Customer Reviews for

Sheer Abandon

Average Rating 3.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The story overall was good and kept me interested. At times I felt the content was a little predictable.

    For the most part this book was a real page turner. I really like the style of this authors writing. I was able to predict some of the story line a little earlier than I like but overall was an enjoyable read. Personally I liked the trilogy of No Angel, Something Dangerous, and Into Temptation better but I am in no means sorry or feel like I wasted time with this book. Very entertaining.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2008

    Worth Reading

    Penny Vincenzi has the rare skill to bring characters alive so that you believe you know them. The storyline has twists that always keep you wondering. A book worth reading!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    good book but....

    i liked this book but i had a few issues with it. it was a really long book and it seemed to me there was a lot of extra information that wasnt needed in the book. there were parts in the middle where i was skimming the pages and struggling to get on with the main plot. i wouldnt not recommend this book to anyone, i just wouldnt read it again (i am very picky on the writing styles of authors i read)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    having read a number of vincenzi's more recent novels, i venture

    having read a number of vincenzi's more recent novels, i ventured into the stacks at the public library for this one...and it took forever for me to finish this book...three weeks off and on, far surpassing my usual week or less rate..all that to say....this story went on, and on, and on...and over and over and over again...and was i eve relieved to get to the end..the characters are likable and interesting, the plot itself is believable and keeps you going forward to find out who and what and why and how...but gee whiz...did it have to drag on and repeat itself so much?....to compare, the author's writing has matured over time...from this one i can tell that to be true

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    Good book!

    It starts out rather slow and you wonder if you will like it, but it does get lots better after couple hundred pages and now I am totally caught up in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2008

    I'm an Idiot...

    About a year ago, I read this author's 'Almost a Crime', which was a DREADFUL book in both plot and characters. So what do I do? I read yet another of her drivel. This is truly one of the worst books I have ever read - unintereting, flat characters and repetitious writing combine to make it a better doorstop than engrossing novel. Please, if you have the urge to read anthing, grab a cereal box before tackling this awuful novel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2008

    yahh no... :(

    this book was alright. not the best, and with so many great books out there, dont waste your time on this one. i though the author did a good job on making you fall in love with the characters, however the plot was just way too busy. Eating disorders, susicde, depression, death, car accidents, sex, poltics,break ups, marriage, divorce, money, news, it had everything, and not in a good way. it felt more like a soap opera than a book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2007

    Couldn't stop listening

    I listened to this book and couldn't stop. The best part of listening to this book was the amazing job the reader did. The way she gave each character its own slightly different English accent. Listening to it as opposed to reading it may be what makes the difference between it being a 3 star versus a 5 star book. I would highly recommend listening to this one for the full affect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2007

    A Little Too Sheer Perhaps

    My book club read this book and we were sort of in agreement with Suzi, the first reviewer. It seemed to be lacking depth, continuously adding new characters without much reason or need...loosely connected. It was compelling enough to finish, and I will try another of her books, so all in all, 3 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2007

    Pass this one by...

    I read this book because of all of the wonderful reviews. Sorry folks, I just don't see it. This is an extremely long, horribly repetitive and obvious story. Don't waste your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2007

    Really enjoyed this book!

    Had never read this author before, was pleasantly surprised, lots of interwoven characters and action. Can't wait to read her other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2007

    Good summer read

    I happened to pick this book up in the store, never having read any books by this author. I was pleasantly surprised as this book was very hard to put down. A satisfying read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1