Customer Reviews for

Shelter Mountain (Virgin River Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 161 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(108)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't put it down !!!

This was another great book to the series ! Preacher is every girls dream. I liked how the other characters in the book were still kept involved and not forgotten . One of her best !!!

posted by Frita on June 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

did not like

Not as good as originally sounded when read story line for book. I have a hang up on image in my head of men with no hair. The main character is bald and it ruined the image described for me and I lost interest in the book. My bad. Probably is a good book but I have not...
Not as good as originally sounded when read story line for book. I have a hang up on image in my head of men with no hair. The main character is bald and it ruined the image described for me and I lost interest in the book. My bad. Probably is a good book but I have not tried to read any further than maybe first chapter. I ordered it online so I wasn't able to read first few pages to discover the description on my own before buying.
I would recommend buying paperbacks at the store so you can at least read into the first few pages to get a feel of the story line instead of relying on the synopsis computer has given. I think from now on I will only buy books that I have researched via other sources so I am not disappointed again when ordering online.

posted by gypsywillow on August 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Described the story well.

    I enjoyed the book a great deal. I have read many of Robyn Carr's books - this was one of the better ones!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2008

    a great follow-up to Virgin River

    The men in this series are amazing. I was so glad to find out what happened to Jack & Mel. And Preacher is such a big, strong dreamboat. This book was wonderful and very emotional. I do hope Ms. Carr will write Rick's story someday.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Robyn carr

    Great read I need to know #8in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Powerful loveĀ  This is a great book but it is heartbreaking and

    Powerful love 

    This is a great book but it is heartbreaking and real. There is no escape for the pain of living here. There are topics that hurt. It is very good
     but more women's fiction that romance. Yes, there is an HEA but lots of time is spent on other characters too. Its good, very good, but
    made me very sad as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    ---Storm's Friend List---

    Fang, Xavier, Luna, Sebastian, France, Ryan, Canada, Logan, Batu, Wolf, Cain, Dakor, Calla, Tobias, Orthis, Candace, Commander Cloud, Tag, Gale, Darkness, Grim, Conn, Drake, Caine, David, Lilli, M.J, Ebony, Demise, Caledarin, Marceline, Jag, Silence, Kate, Natasha, Chris, Dani, Red, Ender, Will, Cyrus, Silena, Nxon, Miko, September, Bree, and a few others......... xP

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    highly recommended

    Robyn Carr keeps you spellbound throughout the whole book. It was hard to put the book down until I was done. Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Shelter Mountain by Robyn Carr is a poignant tale that will leave a tear in your eye and a warm glow in your heart.

    Shelter Mountain by Robyn Carr is a poignant tale that will leave a tear in your eye and a warm glow in your heart.

    Shelter Mountain was a touching story about a woman trying to get away with her son from an abusive husband and finding love in the most unexpected place at the most unexpected time.
    Paige was a very strong character even though she did not believe so. I really felt for both her and her son Christopher (who is one of the cutest kids ever). Paige went through so much hurt in her life and she was still able to believe that there might be a chance of happiness for her and Christopher.
    John aka Preacher is a former marine and never had time for much romance in his life. That was until Paige Lassiter came into his bar. I loved Preacher the most because he was such a kind and loving man. You wouldn't know it by looking at this giant of a man, but he is extremely patient and skilled with his hands (very sexy). He takes Paige and her son in and does everything he can to help them and eventually he falls in love with his new charges.
    The only real problem I had with this story is that it didn't focus on the starring couple as much as I would have liked. It was constantly switching to different characters points of view and I really wished the author would have focused a bit more on the main characters.
    If you are looking for a heartwarming contemporary romance I highly recommend "Shelter Mountain" by Robyn Carr.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    Love this author

    Robyn Carr tells such wonderful warm hearted stories.
    There is always a bit of drama, there are characters to fall in love with, and of course romance.

    I love to read stories by Robyn because they leave me feeling better about myself and humanity.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2