totally enjoyed! Great historical detail and excellent character development. Recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Great book!

    I REALLY liked this book!
    Amazing read.

    Clara is young woman who her father and aunt is trying to force her to do something she don't want to do...they try to make marry a man she has no interest in whatsoever.
    Although I really like Clara's character, I also like her friends Lizzie and Katherine, they also have good character. :)
    Overall this is an excellent book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Loved it

    Such a wonderful book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Favorite book.

    This is my favorite Siri Mitchell book. It makes you think about how things were, and how they are now. The characters were perfect, and the romance was adorable. This book will leave you smiling, laughing, crying, and thinking. I also loved the history, and how it shows the gilded age in a different light.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4