Customer Reviews for

Shelter (Blood Haze: Book One): A Paranormal Vampire Romance

Average Rating 4
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Very Entertaining

There is something about vampires that is so thrilling, it's no coincidence that the majority of the newer Young Adult books have embraced them to the degree they have. This book, the first in a series, is one of the many that provide an entertaining view into the vampi...
There is something about vampires that is so thrilling, it's no coincidence that the majority of the newer Young Adult books have embraced them to the degree they have. This book, the first in a series, is one of the many that provide an entertaining view into the vampire's relationship with humans in an urban setting.
The story itself is interesting, with various aspects that are new to the vampire genre, changing things up a little from the usual solely-blood-drinkers and night-time-loving bunch. The plot was fast paced and amusing, never allowing the reader to grow bored. Some aspects of the story seem a tad forced, like the two main characters falling so irrevocably and quickly in love. But, it worked for Twilight, so who's to say it doesn't work here?
The characters are really what make the book different. Alice is fun and someone with a strong core, not a whimpering female, which is refreshing. Kai also breaks away from the typical male character. He is vulnerable and weak, yet oddly charming in his way. Max on the other hand, is what we expect, rugged, strong, possessive. A well balanced triangle. Some of their actions, however, are a bit jarring. One moment any two of them are fighting and the next everything is forgiven. I think their reactions sometimes are a bit exaggerated, but it doesn't interfere much with the story itself, just with the believability of them as characters.
All in all, this is a fun beginning to what I'm sure will be an engrossing series. If you like paranormal romances, or just a good, easy read, then this book is perfect for you.

posted by Valca85 on May 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Awful

If you like toread about someone in an emotionally abusive and manipulative relationship and have it played off as "true love" or "romance", this is the book for you. If you're like most people I know who think suicide threats, anger managment issues and a complete lack...
If you like toread about someone in an emotionally abusive and manipulative relationship and have it played off as "true love" or "romance", this is the book for you. If you're like most people I know who think suicide threats, anger managment issues and a complete lack of emotional control aren't the healthiest things to bring into a relationship and not what you should be basing on being romantically involved with someone are... then don't read this book.

posted by Enonocchi on December 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Very Entertaining

    There is something about vampires that is so thrilling, it's no coincidence that the majority of the newer Young Adult books have embraced them to the degree they have. This book, the first in a series, is one of the many that provide an entertaining view into the vampire's relationship with humans in an urban setting.
    The story itself is interesting, with various aspects that are new to the vampire genre, changing things up a little from the usual solely-blood-drinkers and night-time-loving bunch. The plot was fast paced and amusing, never allowing the reader to grow bored. Some aspects of the story seem a tad forced, like the two main characters falling so irrevocably and quickly in love. But, it worked for Twilight, so who's to say it doesn't work here?
    The characters are really what make the book different. Alice is fun and someone with a strong core, not a whimpering female, which is refreshing. Kai also breaks away from the typical male character. He is vulnerable and weak, yet oddly charming in his way. Max on the other hand, is what we expect, rugged, strong, possessive. A well balanced triangle. Some of their actions, however, are a bit jarring. One moment any two of them are fighting and the next everything is forgiven. I think their reactions sometimes are a bit exaggerated, but it doesn't interfere much with the story itself, just with the believability of them as characters.
    All in all, this is a fun beginning to what I'm sure will be an engrossing series. If you like paranormal romances, or just a good, easy read, then this book is perfect for you.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Blood Haze: Shelter

    If you are a person who enjoys action, romance, and life threatening situations... read this. But you'd better really like romance. It's the major minor (yes i know that is extremely contrasting but whatever) conflict of the book. There really would be no plot without the romance, unfortunately. I will admit, i usually hate romance in novels but this was actually interesting. The book is told in in third limited, so you do get a lot of emotional conflicts from alice. Expect the completely unexpected and lots of slightly annoying drama. I will warn you that there is some language throughout the book... not to my pleasure. Last thing: it ends in a huge cliffhanger! Overall, not a bad read. Recommed for 13 and up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    Vook review

    The idea for the book is good but its been used up and its a little too predictable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND JMM44

    I read this once before but forgot how compelling it is! Yes it's about vampires but seems to have much more substance than most! I hope you like it too!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Kai is supposed to be wimpy!

    I already reviewed this book but I feel I would be doing a great injustice to future readers of Shelter if I didn't post this extra one concerning Kai. Anyway, to all of you who keep persistently saying what a wimp Kai is and how annoying he is: OF COURSE HE'S A WIMP. HE IS SUPPOSED TO BE WEAK AND CLINGY AND ANNOYING. And wimpy, of course. It's part of his character. He has extreme mega trust issues and with the way his life was before it really isn't too surprising. That's what makes the story the unique story it was. It gives it flavor and really if Kai was as macho and strong and rugged as.Max is I don't believe the story would be as nearly as interesting as it is.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    OMFG

    OH my goodness wat dat cliffhanger do dou? Ugggh i realy hate it..... Kai even though you are a wussy i dont want you to die nd the author should make jamie and will to fall inlove ugggh we all know she needs loving tooo

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    This story is more for teenies...

    I did try to get into it but it's too much like some of my nieces 'stories', it's got too much "mushy" stuff and too melodramatic; girl meets a guy and instantly falls in love, girl meets another guy and instantly falls in love, guys find out about each other and get jealous, etcetera, etcetera.

    This, and a few other things, is why I gave this book only 4 stars. It ought to say, somewhere, that it is written with teens in mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Great!

    Here and there were some grammar mistakes. I just wish that when Kai got hit by his mum that she would have done something 2 help him...i mean she is a vampire after all. Overall it was great!! Could have been more complex though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Though there is a love triangle it not your average Twilight Story

    I believe that this book is a very interesting book for those who like vampire love stories. It a tad bit too mushy for my taste but over all a good 2hr read and the plot keeps you hooked. I hope you enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Great read

    Very good story. Can't wait to read book two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Great find among the many Freebies...

    overall shelter was a decent read, not to many errors. it was easy to fall into scene while reading which made for a fast read! Def. would recommend to a young adult!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    VAMPIRE LOVE TRIANGLE!

    I didnt like how Kai was always leaving her at the first sign of her losing interest him.
    I was like woww, I ean tjey would make a good couple if hwasnt such a baby all the timee.
    I cant wait for the sequels!!!! <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Look forward to the sequels!

    Shelter, as a whole, did win me over with its engaging storyline, even though some of the character's personas made me cringe and irritated. Some aspects in the story work for me, some didn't. Nonetheless, I am still hungry for more drama and action and really looked forward to reading the next books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2