Customer Reviews for

Shelter (Mickey Bolitar Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 183 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(104)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyed it

Shelter is published as a teen novel, but I thought it was a pretty good adult read and I am glad I gave this a try. The writing is good, action moves right along. will definitely buy more.

posted by theReader278 on September 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Mystery with Entertaining Side Kicks

I don't read a ton of adult mysteries but when I find a young adult one I'm eager to jump. Knowing that Shelter was written by a master mystery writer it made it all the more enticing. Shelter opens up right into the mystery and the questions never stop coming. Immedi...
I don't read a ton of adult mysteries but when I find a young adult one I'm eager to jump. Knowing that Shelter was written by a master mystery writer it made it all the more enticing. Shelter opens up right into the mystery and the questions never stop coming. Immediately I was wondering what happened to Ashley and how these things were all connected. This teen, Mickey Bolitar, is definitely going places he shouldn't go, all to figure out where this girl has disappeared to. Then you throw in the neighborhood's scary resident - the bat lady - and immediately I am reminded of the house that we would all run past when we were kids. Mickey's friends Spoon and Ema are the most entertaining characters in the book - sidekicks, yes, but they get some of the best lines in the bunch. Spoon is just completely random and Ema is a smart-ass, bad-ass, emo/goth kinda chick that doesn't screw around.

What didn't sell me on the book was that too much of the mystery was left open at the end, that this kid Mickey had strong enough feelings for Ashley after only a few weeks together, and how some of the other people came to be involved within the story. It was a stretch. Shelter was a crazy quick read for me, it just kept moving and moving, and there is no lack of action in the story. I only wish that it would have felt more realistic in combining all of the different elements of the story and that there would have been a few more answers at the end.

Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake

posted by BookSakeBlogspot on October 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    He had me until the end

    Harlen Coben does a terrific job with Mickey Bolitar, in his first young adult novel. The story and characters feel real and the pace is brisk enought to make sure you want to pick it up again should you need to put it down. However, the very last page disappointed me in its obvious attempt to leave you wanting more. The book is good enough to bring readers back without a hook. I look forward to the next installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Good read

    This is, as usual, a good harlan coben book. But i was quite upset at the length of the book, for the price.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2013

    "Our club members were sucked in from beginning to end. Of

    "Our club members were sucked in from beginning to end. Of course, we love a good mystery! A great fit for young readers and adults, there is some true suspense. While there were some cliche' moments and characters to kick things off, this book is a winner!"

    -Surprise-a-book Club Critics

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    A fun read. Keeps your attention.

    As good as the other series. Mystery keeps your attention. Characters have own style. Good entertainment reading for the money. Mickey finds trouble just like his uncle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    TWO THUMBS UP

    This is a great book. Ive already read it like five times, i cant wait to read the second book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I read my first book by Harlan Coben, Tell No One, about two yea

    I read my first book by Harlan Coben, Tell No One, about two years ago at the suggest of my husband. Up until then, I had never read a lot of mystery books. Not only did the genre not appeal to me much, but I felt like the mysteries I had read fell short because I was able to figure out the puzzle very early on. Harlan Coben's books don't have that problem for me. He's a really good writer and he keeps his readers guessing at every turn. I was pretty excited to find a young-adult novel written by Coben and knew that I had to read it.

    Shelter's main character is someone that is introduced in another series written by Coben. I had never read the other series before, but it didn't make any difference at all. The Mickey Bolitar novels can be read completely separate from the Myron Bolitar novels and the reader won't be missing out on anything. If anything, reading Shelter may have sparked my interest to read the Myron Bolitar novels at a later date and time.

    I feel like Shelter was a really good introduction into a new series. You're introduced to some really awesome characters and I can't wait to see how they evolve as the series continues. I feel like Coben has a knack for writing a story that sucks the reader in. The book is a quick read and I was a little sad that it ended. I'm definitely looking forward to reading the next book in the series, Seconds Away, and finding out what happens next.

    Overall, I'm really glad I picked up another Harlan Coben book. It wasn't a letdown and I'm sure the next one won't be either.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Great - as all his books are

    Love Mr. Coben's books and even though this series is directed at teens, I still thoroughly enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    Recommended

    A little far-fetched, but a fun read. I will read more in this series if they are written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    Started this on audio and I had to get the book so that I could

    Started this on audio and I had to get the book so that I could read it
    faster. I loved the fast pace and how you just wanted to know more and
    more about how everyone was connected. I am so ready for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Amazing boom

    I really liked this book! It keot me engaged, and wanted me to keep reading until the end. It had a lot of twists & turns which i really like. It also had a varity of genres (mystery, historical fiction, abd adventure). This book is a must read book!!! You wont regret reading it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Quickstar

    Oh and people tell ME death isnt the solution. Sheesh.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3