Customer Reviews for

Shelter (Mickey Bolitar Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 186 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(105)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyed it

Shelter is published as a teen novel, but I thought it was a pretty good adult read and I am glad I gave this a try. The writing is good, action moves right along. will definitely buy more.

posted by theReader278 on September 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Mystery with Entertaining Side Kicks

I don't read a ton of adult mysteries but when I find a young adult one I'm eager to jump. Knowing that Shelter was written by a master mystery writer it made it all the more enticing. Shelter opens up right into the mystery and the questions never stop coming. Immedi...
I don't read a ton of adult mysteries but when I find a young adult one I'm eager to jump. Knowing that Shelter was written by a master mystery writer it made it all the more enticing. Shelter opens up right into the mystery and the questions never stop coming. Immediately I was wondering what happened to Ashley and how these things were all connected. This teen, Mickey Bolitar, is definitely going places he shouldn't go, all to figure out where this girl has disappeared to. Then you throw in the neighborhood's scary resident - the bat lady - and immediately I am reminded of the house that we would all run past when we were kids. Mickey's friends Spoon and Ema are the most entertaining characters in the book - sidekicks, yes, but they get some of the best lines in the bunch. Spoon is just completely random and Ema is a smart-ass, bad-ass, emo/goth kinda chick that doesn't screw around.

What didn't sell me on the book was that too much of the mystery was left open at the end, that this kid Mickey had strong enough feelings for Ashley after only a few weeks together, and how some of the other people came to be involved within the story. It was a stretch. Shelter was a crazy quick read for me, it just kept moving and moving, and there is no lack of action in the story. I only wish that it would have felt more realistic in combining all of the different elements of the story and that there would have been a few more answers at the end.

Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake

posted by BookSakeBlogspot on October 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 186 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 10
  • Posted March 30, 2014

    This is a great series for young or old.  Harlan Coben is an inc

    This is a great series for young or old.  Harlan Coben is an incredible writer and the new Mickey Bolitar series is not exception.  I'm in love with this series and
    it's nice to have a new character, a younger Bolitar with a modern mindset to follow.  Mickey has lost his father and his mom is being treated for mental problems resulting from the death.
    He spends his time trying to figure out what happened to his Dad and what the family secret is that is threatening to destroy the families lives including his Uncle Myron with whom he is now living.
    As usual it is a trouble around every turn book and it leaves you in total bewilderment.  Praise for this new series and I pray he continues with it as I need to know what's happening.  Real cliff hanger
    of a book.    LOVE IT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Amazing

    This story was actoin packed but also made you think its heartfelt also aswell as some comdey i recomed it to young adults its a little to mature for teens to hear and read this kind of stuff. While reading this book i mever wanted to put it down it was amzing and had me on edge the whole ride just wondering whats going to happend next i highly recomend it for you next book to grt sucked in to , trust me once you pick it toull never wanna put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2013

    "Our club members were sucked in from beginning to end. Of

    "Our club members were sucked in from beginning to end. Of course, we love a good mystery! A great fit for young readers and adults, there is some true suspense. While there were some cliche' moments and characters to kick things off, this book is a winner!"

    -Surprise-a-book Club Critics

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Great read.

    Coben never dissappoints. It shows Myron in a different light, but enjoyable even for an adult

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    I have read several of the Myron Bolitar books and like them so

    I have read several of the Myron Bolitar books and like them so got this one to try when it was one of the daily deals. Was hoping Myron would be in it more, but after I got into the story a little, didn't miss him. Thought it started a bit slow, but picked up and really enjoyed the last half.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    A fun read. Keeps your attention.

    As good as the other series. Mystery keeps your attention. Characters have own style. Good entertainment reading for the money. Mickey finds trouble just like his uncle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Adult and long time reader.

    Coben at his best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Supercalifr Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious

    -G was here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Hhtytyty

    Jjkjmnjlnllygjytdti

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Comment2

    Yesssss. Perfect

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Welcome to The Shelter- DON'T POST HERE!

    Welcome to the TS. A place where when all of your RPs are Inactive you can come here. I am RedWinter. Leader of the Watchers and Main Scorchers. Watchers are basically people who RP in all the RPs and gain the respect and watch over the RPers. For no bulling and cursing. Main Scorchers are Leaders of the RPs. Know Come to result 2 with me to the Office. <p> ~RedWinter~

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Wat ages

    Is this for

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Amazing book!!! It was an easy book to follow along with, unlike

    Amazing book!!! It was an easy book to follow along with, unlike other books where you feel like it jumps around a lot. I wish there were more books to this series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    GET THIS BOOK

    This is a good book and u should get it. If u like adventure, mystories, history, and books that keep u on the edge of ur seat then get this book. U wont regret it. I love it and u will to so come on down and get SHELTER today!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    TWO THUMBS UP

    This is a great book. Ive already read it like five times, i cant wait to read the second book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

     It is so refreshing to find a young adult novel, after reading

     It is so refreshing to find a young adult novel, after reading several others, that had a story with characters that didn't disappoint. 
         This is the first book by Coben that I have read. I'm aware that he is better known as an adult author. Maybe that is the edge he has when writing a good YA novel. He knows how to balance what an adult likes and place it in a believable teenage tale.
         His characters are believable, adults and teenagers alike. I like the twists in this story. A good bit of mystery, that led me down a road I wasn't expecting. Characters I enjoy following, A nice balance of teenage &quot;drama&quot; with a unique mystery, I would have never expected.
       Definitely reading the next installment. Nice to see there is hope for YA books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    The winner

    He puts it altogether to make you jump 6 ft.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Pure awesome

    This book would keep you wanting to know what happens next at every turn of the page. It is amazing so recomend itt (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I read my first book by Harlan Coben, Tell No One, about two yea

    I read my first book by Harlan Coben, Tell No One, about two years ago at the suggest of my husband. Up until then, I had never read a lot of mystery books. Not only did the genre not appeal to me much, but I felt like the mysteries I had read fell short because I was able to figure out the puzzle very early on. Harlan Coben's books don't have that problem for me. He's a really good writer and he keeps his readers guessing at every turn. I was pretty excited to find a young-adult novel written by Coben and knew that I had to read it.

    Shelter's main character is someone that is introduced in another series written by Coben. I had never read the other series before, but it didn't make any difference at all. The Mickey Bolitar novels can be read completely separate from the Myron Bolitar novels and the reader won't be missing out on anything. If anything, reading Shelter may have sparked my interest to read the Myron Bolitar novels at a later date and time.

    I feel like Shelter was a really good introduction into a new series. You're introduced to some really awesome characters and I can't wait to see how they evolve as the series continues. I feel like Coben has a knack for writing a story that sucks the reader in. The book is a quick read and I was a little sad that it ended. I'm definitely looking forward to reading the next book in the series, Seconds Away, and finding out what happens next.

    Overall, I'm really glad I picked up another Harlan Coben book. It wasn't a letdown and I'm sure the next one won't be either.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 186 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 10