Customer Reviews for

Shelter (Mickey Bolitar Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 180 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(102)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyed it

Shelter is published as a teen novel, but I thought it was a pretty good adult read and I am glad I gave this a try. The writing is good, action moves right along. will definitely buy more.

posted by theReader278 on September 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Mystery with Entertaining Side Kicks

I don't read a ton of adult mysteries but when I find a young adult one I'm eager to jump. Knowing that Shelter was written by a master mystery writer it made it all the more enticing. Shelter opens up right into the mystery and the questions never stop coming. Immedi...
I don't read a ton of adult mysteries but when I find a young adult one I'm eager to jump. Knowing that Shelter was written by a master mystery writer it made it all the more enticing. Shelter opens up right into the mystery and the questions never stop coming. Immediately I was wondering what happened to Ashley and how these things were all connected. This teen, Mickey Bolitar, is definitely going places he shouldn't go, all to figure out where this girl has disappeared to. Then you throw in the neighborhood's scary resident - the bat lady - and immediately I am reminded of the house that we would all run past when we were kids. Mickey's friends Spoon and Ema are the most entertaining characters in the book - sidekicks, yes, but they get some of the best lines in the bunch. Spoon is just completely random and Ema is a smart-ass, bad-ass, emo/goth kinda chick that doesn't screw around.

What didn't sell me on the book was that too much of the mystery was left open at the end, that this kid Mickey had strong enough feelings for Ashley after only a few weeks together, and how some of the other people came to be involved within the story. It was a stretch. Shelter was a crazy quick read for me, it just kept moving and moving, and there is no lack of action in the story. I only wish that it would have felt more realistic in combining all of the different elements of the story and that there would have been a few more answers at the end.

Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake

posted by BookSakeBlogspot on October 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 180 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    O

    Loved the book, but absolutely despise plot spoilers who reveal every detail of the story then brag how they got their book for free for their 'honest'review. Really? Like we really believe that? Then we have these children playing on the review site using the nook as a chat room, or a roleplaying site. Come on bn, cant you put a stop to these kids playing around on here? We come here for book reviews, not to have to go thru a bunch of kids chatting, sexting and roleplaying their dumb cat games.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    Amazing book! Once i picked up, i couldn't put it down!

    Amazing book! Once i picked up, i couldn't put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Great Book

    This is a great book. I like the way it keeps you into it by giving you a mystery then out of nowhere something happens and someone goes missing or worse.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Strange

    This book did not turn out to be what i expected. Adventurous and exciting it is not. I kept expecting something to happen and finally gave up when i realized i was near the end of the book. I dont think there was any development to anything and the whole story dragged on and on. But i guess it depends on the person.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    He had me until the end

    Harlen Coben does a terrific job with Mickey Bolitar, in his first young adult novel. The story and characters feel real and the pace is brisk enought to make sure you want to pick it up again should you need to put it down. However, the very last page disappointed me in its obvious attempt to leave you wanting more. The book is good enough to bring readers back without a hook. I look forward to the next installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Great Book

    I was iffy in weather or not to read it book but it is a Great book, one that I will recomend highly. A must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    Love it

    Another wonderful book by Harlan Coben, you will fall in love with Mickey Bolitar and his friends!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    i didn't know if i wanted to read this book but boy am i glad that i did1!!!! This was a superb book!!! A must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    Wow! Great read.

    Excellent. Could not put it down. Excellent story, great characters. Hope Coben writes another Mickey Bolitar book very soon. I wish the book were longer!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Wonderful Family Read

    Harlan Coben spins off from his successful Myron Bolitar series to reach out to young adults with his Mickey Bolitar series. Mickey is Myron's nephew. Mickey has come to live with Myron after witnessing his father's death and his mother ends up in rehab.

    Mickey has spent his life traveling around the world with his parents and they do mission work with The Abeona Shelter. They had returned to the states so Mickey could attend a regular high school and college.

    New schools are always tough but Mickey makes two new friends at orientation day. One is the beautiful Ashley and the other is Ema, a plus size girl who thinks Mickey is only being nice to her out of pity. But when Ashley mysteriously disappears right after school starts he teams up with Ema and another new friend, "Spoon," to try to find her.

    As they follow a trail to find Ashley they walk in to a world that leads Mickey to question everything he thought he knew about his life. It also puts him and his friends in danger they only thought happenned in the movies. Hang on tight, this is a wild ride.





    My Thoughts
    I am a huge Harlan Coben fan and was really intrigued when I heard he was venturing into the Young Adult reader genre and taking his star character Myron Bolitar with him. The set up for this book started when we were introduced to Mickey in Coben's Live Wire in March. I was very interested to read Shelter to see how the author completed this transition.

    I loved this book and while featuring high school kids as the leading characters they took on some very adult problems. I am sure teenagers will enjoy this action packed thriller. Coben does an excellent job of explaining Mickey's life before Shelter so that the new generation of readers understands the history. I only question if I followed everything so easily because I have read the entire Myron Bolitar series.

    Like all books written by Harlan Coben the story is masterfully plotted, full of twists and turns while adding the perfect amount of humor. All the things that makes him a great author and his novels must reads.

    All fans of Coben will love this book and then pass it on to their teenagers to enjoy. My son is waiting for me to finish this review so he can read this book because he has heard my husband and I talking about it. Hopefully as a new reader of this author he will be able to answer my one question above. I will keep you posted.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the G.P. Putnam's Sons, A Division of Penguin Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. Receiving a complimentary copy in no way reflected my review of this book. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    Harlan Coben Does it Again!

    Shelter, described as a young adult book, is perfect for readers of all ages. Sure the characters are high schoolers, but weren't we all at some point? The story line is great; with all sorts of twists and turns that makes it seriously difficult to put the book down. You should definitely check out this book and after that... all of Coben's other works. You won't regret it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not just for teens

    Loved this book. Fast paced and quick read. Loved it. It is marketed for teens. But adults will love it also. Typical Coben. I have loved all his books. Can not wait for the sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    Loved It!

    This book was recommended by an author I read so I pre-ordered it and was really happy I did. The book is fast-paced, pretty hard to put down, and the mystery is great. You fall in love with the characters too. (At least I did). I can't wait for the second book in this series to come out; the last page really leaves a cliffhanger.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Couldn't put it down!

    It was absolutely wonderful! I love that it felt like you were reading a Myron story. Harlan really gets you invested in the characters and makes you not want to put the book down. I'm so excited to have a new Bolitar series! If you love Myron you will love this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Good read

    This is, as usual, a good harlan coben book. But i was quite upset at the length of the book, for the price.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    Shelter got me hooked on Harlan Coben's new Mickey Bolitar serie

    Shelter got me hooked on Harlan Coben's new Mickey Bolitar series. I love the characters, the surprises in the plot, and, like I said, he's got me hooked on this series. I've read both Shelter and Seconds Away and am delighted with the writing, storyline and characters. Most certainly I will get the next book he writes in the series. For me, it can't come soon enough! You've got a fan for life, through this series, Mr. Coben!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2014

    This is a great series for young or old.  Harlan Coben is an inc

    This is a great series for young or old.  Harlan Coben is an incredible writer and the new Mickey Bolitar series is not exception.  I'm in love with this series and
    it's nice to have a new character, a younger Bolitar with a modern mindset to follow.  Mickey has lost his father and his mom is being treated for mental problems resulting from the death.
    He spends his time trying to figure out what happened to his Dad and what the family secret is that is threatening to destroy the families lives including his Uncle Myron with whom he is now living.
    As usual it is a trouble around every turn book and it leaves you in total bewilderment.  Praise for this new series and I pray he continues with it as I need to know what's happening.  Real cliff hanger
    of a book.    LOVE IT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Amazing

    This story was actoin packed but also made you think its heartfelt also aswell as some comdey i recomed it to young adults its a little to mature for teens to hear and read this kind of stuff. While reading this book i mever wanted to put it down it was amzing and had me on edge the whole ride just wondering whats going to happend next i highly recomend it for you next book to grt sucked in to , trust me once you pick it toull never wanna put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2013

    "Our club members were sucked in from beginning to end. Of

    "Our club members were sucked in from beginning to end. Of course, we love a good mystery! A great fit for young readers and adults, there is some true suspense. While there were some cliche' moments and characters to kick things off, this book is a winner!"

    -Surprise-a-book Club Critics

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Great read.

    Coben never dissappoints. It shows Myron in a different light, but enjoyable even for an adult

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 180 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9