Customer Reviews for

The Shelters of Stone (Earth's Children #5)

Average Rating 4
( 605 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(279)

4 Star

(101)

3 Star

(89)

2 Star

(81)

1 Star

(55)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

for incipient anthropologists

I read this for two reasons: I had read the others in the series, was going to order the last one, and the obsessive/compulsive in me needed to read the 5th; and despite the wooden characters and silly plot (what there was of it) and gratuitous sex scenes, I like anthr...
I read this for two reasons: I had read the others in the series, was going to order the last one, and the obsessive/compulsive in me needed to read the 5th; and despite the wooden characters and silly plot (what there was of it) and gratuitous sex scenes, I like anthropological research and detail Auel includes. It beats a dry anthropology text book.

posted by I_read_everything on January 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

KIND OF A LETDOWN

As much as I like the Earth Children's series, I found this book disappointing. It's okay, very well-researched as usual. But the plot didn't move forward and it was repetitive. Everytime somebody explained something, the author repeated her words again and again. There...
As much as I like the Earth Children's series, I found this book disappointing. It's okay, very well-researched as usual. But the plot didn't move forward and it was repetitive. Everytime somebody explained something, the author repeated her words again and again. There are several loose ends. Hopefully, book 6 will be as good as the first ones, especially, number 1 (Clan of Cave Bear), which was superb.

posted by Anonymous on June 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 607 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 31
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2008

    KIND OF A LETDOWN

    As much as I like the Earth Children's series, I found this book disappointing. It's okay, very well-researched as usual. But the plot didn't move forward and it was repetitive. Everytime somebody explained something, the author repeated her words again and again. There are several loose ends. Hopefully, book 6 will be as good as the first ones, especially, number 1 (Clan of Cave Bear), which was superb.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2004

    Shame on Jean Auel!

    Jean Auel must have been paid by the page. She repeated herself so many times I thought maybe I was rereading pages. She must have been under a deadline to get this book in print. Who proofed this book? Did anyone notice after all the talk about introducing the fire stones at the summer meeting, it didn't happen and they were never mentioned again. This book was poorly written and a huge disappointment.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2003

    Repetitive and Boring

    After waiting so long for the 5th book to come out, and reading and re-reading the first four books three times, I was so very disappointed in this installment. It seems like Jean Auel was just trying to fill a whole book when she was short of material by repeating the same stuff over and over again. I was more than halfway through this enormous book when I realized only about 7 days time had elapsed! It was all very predictable and there was none of the emotional conflict of the first four novels. I hope the next one will be more exciting.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2006

    Too long, too repetitive, too boring

    Although I enjoyed Clan of the Cave Bear, I never did get around to reading any of the sequels until this one. I had several problems with this book. One was that is was just too long when about half of it was the same scenes repeated over and over. For example, there must be 20 separate scenes where people are shocked by Ayla¿s pet wolf putting his paws on her shoulders and his teeth on her neck in an affectionate gesture. I mean once or twice, fine, but how many times can I read the same thing? There were also way too many repetitive descriptions of baskets, rocks, topography, flint knapping, the characters¿ formal names, etc. I skimmed through a lot of the book because it was just too tedious to read closely. Another problem (a big problem) was that although Ayla is just 19 years old in this book, the number of activities at which she is supposed to be proficient is ridiculous. In addition to being very well traveled, she is a superb hunter, tanner, healer, and cook. She figured out how to tame animals. She has great people skills. She is very kind, modest, and oh, did I forget to mention beautiful? Well, the book doesn¿t forget to mention it. I think it mentions her stunning beauty every other page. The sex scenes are laughable. They are so clumsily worded that it seems like they were thrown in after the rest of the book was already written. In addition to being more frequent than necessary, each scene is practically identical. The sex scenes add nothing whatsoever to the plot or character development. They are merely there because `sex sells¿. I am willing to suspend disbelief but this book just pushes it past all semblance of reason. If I weren¿t one of those people who can¿t NOT finish a book, I would surely have put this one down.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2005

    Terrible Book

    This book is ok if you want to go into pornography, but as a novel it completely lacks character development and portrays a weak story. It has many sex scenes which are very very intimate. Why are there so many, that's what i want to ask! I'm in high school and they're at my school library, and a girl borrowed The Shelters of Stone once. I found its content shocking. Why would you write about sex so much? i mean a little is ok but this was horrible!!!!!!!!!!! 1 star.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2004

    If I could only finish it....

    I am a great fan of Jean Auel's previous books and have reread them many times. I had anxiously awaited for this book and bought it as soon as it was out of press. And since then I have been trying to read it and have not passed from half of the pages. I find it too repetitive and with a very slow moving plot. It's a pity because there is a wealth of information about prehistoric man in Europe.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2002

    A 12 year wait that ended with a fizzle, not a bang

    Did it really need 12 years for Ms Auel to regurgitate bits from the previous (and better) books of the series? How many times did the characters have to explain how Ayla a) had the animals b) grew up with the Clan c) came to have 'healing' magic. Enough already! More plot, please! Once you take out the tedious and repetitive description of the minutae of Cro-magnon life (like, soaproot - yeah, I get the picture.. in fact, I got the picture way back in 'Clan of the Cavebear', it's really not important enough to bear repeating in each and every single book, with at least 2 to 3 mentions per book!), the story is only focussed on the acceptance of Ayla by a new group of people - something that was handled perfectly in 'The Mammoth Hunters' but overkill in this book. Speaking of overkill, what is Auel trying to do to Ayla? Turn her into the Prehistoric Wonder Woman? Healer, Caller, linguistic prodigy, living memory bank, a latent empath, horse trainer and the first dog domesticator?? With a resume like that, I'm wondering if the 6th book is going to show Ayla to be the founder of Atlantis! Overall, I loved the whole series, I waited so long for this book and it was so disappointing. All I can say is that for book 6, I am so not paying hardcover prices for it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2007

    I expected more...

    I have read the entire series, so far, and more than once. I expected more drama and was disappointed, as it seems, most everyone else was, too. I'm still waiting for the punch line story that follows and wonder if it will ever be written. We all need closure and the need to know where this wonderful character came from and who are HER people, and what happens to her son. And what happens if her children meet each other. Too many questions...not enough answers!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2005

    I have listen to all 5 bookes on C.D. Only 4 of the 5 where excellent.

    I have listened to books 1-4 and is currently listening to book 5. Book 5 is so boaring I can't beleive that it was written by the same author. It is an indepth cooking lesson or a how to novel.I thought there would be more jelosy and backstabing and some sort of betrayal even it was misunderstood.This book would make a good sleeping pill. I am so disapointed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    for incipient anthropologists

    I read this for two reasons: I had read the others in the series, was going to order the last one, and the obsessive/compulsive in me needed to read the 5th; and despite the wooden characters and silly plot (what there was of it) and gratuitous sex scenes, I like anthropological research and detail Auel includes. It beats a dry anthropology text book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    long awaited, deeply disapointing

    glad i only barrowed it from the library - would be sorry to have paid for it. auel obviously was not inspired to write another book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    awesome!

    Wonderful as usual. I do wish the ebook had been more closely edited for errors, but it didnt dampen my enjoyment of the continuing saga of Ayla, Jondalar and the evolution of early man......after all, I will be purchasing a hardcopy for my library anyway!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2010

    tedious and disappointing

    The main characters lacked the depth which has been present in all of the previous novels. The plot was weak, and heavily padded with repetitive references within the story line, as well as situations from previous books that weighed down the story, rather than enhance and develop the plot.

    Select the format of choice carefully. The editing of the nookbook is incredibly poor, with errors on nearly every page.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2004

    glad I didn't buy it in hardcover

    Very disappointing. Characters lack the depth they displayed in earlier books. The book lacked direction. It focused on prehistoric elements of Man and his survival. Would have been useful if I needed to skin, store and prepare an animal.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2004

    Very disapointing

    I have never read a more rambling , babbling , boreing book ever . I gave it up on chapter 15 , getting bored with the death of the hunter Shevonar , which happened in chapter 13 . Checking ahead , they were still dealing with the poor man in chapter 17 . This has taught me to read the Customer Reviews first , as many were quite critical .

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2004

    What a Huge Disappointment !!!!

    I enjoyed every word in the previous books, this time I skipped entire sections! How many pages can one person write about clothes, customs, and caves. I kept reading, hoping something even vaguely reminiscent of the previous adventures would happen...it never did. What a boring read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2002

    Sad to say this was a disappointment

    I waited for 12 years for the sequel to arrive. I loved it, yet I was disappointed. I am amazed that Ms. Auel can put so much effort into writing about interpersonal conflicts when there is no evidence of such things every happening. It would have been much more interesting to read about efforts to make soap with the Zelandoni, weaving cloth with her mother in law, teaching everyone how to dye skins white, going to the ocean to gather salt or making the items Jondalar & Ayla invented on their journey with the rest of the Cave for trade, therefore increasing the wealth & status of the whole Ninth Cave. I know many people who loved Clan of the Cave Bear, but have stopped reading these books because of their increasingly soap opera-ish quality. I will read the finale of the Earth's Children series. The author will make a lot of money. It's just very disappointing to see how this will all end. With such a promising start, this series could have been SO much more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2002

    This book is too little too late!

    I absolutely adored the 4 previous books. I was devastated year after year waiting for the 5th book to arrive. Now that it has, I'm still devastated. I felt the previous books were such an intense, intimate portrait of Ayla's and Jondalar's way of life. This book just does not draw me in the same way at all. I almost didn't finish this book when I read a passage where Jondalar and Ayla are discussing an old girlfriend of Jondalar's and he refers to her as the 'Beauty of the Bunch'. I thought they had problems understanding counting words and all of a sudden Jondalar is speaking in slang and knows what a 'bunch' is. I can only hope the last book reverts back to the writing style of the prior novels.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    Yuck

    Give it up, auel - you've lost your edge!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    Repetitive of other books and of itself

    This seems to be an ode to the author. She throws herself into the "Mother" or Doni role, repeating pages and pages of poetry that is part of the culture. And, if you did not get the emotional affect on Ayla the first time, it is brought up again... and again.

    Dare I say Ayla became a bit whiny at the end? I had looked forward to their return home, but the author focused more on habitat and less on the habits of people. All of this anger festering, but one does not get a sense of it until one rite? Boo. I'm a bit afraid to read #6 now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 607 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 31