Customer Reviews for

She Walks in Beauty

Average Rating 4
( 156 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 156 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 8
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Great book.

    Loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Fun and refreshing!

    This was one of the most enjoyable Victorian-era romances I've read, lighthearted yet filled with important moral and spiritual lessons. I definitely will read more from Siri Mitchell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    Enjoyable reading

    I will look for more writen by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    Excellent! Wish it had gone on !

    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    I've never read anything by Siri Mitchell, but the cover and description had me intrigued. If they rest of her books are anything like this one, I will have to add them to my to read list. I was completely enthralled with this one. It's considered adult historical fiction, but would be totally appropriate for young adult as well.

    I had a feeling I would like it considering it's historical fiction and I was reminded of The Luxe series by Anna Godbersen. Clara is a character that will stick with you after you've read the book. She's forced into her debut by an aunt with an agenda. She's not as well rehearsed in the ways of society as her best friend, so her aunt gives her a crash course. She puts up with it all because she believes it her duty to do so. But, you can see the fire in her. When she breaks "the rules", she comes out being the belle of the ball unintentionally. I liked her because she's smart, loyal, and she doesn't fit the mold of the typical debutante.

    I also enjoyed the descriptions of the season. Some of the other books I've read seem to glamorize the process. This one seems to be the opposite. The constant competition to "catch" the best man, even with your best friend, must have been exhausting. Not to mention the politics involved. Then there's the opera's, the dinner's, the balls, and the at-home days. All this was done for the best possible match. And don't get me even started on the corsets...it made me cringe just reading about them.

    A wonderful book that I would have give a 5 too had it not been for the ending. I guess I was hoping to much for what I thought was the perfect ending. It still ended well and Clara choose who I wanted her to. But, the details were different. I wanted the confrontation and for Clara to stand up for herself. Although for her to have done that would have been atypical of a young women in that time period.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 156 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 8