BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Shelter of God's Promises

Average Rating 5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    She Doesn't Disappoint.

    "Yet I have watched in silent awe as women like Angie and others have learned to walk with this wound in a way that brings such glory to Christ." - Sheila Walsh

    Sheila Walsh has never disappointed me. Her writings cut like a cleaver to the heart of a matter, and yet she does so with humor and steadfast love. This time she cuts through the question, "Why do bad things happen if God is all-powerful and holy?" by examining His promises.

    "This is part of a test, scripture tells us. Jesus sends us out to stand on God's promises and retreat with Him when we're discouraged-but then go back out again. Will we believe in what He promises to do through thick and thin, dinner or no dinner?"

    Walsh examines biblical people who struggled in much the same ways as we struggle in our day-to-day. Her book digs deeply into scripture, examining the Greek, pulling from other sources, and showing us that God loves us too much to break His promises. He loves us in spite of our choices.

    "My new friend in the park had become someone unrecognizable even to himself, isolated and avoided. He lived in a place of unrest, lonliness, and self-loathing. Do you know a place like this?"

    In later chapters, Walsh talks about the woman at the well, "It was a divine neccessity and command that Jesus had to take (the road to Samaria)-there was a woman who needed to know that her life mattered." There are many quotable portions of the book and it loathes me not to post them all. She includes a Bible Study in the rear of the book. The Shelter of God's Promises is full of the scripture, personal stories, love and humor that her fan base has come to know and love.

    "You are loved just the same on the days when you feel you've done a good job as on the days when you know that you have blown it."
    Book provided by the publisher

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful encouraging book!

    I have finished listening to The Shelter of God's Promises by Sheila Walsh. I had read some reviews by other bloggers of this book and was excited to find it available to me to review through christianaudio last month. When we went to a Women of Faith conference a couple years ago, I enjoyed listening to speaker Sheila Walsh and looked forward to listening to her book.

    The best word I can think of to describe this book is encouraging. In a world of such bleakness and negativity, this is a wonderful book to encourage the reader of the promises we have from God. How the author presents the material is what makes it so encouraging I think. She chooses a different promise focus for each chapter. She chose stories as well as a familiar Biblical example to illustrate each promise. I really liked seeing the Biblical examples in a new light.

    This book is read by the author, which provides a special touch in my opinion. It is read with such real emotion which gives the text more meaning and makes you feel like she wants you to grasp and truly understand what she is telling you.

    Thank you to the christianaudio Reviewers Program for providing this audio book to me for my honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    The Shelter of God

    Where do you find comfort? Where do you feel safe? In "The Shelter of God's Promises" by Sheila Walsh, one is pointed to a never-changing hope. Hope not manufactured by man, but by God. Sheila explains that even in difficult times we can rely on God's steadfast promises. The book does not merely sidestep the amount of pain we feel as we go through such situations, but rather highlights them as perfect opportunities to trust God. The author does a wonderful job of entertaining the reader with stories and support without sacrificing substance and truth. It really is a wonderful read, no matter what you are facing in life. It is a beautiful book meant to inspire you to remember core promises and words of God!

    I was given this book by booksneeze. I am not one to highly rate a bad book, but in cases such as these am completely content in giving praise where due. Thank the Lord for people like Sheila!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    Excellent Book - The Shelter of God's Promises

    Although I am aware of the promises God has given us, it is nice to renew those. Sheila Walsh's book 'The Shelter of God's Promises' was a book that I did not want to put down. This book brought back more confidence, joy and continued hope of God's promises to me (us). She writes about personal testimony and backing it up with scipture to help understand more. Although we know the Bible and read it, having it relate in a different way makes you stop and relate. Just like Jesus did by putting the understanding into parables. Reading this book was spelled out clearly to understand the ten promises Sheila points out in the book. I have to admit, she chose the best promises for the NOW that we are living in. I felt such comfort reading this book and the renewed feeling that God watches out for me; not that I did not think He did, but we all need to be renewed to get our heart pumping again. This would be a great book for small Bible study groups as the chapters are sectioned off to provide more group discussions. For myself, I enjoyed the chapters sectioned off as it made me stop a bit and relate it somewhere in my life to grow more. At the end of the book, includes a free in-depth Bible study. I highly recommend reading this book.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from BookSneeze as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Inspirational Book For Boosting Your Faith

    This is a wonderful book, very well written. The author has a very well developed sensibility to put in words what she is feeling, and at the same time involving the reader in her powerful words, through personal examples. The choice of the photo for the cover was simply perfect. The book itself is divided in ten chapters, trying to cover the most important promises made by God to His people.
    She covers the promise of a promise (I need something to hold on to), of provision (I don't have enough), peace (I'm afraid and feel alone, confidence (I can't see God's plan in this pain), love (I don't believe that anyone could really love me), grace (I have failed), hope (I'm broken), strength (I feel things are crashing around me), more (I know there's something better) and home (I have a future).
    In order for the reader to get really involved, there is a Bible Study at the end of the book, with questions for each Chapter, divided in sections like Discover, Believe, Live and finally a verse from the scriptures that you should memorize, all very well related to the Chapter in discussion. Definetely this is a wonderful piece of work by Mrs. Sheila Walsh.
    This book was written by Sheila Walsh and it was published by Thomas Nelson in 2011 and they were kind enough to send me a copy for reviewing through their Thomas Nelson Book Review Bloggers Program.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    Wonderfully encouraging book!

    Have you ever lived a dark time when you wondered if God had abandoned you? Have you ever felt such despair that you didn't know if you could ever find your way out? If you have experienced or are experiencing these feelings, this is a must read book for you. Sheila Walsh asks and answers the question, "Where do you turn for shelter in the worst storms of life?" The Shelter of God's Promises consists of 10 chapters with wonderful titles such as: Peace, Confidence, Love, Hope and Strength. Sheila looks at Scripture through fresh eyes, seeking answers on how God provides for us when we are most vulnerable. Sheila weaves her own poignant life stories through the powerful stories found in Scripture, touching on some painful and beautiful moments she has experienced. One of the things that struck a chord with me was when Sheila was sharing about spending time with her mother-in-law, Eleanor, during her final days here on earth. Eleanor was wondering if she had been good enough for God and Sheila wisely told her, "You are loved just the same on the days when you feel you've done a good job as on the days when you know that you have blown it". How many of us need to hear that message? I know I do! This is a touching, wise. hope-filled and encouraging book. I took several pages of notes while I was reading. An added bonus to The Shelter of God's Promises is a six-week Bible study that invites you to dig deeper into the Scriptures and promises Sheila highlighted within. I am thankful that Book Sneeze and Thomas Nelson Publishing provided me with a complimentary copy to review. I was blessed reading it and I am sure you will be to.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    A beautiful illustration and reminder of God's Promises and Love

    In this beautifully flowing book, Sheila Walsh paints a picture of God's unfailing, un-ending, unconditional love for us through her words, thoughts, anecdotes, stories, biblical references and scholarly quotes. Each chapter is broken down into short sections all contributing and flowing into the overall thought for the chapter, such as Promises. Well written and easy to read, whether in a complete chapter all at once, or in short sections throughout the day or even week, this book offers a lot of food for thought and contemplation.

    Offering insight on ten different topics under the umbrella of God's promises and the shelter and protection they provide, Walsh offers hope, joy, learning and confidence in walking daily with Christ. I found this book difficult to put down and also found myself really reflecting upon my own life in terms of each of the ten topics, finding times where each promise was indeed visible in my experiences. Written in a way that softly and gently reminds one of God's love and promises through some of life's most difficult times, the author brings in bible characters and their stories of struggle to illustrate His timeless promises.

    I would consider this book worthy of a small group study material as well as individual reading and reflection. Well worth the read, you'll find yourself at peace and understanding a little more deeply Christ's love for his children.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze . com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Starclans camp

    If youre dead join here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    Amazing author

    I love everything that Sheila writes. She shares her heart in all her books and she helps us all see the love that God has for us. I am grateful for her insights.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Reminder of God's Promises to Us

    I received this book to review from Book Sneeze. I was extremely impressed with the style of the book and the ease of reading. It was a great reminder of all of the promises that one knows God has in store for us, but sometimes forget along the everyday struggles. I would highly recommend this book to anyone and certainly feel that it helped me to remember and not take for granted all the promises that are offered to me for today and everyday in my life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    I received this book several months ago from BookSneeze to review for my blog.

    Like so many other Sheila Walsh books I've read in the past, this one was fabulous! Mrs. Walsh has such a talent for story telling and applying Biblical truth. In this book, she shares story after story from her life where challenges about fear, self-confidence and strength arose. And then she turns around & points the reader to Scripture and applies her situation to a Biblical story & shines the light on her situation, thus encouraging her readers.

    My favorite part of this book is that it includes a Bible study at the end. Readers can take part in the study on their own or they can join with others to create a group study.

    I would definitely recommend this book to other women.

    I am so very excited to finish this book just a few weeks shy of Mrs. Walsh's visit to my hometown next month! I am going to take the book with me & see if she will autograph it! Such a beautiful woman, inside & out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    Great Book with Great Truths!

    "The Shelter of God's Promises" written by Shelia Walsh provides much hope for those who feel like God may have abandoned them or forgotten to do what He says He will do. That's just it our God does what He says He will do. Walsh writes, "God's promises are as dependable as He is. Because they are Him." We may often feel like God owes us something, when in reality that is more of what our culture has instilled in us. "Culture has driven us to think of promises as a personal fulfillment, when God's promises are not about us, but about Him and being saved by Him. God's promises are an expression of His holiness." We are ultimately called to make much of Him as we watch Him fulfill promise after promise just as He did in the beginning with Adam and Eve. Because of their disobedience and now separation from God, God promised them way to make things right once again. This was the promise of His Son...Isaiah 53 tells us what was to come....Jesus' death and resurrection.

    Seeing promises fulfilled may not always on our time; but they are in His perfect timing. Walsh offers great insight into how we can embrace God's promises that offer peace, confidence, love, grace, hope and strength. Each chapter is written with captivating stories that share personal testimonies of how God's promises can be seen every day...whether it is a good day or a bad day. I was encouraged to live free in the knowledge that it is God's desire for me to transformed in the way that I think and live...and to understand that He is always a promise keeper!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    Nothing New

    I have read ALOT of books on the promises of God. And it's always interesting to see how different authors approach the same topic. However, with this book in particular, I had to force myself to get through a chapter. I just could not connect with her style of writing. Not to mention she didn't add anything different to what other countless authors have written on what God can do for us and who are in Him. Etc. So it was hard to get through. Aside from that, when I reached the last chapter, she wrote about John the Baptist and that had my undivided attention. Using that story as an example of how God doesn't always answer yet we need to love Him no matter what was probably the best part out of the whole book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    Great for reading and study

    Sheila lays out the promised of God in an easy to understand and extremely relatable way. Telling stories that have happened in her life to relay what God's promises can do. She touches on subjects of love, grace and hope while revealing promises in these areas.

    Sheila has packaged a very useful and uplifting message into this book. She is always reminding us how special we are to God and how He only wants the best for us and His promises reflect that. Claim them for yourself.

    As a bonus there is an in depth bible study in the back of the book relating to each chapter. With sections titled: Discover, Believe and Live she directs you to dive deeper into God's word and answer questions with deep personal introspection. A great resource for individual or intimate group study.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    Promised Good Read

    BookSneeze sent me a complimentary copy of Shelia Walsh's new book The Shelter of God's Promises on behalf of Thomas Nelson Publishing. Every person has ups and downs in life, but Christians have the promises of God to hold on to during the storms. Walsh uses personal anecdotes and biblical examples of resting in the arms of God. In 10 chapters she brings to light the promises, such as peace, confidence, grace and strength, that we can rest in as we endure the valleys of life. At the end of the book is a corresponding Bible study for those that want an in-depth look at each promise.

    I have enjoyed reading a couple of her other books in the past. The Shelter of God's Promises is my favorite thus far. Walsh writes with a smooth style and what really comes across to me is her intelligence and knowledge of the material. Not every one is able to apply biblical principles in everyday life in a fresh manner. She likens resting in His promises as finding shelter in a cleft of a rock. No matter the pounding ferocity of the storm, there is a peace we can find in the shelter. We can stand sure in God's love and grace.

    Each chapter is great for a rather quick sitting or a bedtime read. Walsh conveys her love for God in every word. I found myself reflecting a lot on how God has answered my prayers and fulfilled many promises in my life. Though I am an avid reader not every book I read touches me so tenderly. When I do find a book such as The Shelter of God's Promises I make sure to peruse it's pages over and over to treasure the words deeply.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome resource

    In times of trouble and need, all we can really hold on to is God's faithfulness. We know He is faithful because He always keeps His promises, though sometimes not in the way or at the time we expected. But we know the promises He has given us because they are written down and recorded in His Word.

    Easy to read and relatively short, this is a powerful book that will change your perspective of God's faithfulness, and strengthen your faith in His plan for your life. We all need some encouragement during the low points of our lives and this book will be an excellent resource to reach for whenever you find yourself in that draining pit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    Very encouraging - highly recommend

    "Even in the eye of the storm, we our hearts to remember that no matter how hard life gets, we win!" (p. 147).

    I requested this book for my wife. She has been immensely blessed by Sheila Walsh, and I thought she'd enjoy this book.

    I choose to read it first, mainly so I could complete my review of the book. I was very impressed and very blessed by it. It wasn't what I expected; I'm not sure what I did expect, but this wasn't it.

    Walsh takes broad promises and applies them to our lives as believers. Many of the promises are eternal with temporal implications, but the promises are laid out such that they remind of a greater hope than the temporal of this world.

    The book seems to be written to women, which would make sense, given Walsh's ministry is aimed at women. That said, I was very blessed and encouraged by this book.

    I strongly recommend The Shelter of God's Promises.

    "Christ's promise to us is not that He will give us shelter, but that He will be our Shelter (p.183)."

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze[dot]com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Where to turn for Shelter in the Storm

    In a world of uncertainty, pain, and struggle, where do you find solid assurance and unshakeable truth? Gifted Bible teacher and inspiring Women of Faith speaker Sheila Walsh offers powerful, heart-filled teaching on ten bedrock promises of God, providing the foundation for daily confidence, joy, and hope.
    When I read this opening it was easy to choose to read this book. This book did not disappoint, it was all I expected and more.

    Sheila Walsh searches Scripture for what God has promised, what those promises mean, and how encounters with Christ fulfill His unwavering commitment to us. In these pages Walsh shares some of the Bible's most compelling stories, and unveils ten foundational promises of God. Walsh uses personal experience with meaningful biblical insight to inspire readers to trust in God and His promise to sustain them for a lifetime.
    In The Shelter of God's Promises, you will find the comfort you need. You will find the faith that never fails and the strength to carry on in difficult situations through the promise of God's presence.
    In the chapter on the Promise of Strength there is this thought that I connected to: No matter what circumstances pull the carpet out from underneath us, I found, like millions before me who have walked this path of faith, that God will use the darkest of nights to let us know that He is there, that He upholds us.
    I agree with Walsh's conclusion: the promises of God are fulfilled in Christ to not only offer us shelter but that He is the shelter.
    This would be a perfect book to pursue further study on God's promises and to find your own promises God has for you. This book includes an in-depth bible study and a study guide is available for purchase.
    This book may be short but is full of truth and reads like a letter from a precious friend who needs to share her heart. I fully recommend this book.
    Per the recent FTC ruling, I am required to inform you that I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson as part of their Booksneeze Blogger program in return for my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    Wisdom, wit, wonderful!

    I finished reading The Shelter of God's Promises by Sheila Walsh this week and it was definitely a 'God moment' kind of book. I'd been taking the reading kind of slow, even though it's a very easy read and now I know why. I got to the chapter about 'Strength' and read it on the anniversary of the death of a very dear friend. He left behind his wife of only two years and 3 children, two from previous relationships and their little girl. I'd been feeling very sad and depressed, and really empathizing with how she was feeling, and then I read this particular chapter. WOW, talk about an eye opener. All through the book Sheila addresses a 'promise' scripture and lays it out for you. The point is that our lives as Christians aren't supposed to be all pretty and perfect. We will face difficulties and pain and suffering along with everyone else, this is in effect, the curse of being human. However, we have God, who has given us the hope of eternity with Him, and we have the advantage of knowing that in the end, God works everything according to His purposes. This is the 'Shelter of God's Promises' not that we are exempt from the pain of this world, but we are exempt from the uncertainty of relying solely on ourselves. How Amazing is the grace of God!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A wonderful reminder of God's faithfulness

    This is a wonderful book. It's full of honesty and real stories from Sheila's life- no glossing over the hard times or making life look like it's always rosy. In addition to the personal experiences and stories of other Christians, Sheila uses numerous verses from the Bible to keep the focus on what's really important- that even in the tough times, God always keeps His promises and that there is no situation in which we cannot trust Him. Honestly, the end of 2010 and the beginning of 2011 have been challenging for my family, and I needed this reminder that there is purpose and meaning in it all.

    Chapters in the book are simply titled, with titles such as Provision, Love, Hope and Strength, to name a few. Each chapter begins with a Bible verse on the topic and goes on from there. The chapters are not overly long, but there's a lot packed into them! I like that many pages contain a quote from the chapter-in bold, so you can't miss it. So when you need a reminder of God's faithfulness, but don't have time to re-read the whole book or the chapter in question, you can still be encouraged!

    I highly recommend this book for anyone- we all go through tough times and all could use an adjustment of our perspective and a reminder of what's true.

    Disclosure: I received a copy of this book as part of the Booksneeze blogger review program. I was not under any obligation to post a positive review, and I was not compensated in any other way for my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2