Customer Reviews for

Shem Creek: A Lowcountry Tale

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Possibly my favorite DBF - worth the read if you missed it

'Shem Creek' is undersung among Ms. Frank's novels, as one can see from the relatively fewer reviews here than for some of her other books. Yet it's possibly my favorite (her original Sullivans Island and Bulls Island are contenders as well). There's nothing to dislike ...
'Shem Creek' is undersung among Ms. Frank's novels, as one can see from the relatively fewer reviews here than for some of her other books. Yet it's possibly my favorite (her original Sullivans Island and Bulls Island are contenders as well). There's nothing to dislike about this book. I have read it several times because I just enjoy hanging out with Brad, Linda, Mimi, Louise, Duane, Lindsey, Gracie and Alex (you really wish Alex were your son by the time you finish). If the romance is expected, so what - isn't that what one wants in a book like this? What Ms. Frank portrays so well in all her novels, she handles here with especial grace and warmth: the interracial friendships among the cast and crew of Jackson Hole Restaurant are completely authentic to the South, despite all the much-vaunted press to the contrary. The Lowcountry herself is also a star player in the novel, and Ms. Frank thoughtfully presents her views on the need for development and nature to work together (also well done in Bulls Island). Old Mount Pleasant is a beautiful and picturesque town (despite being surrounded by suburban sprawl) and well deserving of this fine story. Ms. Frank throws in some love notes to Manhattan as well, and that's great, too. Even if switching back and forth between two first-person narrators is 'cheating' a little bit, it doesn't bother me in the context of this particular plot. Both Brad and Linda are admirable people who deserve a happy ending, and Mimi is real Southern lady in the true sense of the word. If you missed this one along the way, it's well worth a read - with a burger from Poe's on Sullivans Island!

posted by 1313269 on April 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Doesn't measure up

I did not enjoy this book as much as Sullivan's Island and Plantation. I felt the plot was a bit weak and she just rattled on too much at times with details that were boring.

posted by travelbunny on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    Possibly my favorite DBF - worth the read if you missed it

    'Shem Creek' is undersung among Ms. Frank's novels, as one can see from the relatively fewer reviews here than for some of her other books. Yet it's possibly my favorite (her original Sullivans Island and Bulls Island are contenders as well). There's nothing to dislike about this book. I have read it several times because I just enjoy hanging out with Brad, Linda, Mimi, Louise, Duane, Lindsey, Gracie and Alex (you really wish Alex were your son by the time you finish). If the romance is expected, so what - isn't that what one wants in a book like this? What Ms. Frank portrays so well in all her novels, she handles here with especial grace and warmth: the interracial friendships among the cast and crew of Jackson Hole Restaurant are completely authentic to the South, despite all the much-vaunted press to the contrary. The Lowcountry herself is also a star player in the novel, and Ms. Frank thoughtfully presents her views on the need for development and nature to work together (also well done in Bulls Island). Old Mount Pleasant is a beautiful and picturesque town (despite being surrounded by suburban sprawl) and well deserving of this fine story. Ms. Frank throws in some love notes to Manhattan as well, and that's great, too. Even if switching back and forth between two first-person narrators is 'cheating' a little bit, it doesn't bother me in the context of this particular plot. Both Brad and Linda are admirable people who deserve a happy ending, and Mimi is real Southern lady in the true sense of the word. If you missed this one along the way, it's well worth a read - with a burger from Poe's on Sullivans Island!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    Great read

    I really enjoyed this book, couldn't put it down. You get to know the characters so well, and can't wait to see what happens next. It's interesting that some chapters switch off, with a different character talking. Great read about family, and that it's never too late to change your life so that you are happy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2009

    Great book!

    This book is one of the most heart-warming stories I've read in quite some time. There is conflict and resolution, romance, and friendship throughout the book. At the end, you wish it would keep on going! This book is a must read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2005

    Loved it! Read it TWICE in a row

    I thought this book started alittle slow, but then all of a sudden, I was hooked on the characters! Especially Brad! I like the way DBF has different characters telling the story with each chapter! I finished the book & loved it so much I couldn't get enough, & I read it again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    Highly recommended

    I loved reading about the lowcountry. The author draws you right into
    the story. i will read all of her books. Very enjoyable.

    C. N.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2005

    WOW-What a great novel !

    Was this a novel? Seemed so real to me and to others with whom I shared my love for the story, that I think it could be the life of thousands who suffer the agony of a spouse who feels it's just fine to play the foolin' around game. AND best described by the incredible author of yet another riveting Lowcountry Tale! -- Thanks to Dorothea Frank for making my summer special, with her gift of a well-written book. Keep up the good work, Dorothea!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2005

    Delightfully written ...

    Shem Creek is a well written novel about a family whose lives are forever changed by returning to their roots. Depicting deep family relationships that run the distance. I was mesmerized by the characters. I loved the details and the personal thoughts of each character being included in the story. It brought each chapter to life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2004

    My new favorite author

    I really liked this book. She once again is witty and funny with really colorful characters. I am a native South Carolinian and only this summer became familiar with her writings while vacationing in Charleston. I read Isle of Palms and since this summer have read all of her works. Being a single mother of a teenage daughter I could really relate to this book. Dottie creates strong female characters and I like that.Another thing I really liked about htis book is how she brings in characters from previous books and weaves the tale. Thats a plus because you never get enough of some of the characters and you wonder what ever happened to this one or that one. So, thats neat. I am ready for her next book. I think I use to be the same way about E. Lynn Harris. I could not wait until the next one came out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great family drma

    Linda Breland flees New Jersey to come home to the Carolina Low Country because she worries about her two teen daughters and a cash shortage that would improve with a lower cost of living. It does not hurt her to also leave behind her former spouse Fred who she divorced five years ago and who is remarrying a younger woman....................................... Linda told her two children that they are going to her hometown area on a vacation failing to say that it is a permanent move. She figures she can deal with that problem after they settle in the area. Her older child Lindsey has fewer issues probably because she is going off to college in the fall. Her younger daughter Gracie struggles with the environmental change from the Exurbia wrong crowd that she hung with to rustification that is until she meets Alex, the son of Linda¿s boss................................... SHEM CREEK, the latest Low Country drama is an enjoyable character study that predominantly looks deep into a mother and daughter relationship as each struggles to adjust to a radical change in lifestyle. Linda is an interesting lead protagonist as she is a steel magnolia with some northern brass; Gracie makes the tale with her Jersey Girl attitude crashing against the gentle Carolina sod. Though the action is limited, series fans and anyone who enjoys a slice of life family drama style will appreciate Dorothea Benton Frank¿s current Carolina comfy caper............................. Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1