Customer Reviews for

Shelter (Mickey Bolitar Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 183 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(104)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyed it

Shelter is published as a teen novel, but I thought it was a pretty good adult read and I am glad I gave this a try. The writing is good, action moves right along. will definitely buy more.

posted by theReader278 on September 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Mystery with Entertaining Side Kicks

I don't read a ton of adult mysteries but when I find a young adult one I'm eager to jump. Knowing that Shelter was written by a master mystery writer it made it all the more enticing. Shelter opens up right into the mystery and the questions never stop coming. Immedi...
I don't read a ton of adult mysteries but when I find a young adult one I'm eager to jump. Knowing that Shelter was written by a master mystery writer it made it all the more enticing. Shelter opens up right into the mystery and the questions never stop coming. Immediately I was wondering what happened to Ashley and how these things were all connected. This teen, Mickey Bolitar, is definitely going places he shouldn't go, all to figure out where this girl has disappeared to. Then you throw in the neighborhood's scary resident - the bat lady - and immediately I am reminded of the house that we would all run past when we were kids. Mickey's friends Spoon and Ema are the most entertaining characters in the book - sidekicks, yes, but they get some of the best lines in the bunch. Spoon is just completely random and Ema is a smart-ass, bad-ass, emo/goth kinda chick that doesn't screw around.

What didn't sell me on the book was that too much of the mystery was left open at the end, that this kid Mickey had strong enough feelings for Ashley after only a few weeks together, and how some of the other people came to be involved within the story. It was a stretch. Shelter was a crazy quick read for me, it just kept moving and moving, and there is no lack of action in the story. I only wish that it would have felt more realistic in combining all of the different elements of the story and that there would have been a few more answers at the end.

Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake

posted by BookSakeBlogspot on October 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyed it

    Shelter is published as a teen novel, but I thought it was a pretty good adult read and I am glad I gave this a try. The writing is good, action moves right along. will definitely buy more.

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Mystery with Entertaining Side Kicks

    I don't read a ton of adult mysteries but when I find a young adult one I'm eager to jump. Knowing that Shelter was written by a master mystery writer it made it all the more enticing. Shelter opens up right into the mystery and the questions never stop coming. Immediately I was wondering what happened to Ashley and how these things were all connected. This teen, Mickey Bolitar, is definitely going places he shouldn't go, all to figure out where this girl has disappeared to. Then you throw in the neighborhood's scary resident - the bat lady - and immediately I am reminded of the house that we would all run past when we were kids. Mickey's friends Spoon and Ema are the most entertaining characters in the book - sidekicks, yes, but they get some of the best lines in the bunch. Spoon is just completely random and Ema is a smart-ass, bad-ass, emo/goth kinda chick that doesn't screw around.

    What didn't sell me on the book was that too much of the mystery was left open at the end, that this kid Mickey had strong enough feelings for Ashley after only a few weeks together, and how some of the other people came to be involved within the story. It was a stretch. Shelter was a crazy quick read for me, it just kept moving and moving, and there is no lack of action in the story. I only wish that it would have felt more realistic in combining all of the different elements of the story and that there would have been a few more answers at the end.

    Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2011

    COBEN SCORES WITH MY TEEN - and me too!

    I read all of Harlan Coben's novels and he is my favorite author. Never before has a book prompted me to write one of these reviews! My teen, who isn't that fond of reading, could not book this book down. The adults in my family read it also, and we hope that Mr. Coben writes more Mickey Bolitar books!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    WOW!!!

    So I just got this book and the first sentence got me hooked because I love these types of books!!! I would definately recommend this book!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    The author seems to be talented but this book starts out as a yo

    The author seems to be talented but this book starts out as a young adult book and turns into trash. An under aged kid going into a strip bar is not, in my opinion, a young adult book. The story seemed good at first, but everything changed when the author incorporated the strip club. I don't want my kids reading this stuff. This NOT a book for kids. Not everyone wants to read about sex. I want a good, clean book with a good story line. It doesn't and shouldn't be ruined by adding such content. Try reading DreamHouse Kings. It is an awesome series and clean.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Another great book by Coben!

    I am a HUGE fan of Harlan Coben's books (I've read all of them!) and when I heard he was coming out with a new YA series, I just had to check it out. It definitely did not disappoint. I loved the character of Mickey Bolitar. He certainly seemed wise beyond his years. His girlfriend, Ashley, is missing from the beginning, although there is a small flashback to when Mickey and Ashley met. On top of that, the woman nicknamed the "Bat Lady" cryptically tells him his father isn't dead, which heightens the mystery and suspense. I think I liked Mickey so much because he didn't care what anyone else thought of him. He was confident enough to be his own person and not let people push him around; this included befriending Ema and Spoon, two of the least popular kids in his new school. I loved how Spoon was always spouting random quirky facts. I also really loved his friend Ema. It took her while to warm up to him, since she was so used to being made fun of and didn't exactly trust anyone. She turned out to be an extremely witty character, and a very loyal friend to Mickey. There is definitely something wrong with Ema's home life, but the book never went into detail about it and she never allowed Mickey to see her home. I'm really hoping the next book will give us an insight into her life. Being a fan of Coben's other books, I was very pleased to be reunited with my old friend Myron (Mickey's uncle, with whom he doesn't get along very well). It wasn't the Myron I'm used to seeing though; since Mickey's dad died and his mom ended up in rehab, Myron ends up standing in as his guardian and stand-in parental figure, so his responsiblities are different in this book. For other fans of the Myron Bolitar series, Esperanza is mentioned once, but only in passing. I was extremely disappointed that Win wasn't in this one at all; he is my absolute favorite character and was hoping to see him make an appearance in some aspect. It would be great if he shows up later on in the series *hint, hint*. Honestly though, this book is all about Mickey and it makes sense for the other characters not to be in this book, because they're not a part of his world (at least not yet). I loved trying to figure out all of the mysteries throughout this book and I didn't put it down once once I started reading. There was suspense galore and it definitely made it easy to want to keep reading. This book will keep you guessing until the end and make you excited to see what else is in store for these characters. I think everyone will able to connect with and cheer on Mickey in his journey to find Ashley and to discover the truth about his father.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    FANTASTIC

    I couldnt put it down and i read it in a day. I reccomend it and i truly hope there will be a second book. Love it!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    This book is awesomeeeee

    I had to read this book for a class thing and i think this is one if the best books i have ever read!!! It makes you want to keep reading it!! I really hope Harlan Coben writes more of Mickey's series!!!! YOLO

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Loved it!!

    This book was so hard to put down i finished it in half a day.This was so worth buying.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Good for a young reader

    I think this book would be enjoyed by a young reader who enjoys mysteries. As an adult who has read Coben's books I kept expecting Myron & pals to come to the rescue but it's all Mickey.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Awesome book !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love how it ended. I can not wait for the next book in the series. I will be looking for it in the shop area every day and i will be saving my money for it. i liked how spoon was involved in finding Ashley .this book has lots of clif hanger so sometimes i could not put the book down at all and i liked that .

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    This book is about a young boy name Mickey Bolitar.  He is force

    This book is about a young boy name Mickey Bolitar.
     He is forced to change high school and has to live with his uncle because his mother is in rehabilitation.
    One day, his girlfriend dissapears and an old, scary lady tells him that his dead father is alive.
    Now he has two problems, as well as other unsolved questions that arise.
     He meets many different interesting people along the way: friends and enemies.
    The author created many different mysteries that are all connected in a way.  
    There are also many situations in which you can relate to the narrator.
    The suspense was almost unbearable; the ending was very surprising.
    Although the story is pretty unrealistic, I recommend it for young readers who want to read an enjoyable,
     exciting and unexpected mystery. It is an overall pleasant and entertaining read. 

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    SO GOOD!

    I loved it! You can (but don't have to) read the Myton Bolitar series before. This is a amazingtastic book with a surprise ending that i couldn't put down. It was even better th the myron bolitars. Anywayz, <3'ed it!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    AMAZING!!!

    Shelter rocks! Not only is it interesting, it's actually really funny. Also it's amazing! Cant stress tha enough...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Another amazing read by Coben!

    Can't wait to read the next in the series! I was bummed to see the book was so short, but great read...you will not be disappointed with this purchase.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Loved this book

    Hated to put it down

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Shelter by Harlan Coben

    This book was phenomenal. One of the best books yet. Harlan never fails to dissapoint.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    AAAAHH!!!

    WOWW!! I can"t put into words how AWESOME and intriguing this book is. What a way to end it!! CANNOT WAIT FOR THE NEXT ONE!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    loved it

    i loved this book it was amazing every page is a surprise this book wont let u down!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    Disappointment

    Book is probably well suited for adolescent male who no longer enjoys Dixon's "Hardy Boys". For the adult who normally loves every Coben book there simply is nopt enough there and Coben style is cramped as he tries to reach the younger audience.Book should be marketed to the younger audience so that Coben does not turn off his loyal following

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10