BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Shelter Me

Average Rating 4.5
( 181 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(117)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

You Must Read This Book

It's been quite awhile since a book has captivated and stayed with me long after I finished it. Everyone will find someone or somthing to relate to in "Shelter Me." It will spark interesting contemplation and conversation about the meaning of true love, family, spirit...
It's been quite awhile since a book has captivated and stayed with me long after I finished it. Everyone will find someone or somthing to relate to in "Shelter Me." It will spark interesting contemplation and conversation about the meaning of true love, family, spirituality, forgiveness and fate. I am jeolous that you get to read this book for the first time. Don't miss this very precious opportunity. I give it my highest rating.

posted by MeganL on December 19, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Just OK

This was a good read; however, it was predictable. I was hoping for more after reading so many of the raving reviews.

posted by 434988 on April 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    I will recommend this book to others.

    It is hard to believe that this is the author's first book! The characters quickly became real to me as I became involved in Janie's situation. It was interesting to see her life changing as she slowly emerged from the despair of her husband's death. There were several good lessons to be found in this book. Realistically, there was no real conclusion and I was left wondering and caring about what happened beyond the last page.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2009

    It was a great book!

    I really enjoyed Janie's story. It was touching and felt real. I read it as part of my book club and Juliette Fay called in and spoke with our group. She was a lot of fun to talk with and shared some thoughts on her new book that I'm looking forward to reading. I did make the 'pology cake for our book club and would not recommend the recipe, but would highly recommend the book!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    Healing the pain of loss

    I found this book to be a very enjoyable, touching book. Loved the son,with his sippy cup, the swimming goggles, the neighbor, the priest...a well rounded novel. I found it very entertaining and not predictable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Good Read

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was an easy, fast read and I found I wanted to pick it up to get back into the lives of these characters. There were some times when I laughed aloud and several times it made me cry. I really felt for this character and her plight. I recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2008

    A good story, well told.

    Fay had me laughing, crying, feeling sad, and sensing hope throughout this novel; despite the sad, desperate condition of the main character, Janie, whose life has fallen apart after losing her beloved husband in an accident. Fay's writing is clever, detailed, and entertaining. Shelter Me is a good story, well told.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    Great book!!

    Great book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Shockfang

    A yellow she padded in. "Hi, I saw the ad... Can I be a leader?"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    A good read

    A good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    A sensitive and well written book.

    Very much enjoyed the characters and story line. I thought the characters were well portrayed and the story itself took some turns and twists with a little unpredictability.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Great book!

    Loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Great story on grief and the healing process

    Read this while grieving and it helped me to see grief from others' perspectives as well as gave insights to my own. Fictionalized but not sappy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Just what I needed

    Loved this book. Going through my own sorrow, I could fully relate. The anger towards everyone and everything, the energy it takes to do even necessary tasks. During different parts I was angry, smiling, and even crying.

    I read another review that said the characters were not fully developed and the reviewer had no emotional connection; I am glad because I think you would only understand if you had experienced a great loss in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    A touching book with a feel good ending

    This book was raw and real and beautifully written. It is the story of a mother and her two young children and their lives together after the husband/dad's death. The story drew me in from the beginning and held my interest until the very end. I can't wait to read the next book by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great read - kept me hooked

    before this book I was reading an extremely dry and boring book. I wanted something that would hold my attention. This book definitely did. I absolutely love books that make you feel like you're actually there with the characters rather than sitting in an audience reading about the characters. The way Fay wrote about Janie's emotions really made the reader actually feel the pain Janie was going through and the happiness that followed.

    I loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    From anger to apology to love of those who care for her.

    Janie is angry; her husband was killed in a bicycle accident leaving her with two small children. She lashes out at the folks who try to help her. They all keep trying and eventually she finds herself. A good first novel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Pretty Good Book

    My friend recommended this book to me, and it was a pretty good read. Death is always hard to put down on paper, because it's such a complex emotion and a hard situation to find yourself in. Overall I thought that Juliette Fay did a good job showing how someone who has had a death deals with it, and the way that life can surprise you. The characters are wonderful, but I did feel like the plot wasn't as great as I would have liked, because it seemed like she skimmed the surface trying to get in all that she wanted. I would still recommend this book if you want a good read though, because overall it was a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    A quick read. . .characters are very believable . . .story is sad, funny, romantic

    When I read a story I want to be transported into someone else' life. This story does that. I traveled through the many stages of grief with sadness and humor. Although I believed I knew how it would end, the romantic in me could not put it down. It is a great book for book clubs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    A good rainy day or travel book

    Hard to put down once you start. The characters are not too sappy, more realistic. Great escape reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2