Customer Reviews for

Shell Game (Kathleen Mallory Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

What a Wonderful Book!

Kathy Mallory is one of the most interesting protagonist I have every read. Carol O¿Connell has created a hero that you want to dislike, but you can¿t help but feel sorry and like her. Mallory brings out all your emotions. In Shell Game, Mallory has met her match. W...
Kathy Mallory is one of the most interesting protagonist I have every read. Carol O¿Connell has created a hero that you want to dislike, but you can¿t help but feel sorry and like her. Mallory brings out all your emotions. In Shell Game, Mallory has met her match. With a personally that sees in black and white, what does she do in the world of magic? With magicians as foes, Mallory becomes a fish out of water, or is she? Ms. O¿Connell creates a world of illusion in Shell Game. The villain(s) has spent his life practicing misdirection, trickery and lies. Mallory has too, but is 50 years short on experience against these guys. Oh, what a tangled web they can weave. I couldn¿t figure out what was going on till the very last few pages. What a wonderful read, Ms. O¿Connell¿s pose is top notch. I love the way the author writes. So different, yet flowing and easy to read. I always set aside blocks of time to read her books. You¿ll not want to put her down. You will want to stay with it till the end. I would suggest that if you are interested in this series, start with the first one, Mallory¿s Oracle. Ms. O¿Connell develops Mallory over the course of all her books. To miss one, means not understanding a portion of Mallory. Mallory is the most complex character I have ever read. So, get started and enjoy!

posted by Anonymous on September 25, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Joining

My name is Arrow. I am a skilled assaisen. I would like to join.

posted by 15318564 on October 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Netta

    She stealthly hops out of a tree, pulling out a knife as she touches the ground. She is wearing a black cloak and black jeans. Her red eyes gleam in the pale light. "Im Netta. I am stealthly and im a shapeshifter, making me good with animals."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2000

    What a Wonderful Book!

    Kathy Mallory is one of the most interesting protagonist I have every read. Carol O¿Connell has created a hero that you want to dislike, but you can¿t help but feel sorry and like her. Mallory brings out all your emotions. In Shell Game, Mallory has met her match. With a personally that sees in black and white, what does she do in the world of magic? With magicians as foes, Mallory becomes a fish out of water, or is she? Ms. O¿Connell creates a world of illusion in Shell Game. The villain(s) has spent his life practicing misdirection, trickery and lies. Mallory has too, but is 50 years short on experience against these guys. Oh, what a tangled web they can weave. I couldn¿t figure out what was going on till the very last few pages. What a wonderful read, Ms. O¿Connell¿s pose is top notch. I love the way the author writes. So different, yet flowing and easy to read. I always set aside blocks of time to read her books. You¿ll not want to put her down. You will want to stay with it till the end. I would suggest that if you are interested in this series, start with the first one, Mallory¿s Oracle. Ms. O¿Connell develops Mallory over the course of all her books. To miss one, means not understanding a portion of Mallory. Mallory is the most complex character I have ever read. So, get started and enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Rani

    Hi everyone the blonde girl said. Her blue eyes sparkled like stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Shade

    Shad- "looks like you got one. Im going to go train." She walks to bango.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Cloud

    Smirks and shapeshifts into a white wolf and howls~Cloud

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Shadow

    Leaves- shadow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    PARTY

    AT SCARLET LETTER ALL RESULTS!!!! HURRY BARTENDER SEXXI SINGLE GUYS AND FUN WE NOW ARE HIRING DJS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    SYLVIA TO BENNY

    Go to second result!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Dove

    Ok. Meet u there!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Amy

    Um hi r u ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Tess Tess

    She yawns and watches the fish swim by.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    I had read the first couple of the Mallory books and liked them. The tortured detective can be a complex character that you can respect. Mallory is not one of these characters. I put the book down after a few chapters. I just could not find a way to justify her psychopathical actions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2003

    Malachai exposed

    Anyone who reads a Mallory mystery knows the high regard Ms. O'Connell has always placed on Malachai. His spectacular illusions and the re-creation of his dead wife in his magic acts are always referred to in a Mallory mystery. Primarily Shell Game is a contest between Mallory and Malachai. But as with all Mallory mysteries it is also an exploration of Mallory's psyche. In many ways, by the end of the book, it is a redemption of Mallory. In the beginning of the book is a murder no one but Mallory, Malachai, and the killer realize is a murder. There follows the usual precint battle with Lt. Coffey and Riker. With the usual outcome. Mallory can't really be the dark hero she is without struggling with Coffey and Riker. Ultimately, to solve the current murder, Mallory must solve the mystery surrounding the death of Louisa. It is here that she is redeemed. For in solving Louisa's murder she gives Malachai, her best enemy ever, a gift. A gift that both destroys him and heals him. A perfect Mallory gift. The one thing I don't like about Mallory mysteries is that they always involve Mallory solving someone else's case. Usually a case long dead. Finally, I would love to see Ms. O'Connell team Rouge Kendall and Mallory together on a case. I think both characters would benefit from the experience, and more I think they could both learn how to laugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2000

    the best

    carol o'connell is the very best. i have read them all and eagerly await the next -- to the point of paying for the hardcover! she is not just a mystery writer but a master of the macabre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1