Customer Reviews for

Shelter Mountain (Virgin River Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 161 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(108)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't put it down !!!

This was another great book to the series ! Preacher is every girls dream. I liked how the other characters in the book were still kept involved and not forgotten . One of her best !!!

posted by Frita on June 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

did not like

Not as good as originally sounded when read story line for book. I have a hang up on image in my head of men with no hair. The main character is bald and it ruined the image described for me and I lost interest in the book. My bad. Probably is a good book but I have not...
Not as good as originally sounded when read story line for book. I have a hang up on image in my head of men with no hair. The main character is bald and it ruined the image described for me and I lost interest in the book. My bad. Probably is a good book but I have not tried to read any further than maybe first chapter. I ordered it online so I wasn't able to read first few pages to discover the description on my own before buying.
I would recommend buying paperbacks at the store so you can at least read into the first few pages to get a feel of the story line instead of relying on the synopsis computer has given. I think from now on I will only buy books that I have researched via other sources so I am not disappointed again when ordering online.

posted by gypsywillow on August 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2009

    Couldn't put it down !!!

    This was another great book to the series ! Preacher is every girls dream. I liked how the other characters in the book were still kept involved and not forgotten . One of her best !!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2009

    Good Reading

    I just recently discovered Robyn Carr in the 2nd Virgin River series. I like her characters and setting for this series. I have made an effort to get the other books she has written.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic Book

    Every book in the Virgin River series by Robyn Carr leaves you anxiously awaiting the next. I've read them all without one moment of disappointment.
    Shelter Mountain is the story of Paige and Preacher who find each other after Paige escapes an abusive marriage and Preacher comes home from Iraq and is cooking at the little bar in Virgin River. Their relationship slowly evolves into such a wonderful love story that is full of twists and turns along the way. It is so heartwarming, sexy, funny, moving and totally absorbing like all of the other Virgin River books.
    I love the way the characters from the previous books are woven into the following books so that they continue to grow and you are kept up on what is going on with them.
    New characters in this book are introduced who will leave you dying to know more about them. I read these books so quickly because I can't seem to put them down.
    The way Preacher protects Paige and gives her shelter from her horrible previous life is every girl's dream. Their awakening sexual attraction is sexy and romantic and Preacher loves Paige's little boy just as though he were his own.
    Don't miss this book or any other in the series, I have given the entire series as gifts and everyone has more than loved them.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    Loved it!

    Seriously could not put this book down. Great story

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    Love is so sweet when the tall silent type falls

    This book is so good! Preacher is stern, silent, alone & not happy. Till Paige wanders in to the bar, beaten & broken & starving. All she needs to do is survive one more night & protect her precious son. Boom...Preacher's hooked & love wins again.

    This author has whatever it is that makes a great story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Described the story well.

    I enjoyed the book a great deal. I have read many of Robyn Carr's books - this was one of the better ones!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    Robyn Carr creates wonderful reading!

    Excellent story line; all in the series are captivating and kept the reader interested throughout the experience. Not only is the series an exciting and spellbinding group of books; but these books stand well on their own. Each character pulls the reader in and yet each character also adds to every other character in the series. Can't wait for more from this author.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Heart warming and life affirming!!

    I enjoyed all the characters and the story line. It was easy to fall into the whole experience and believe these people do exist. I could relate to all, even those that I have no real knowledge of. So far every book of Ms Carr's has been wonderful

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    Shelter Mountain

    Robyn Carr writes so perfectly that you envision the characters & the settings like you are really there

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    did not like

    Not as good as originally sounded when read story line for book. I have a hang up on image in my head of men with no hair. The main character is bald and it ruined the image described for me and I lost interest in the book. My bad. Probably is a good book but I have not tried to read any further than maybe first chapter. I ordered it online so I wasn't able to read first few pages to discover the description on my own before buying.
    I would recommend buying paperbacks at the store so you can at least read into the first few pages to get a feel of the story line instead of relying on the synopsis computer has given. I think from now on I will only buy books that I have researched via other sources so I am not disappointed again when ordering online.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    5 Stars is not enough! Fantastic!

    After completing Virgin River, I immediately opened this second book. There was no wait or downtime. I couldn't get enough of the town, the people or the stories that are so well intertwined to make a great book. Preacher, I think is my favorite Virgin River resident. His devotion to Paige and Christopher never faltered and was immediate. I loved how the other stories from the first book also continue, grow and progress like the birth of Jack and Mel's baby. What a great event that was! I was as nervous for Jack as Jack was. And I laughed at Mel's flippant responses during labor! And the continuing story of Rick and Liz was something so touching and not what I expected. I cried with them. The final showdown with Paige's ex was also not what I expected. Can't wait to see if I've figured Dan out...glad he has a name now. And, once I finished this book, I immediately opened number 3. Robyn Carr has me hooked.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2008

    Great for reading by the fier place

    I loved this secound book it allowed you to be more apart of the little virgin river town.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2008

    a great follow-up to Virgin River

    The men in this series are amazing. I was so glad to find out what happened to Jack & Mel. And Preacher is such a big, strong dreamboat. This book was wonderful and very emotional. I do hope Ms. Carr will write Rick's story someday.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    OMG!! best book ever!!! Must Read! I read book #2 so I then got

    OMG!! best book ever!!! Must Read! I read book #2 so I then got book #1 in the Virgin Series. To date I have read all the Virgin Series books!! Love this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Robyn carr

    Great read I need to know #8in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    This book like all her Virgin River books pulls you into the sto

    This book like all her Virgin River books pulls you into the story so you forget that you don't live in Virgin River. I love all the characters but I have a soft spot for Preacher, he is big and awkward but super sweet and protective to no end. I couldn't put this book down. I highly recommend this book and series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Whiteleaf

    Ok. Be there in a sec. 1930 EST

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Aspenflame

    Cn i join

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Frozenpath

    He padded in "Bramblebreath!" He called

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Silverstorm

    Pads in. May I talk to your leader please.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9