Customer Reviews for

Sheet Music: Uncovering the Secrets of Sexual Intimacy in Marriage

Average Rating 4
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Awesome book

I have been married for13 years and have been a little conservative about the mention of the word sex an never intiated sex ever but this book not only is about sex it is much more. Dr. Leman encourages both husband and wife to communicate more and just get to know each...
I have been married for13 years and have been a little conservative about the mention of the word sex an never intiated sex ever but this book not only is about sex it is much more. Dr. Leman encourages both husband and wife to communicate more and just get to know each other more and then once you have that foundation of communication great sex happens but not without work. I say this book is one of the best.

posted by babyzaders on January 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Not worth the price unless you're a frigid 1950's housewife.

I understand the point in this book. It's for sexually repressed couples who need to understand that sex is good, part of God's gift to us, and shouldn't be withheld from one another. Basically, the bulk of the book is this : men, be nice to your wives and help with hou...
I understand the point in this book. It's for sexually repressed couples who need to understand that sex is good, part of God's gift to us, and shouldn't be withheld from one another. Basically, the bulk of the book is this : men, be nice to your wives and help with housework. women, have sex with your husbands. If you're a young couple in today's world, chances are you already know plenty about sex and are not nearly as likely to be the cold, repressed, sexually void people he seems obsessed with in this book. I am a wife who loves sex and there was absolutely nothing in here I didn't already know. It all reads like something out of 1950 and was far too short of a book for the price.

posted by 5872868 on February 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    Not worth the price unless you're a frigid 1950's housewife.

    I understand the point in this book. It's for sexually repressed couples who need to understand that sex is good, part of God's gift to us, and shouldn't be withheld from one another. Basically, the bulk of the book is this : men, be nice to your wives and help with housework. women, have sex with your husbands. If you're a young couple in today's world, chances are you already know plenty about sex and are not nearly as likely to be the cold, repressed, sexually void people he seems obsessed with in this book. I am a wife who loves sex and there was absolutely nothing in here I didn't already know. It all reads like something out of 1950 and was far too short of a book for the price.

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    the good and the bad...

    As the author of The Birth Order Book, and What Your Childhood Memories Say about You, among other books, and as an occasional guest on popular TV and radio shows, Dr. Kevin Leman is a well-known name to some, especially in Christian circles. Dr. Leman makes it apparent in the first chapter that he is writing specifically for those with Christian values (for example, Leman repeatedly cautions against intimacy before marriage and describes intimacy as designed by God for marriage) but that is not to say that others with similar value systems may not also find the book useful.

    The easy-to-read, conversational writing style paired with the straightforward and-some might say-feisty tone made the book a quick read. Dr. Leman uses appropriate terms for genitals and does not avoid using proper terms when writing practically about these subjects but uses a number of euphemisms when writing more light-heartedly about ideas to set the mood, for example. In many cases his use of language is appropriate for the tone of the section, but I found his repeated reference to male genitals as "Mr. Happy" overused.

    Continue reading my full review at: cjmtherapy com/blog/114-review-of-sheet-music-by-kevin-leman

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Awesome book

    I have been married for13 years and have been a little conservative about the mention of the word sex an never intiated sex ever but this book not only is about sex it is much more. Dr. Leman encourages both husband and wife to communicate more and just get to know each other more and then once you have that foundation of communication great sex happens but not without work. I say this book is one of the best.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2007

    A Great Start to an Awesome Marriage!!

    We received this book as a wedding gift and it helped us start our lives together on the right path. Dr. Leman describes techniques that are extremely benefical in helping both husbands and wifes enjoy sex! I highly recommend it for anyone out there questioning their sexual status! Also an Awesome wedding gift!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2007

    A great book!

    This is a great book and I recommend it to everyone! I'll admit, I've only read the first four chapters with my boyfriend, because we're not married and the author asks that if you're not married to stop there, but it has helped me understand so much about him and him so much about me. It's more than just a great sex book, it's a great relationship book and I can't wait to read the rest!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2006

    Awesome book

    Since reading this book, I give this as a wedding gift everytime! What great info to start a marriage with... also, what needed awesome info for an older marriage. Christian women need to know how important great sex is to our husband!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2004

    'Sheet Music' Rocks!!!!

    Again, Dr. Leman excells at what he does best in conveying God's Truth in a concise and humerous way!! My husband and I are a part of a Marriage Mentor's team with our local church and we have strongly endorsed this book to other couples and also as a wedding gift to those getting married!! I wish these types of resourches would have been available to us when we were married back in the '60's!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2003

    Excellent Advice: Read with a sense of humor

    This was a wonderful book that was very funny to me, because I know couples who fit the characters in the book. If a frank, open discussion of sex offends or embarasses you, this book is NOT for you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Excellent

    Candid, honest, straight-forward, and helpful. I received this as a shower gift, and got a copy for my newly engaged sister. She loves it as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Hey

    DO YOU HAVE TO BE MARRIED OR ENGAGED TO READ OR TAKE HINTS FROM THIS BOOK FOR EVEYDAY LIFE?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    Great Book!

    Far from a how-to sex manual (although those elements are present too) this is an exellent book to improve the quality - and quantity - of the sex life. Wonderful relationship book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    very good advice

    He handles the subject with true respect for both partners but gives strong advice that can truly make a difference.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    Wonderful!

    A candid, real, and informative look into the sexual aspects of your marriage! Not for the overly shy, but if gone into with an open mind, it can change your life! LOVE LOVE LOVE this book...(and so did my husband) :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2004

    A Book Every Married Couple Needs!

    This book has opened my eyes to a world I never dreamed of!!!! It is extremely enlightening!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Easy reading with great insight. Awesome wedding present.

    Sheet music is a great book. It is easy to read and remember as well as having great insight into marital sex. I am a very poor reader and do not enjoy reading, but this book was even hard for me to put down. I use it in classes I teach, as a wedding gift, and also as part of marriage counseling process. Dr. Leman has found a way for married couples to enjoy sex the way God meant for man to enjoy it, instead of abusing and perverting it. I have several of Dr. Leman's books and I have yet to find one that did not help me grow as a person in all areas of my life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Nic

    Read at "azkedelia" result three

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Zero

    Kitchen

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    Great for Christian's before their marriage

    Read it a month before my marriage. It really opened the door for my wife and me to talk about things I never thought to talk about before our marriage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    Fantastic

    WOW! What a fantastic book! After 28 years of marriage, our intimacy has never been this good. We read it together and were diligent in including lab work with our study :) We wish we had read this when we began our marriage. We have purchased enough copies to give to each of our children as they get married. I think every couple can use the wonderful information delivered in a loving manner. We are now talking more openly and our relationship has improved as well. Thank you Dr. Leman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    very good

    this book is hard to put down. gives good info to things you would not have thought of.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6