BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

She Woke Up Married

Average Rating 3.5
( 184 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

1st time reading one of her books

I rarely read new authors, but for some reason this book caught my eye. I have to say that it has made me want to read more of her books. The character development and story line was very well done. I do wish that the mother/daughter thing would have been explained a...
I rarely read new authors, but for some reason this book caught my eye. I have to say that it has made me want to read more of her books. The character development and story line was very well done. I do wish that the mother/daughter thing would have been explained a bit more, but it still did not leave a hole in the book because it was so well written.

posted by Anonymous on May 13, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

The Runaway Bride Meets Elvis

Turning 30 is no big deal ¿ unless you are a model where aging is a death sentence. Hot headed as she is red headed, Paris James was not too keen on reaching her thirtieth. That was why she headed straight for Vegas to help ease her misery. She wriggled into a tight red...
Turning 30 is no big deal ¿ unless you are a model where aging is a death sentence. Hot headed as she is red headed, Paris James was not too keen on reaching her thirtieth. That was why she headed straight for Vegas to help ease her misery. She wriggled into a tight red sequined dress, partied the night away and gleefully threw herself at the sexy Elvis impersonator strutting his stuff on stage. `Elvis¿ was none other than Paris¿s high school sweetheart, Turner Pruitt. He had loved her when she was a confused seventeen year old and found he still loved her when he saw her gyrating her hips in the audience. Our protagonists wakes up the next morning to find themselves bona fide husband and wife. Turner is delighted but Paris is mortified. She packs up her bags and goes back to New York leaving strict instructions for Turner to annul the marriage. But when Turner chases his new bride to New York, the blushing bride is none too happy¿especially when nausea sets in and a pregnancy test comes out positive. Thus, all of Paris¿s tragic family history and anxieties come tumbling down like a ton of bricks. A patient and devoted Turner will have to show her that his unconditional love for her is here to stay. SHE WOKE UP MARRIED starts off with an insane story line of a marriage consumed under the influence of questionable liquids.Those expecting laugh out loud moments and wicked treats are in for a surprise as the story takes an abrupt turn with the serious issue of post-partum psychosis and its ramifications. The author¿s prose was a little `comedic contrived¿ as she tries too hard to be humorous and bleak all at the same time. The dialogue was wooden and repetitive, and movements of the characters too predictable leading to an ending that was just too darn easy. Author¿s efforts has provided us with a mildly amusing contemporary romance suitable for the 'I Don¿t Want To Be Intellectually Challenged By A Book¿ category.

posted by Anonymous on October 18, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2005

    1st time reading one of her books

    I rarely read new authors, but for some reason this book caught my eye. I have to say that it has made me want to read more of her books. The character development and story line was very well done. I do wish that the mother/daughter thing would have been explained a bit more, but it still did not leave a hole in the book because it was so well written.

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome story line. Very well written. Enjoyed it immensely

    Awesome story line. Very well written. Enjoyed it immensely

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Loved it <3

    I just finished reading this book a couple of minutes ago. It was an amazing book. I cried through all of the ending! A mix if happy tears, sad tears, anger tears! I was so sad the book has end. It was a great ending, a great way to wrap things up. I just enjoyed it so much I want another!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Loved

    Loved the book, it was an awesome read, I just wanted to keep turning the pages, until I was finished!

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2005

    The Runaway Bride Meets Elvis

    Turning 30 is no big deal ¿ unless you are a model where aging is a death sentence. Hot headed as she is red headed, Paris James was not too keen on reaching her thirtieth. That was why she headed straight for Vegas to help ease her misery. She wriggled into a tight red sequined dress, partied the night away and gleefully threw herself at the sexy Elvis impersonator strutting his stuff on stage. `Elvis¿ was none other than Paris¿s high school sweetheart, Turner Pruitt. He had loved her when she was a confused seventeen year old and found he still loved her when he saw her gyrating her hips in the audience. Our protagonists wakes up the next morning to find themselves bona fide husband and wife. Turner is delighted but Paris is mortified. She packs up her bags and goes back to New York leaving strict instructions for Turner to annul the marriage. But when Turner chases his new bride to New York, the blushing bride is none too happy¿especially when nausea sets in and a pregnancy test comes out positive. Thus, all of Paris¿s tragic family history and anxieties come tumbling down like a ton of bricks. A patient and devoted Turner will have to show her that his unconditional love for her is here to stay. SHE WOKE UP MARRIED starts off with an insane story line of a marriage consumed under the influence of questionable liquids.Those expecting laugh out loud moments and wicked treats are in for a surprise as the story takes an abrupt turn with the serious issue of post-partum psychosis and its ramifications. The author¿s prose was a little `comedic contrived¿ as she tries too hard to be humorous and bleak all at the same time. The dialogue was wooden and repetitive, and movements of the characters too predictable leading to an ending that was just too darn easy. Author¿s efforts has provided us with a mildly amusing contemporary romance suitable for the 'I Don¿t Want To Be Intellectually Challenged By A Book¿ category.

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2005

    I loved this book

    I haven't even had the book for 24 fours yet. I couldnt even put it down in the store. It is one of the best books I have ever read. The book captured me. I stayed up until 2 in the morning reading so I could find out the end.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    amusing contemporary romance

    With a hangover, thirty year old model Paris James awakens in a strange hotel room in Vegas. She notices the diamond on her finger and is stunned when Elvis the younger greets her with a good morning Mrs. Pruitt. Apparently during the night of overindulging she married Elvis.--- Reverend Turner Pruitt is as stunned to realize he married Paris whom he knew as Patricia Jamison thirteen years ago and dubbed her Paris as in Bogart¿s Casablanca. He runs the local Graceland Chapel trying to reach sinners. While Paris plans to annul their marriage before running back to New York, Turn plans to stay wedded to Paris as he realizes he loved her back then and apparently never stopped loving her or why would a conservative person like him lose control. All he needs to do is persuade his bride that they belong together in and out of bed forever.--- SHE WOKE UP MARRIED is an amusing contemporary romance starring two likable protagonists with differing opinions on their sudden marital status. Paris is an interesting kooky lead while Turner knows that she is the one as she gets him to do things he would never do. Somewhat inane, fans will enjoy this humorous tale of love between Reverend Elvis the younger and the over the hill model.--- Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Highly recommend- great, quick read

    Great story with a few sexually explicit scenes, but other than that, a great read.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Most awesome book ive ever read before!!!!!!!

    Better than the other books,including those boring books ive read !!!!!im serious this is the best one ever!!!!i got it becuase this is what actrully happened to me becuase first i find im married mext you know impl pregnet and have 3 kids!!!!!!!oh,well its the best book ever!!!!^.^

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    not that great!

    This book was too.. long for a hartless woman to get her head out of her butt.Paris didn't change tell the end and i mean the very end.This book wasn't even funny and i wouldn't say it was very romantic.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2006

    i'd marry a guy like turner pruitt any day!

    i was so involved that i wish this book never ended. lol. i'm serious! i'm the kind of person that never reads until now. this book is well written, romantic, and funny. i wouldn't mind reading it all over again. hehehe. well done! i hope to marry a guy like turner pruitt one day.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2005

    Pleasantly surprised

    I picked this one up because I thought it would be a good beach read. It was not what I was expecting and I was pleasantly surprised.... Cute, Cute, Cute

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Good for a dumb title.

    Good read for something i thought was going to be a really retarted storylline but it was a great story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    hghfyhfhfjfjfhfjfuufjfufurfufhfhfjfjj

    Hfhhhhhhhhyyjttnhktgyhgg g* fb gc tchggfrttrbrhgttrrrffGggrreFFXDCFFFFF

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Grear book!

    Eventhough i only read this sample i coupdn't put it down and the beggining really makes you want to read it. Also its only one dollar, cheap and good story line!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Carrie underwood

    Reminds me of carrie undrewoods song i dint know my last name

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2006

    There are still afew good men out there.

    I fell in love with Turner, what a sexy man of God. I thought this story was sweet. I loved the well developed characters. Millie made me laugh out loud more than once. If I had to say something negative it would be about Paris. I was so not digging Paris's stubbornness and shallowness in the beginning. But as her character grew I developed a fondness for her. This story demonstrates unconditional love, for better or for worse in good times and in bad, in sickness and in health. This is the stuff great marriages are made of. This is a light easy read that will keep you turning the pages.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2005

    OH MY GOD

    this is 1 of the best i have ever read WOW i mean i cant even put it into words this guy Turner is... you just want him you wish he could pop out of the book. this book is a lil sad and nothin but excitement through the whole book. i PROMISE you you will love this book if not love like theres not 1 bad comment to say about this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2005

    She Woke up Married

    I bought the book because I knew of the Authors work. I was not disappointed in the book. It was a page turner and an enjoyable read. I am looking to reading more from this Author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Excellent read

    Very funny enjoy the whole thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10