Customer Reviews for

Shepherding a Child's Heart

Average Rating 3.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

This book is definitely annointed

Wow, this book was awesome. Out of all the children's hand books I've read this was definitely the best and most convicting. So often as parents we deal with our children on every level: emotional, physical, but some how we forget about the most important level SPIRIT...
Wow, this book was awesome. Out of all the children's hand books I've read this was definitely the best and most convicting. So often as parents we deal with our children on every level: emotional, physical, but some how we forget about the most important level SPIRITUAL. It is always my desire to lead my children to the Lord but somehow I forget that area and jump straight to punishment for bad behavior. This book is an answer to prayer on how to lead my child to the Lord in every aspect of our family life. Here are some excerpts I found to be the essence of what the message is in this book. 'Sadly, many parents have not thought through methodology. They just get mad and yell. When they have 'had it up there,' they threaten, holler, hit there kids and grow increasingly frustrated.'- page 62 'Biblical discipline addresses behavior through addressing the heart. Remember, the heart determines behavior.'... 'If you only try to change behavior you are missing the real issue-the heart' -page 68 I consider myself to be doing a great job at raising my children to not conform to world and in the way of the Lord, but after I read this book I was guilty of doing so many things wrong that I was glad I read this book now while my children are still toddlers. This book doesn't claim to have all the answers but it causes you to look into your own heart thereby affecting your reactions in dealing with your child's heart. Happy reading!!

posted by Anonymous on September 5, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Should be 'Crushing a Childs Heart'

This book is yet another book on the 'virtues of hitting your child' disguised as a Christian parenting guide. If you wish to raise your children to be secure, nurturing, loving people, DO NOT buy this book. It refers to children as 'fools' and 'idolatrous.' My children...
This book is yet another book on the 'virtues of hitting your child' disguised as a Christian parenting guide. If you wish to raise your children to be secure, nurturing, loving people, DO NOT buy this book. It refers to children as 'fools' and 'idolatrous.' My children are not fools, so I do not have to hit them. I can take the time to teach them action/consequence and right from wrong without hitting them. Maybe my children are smarter than some? Or maybe some parents are lazier than I? What I can't stand is that it is wrapped up in the protective cloak of Christianity. Now some parents will think it's the 'Christian' way to parent and feel justified in practicing violent parenting to produce fearful, obedient little robots. MY children will know right from wrong, not just 'I'd better do what someone tells me is right or I will be hit.'

posted by Anonymous on December 7, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2001

    This book is definitely annointed

    Wow, this book was awesome. Out of all the children's hand books I've read this was definitely the best and most convicting. So often as parents we deal with our children on every level: emotional, physical, but some how we forget about the most important level SPIRITUAL. It is always my desire to lead my children to the Lord but somehow I forget that area and jump straight to punishment for bad behavior. This book is an answer to prayer on how to lead my child to the Lord in every aspect of our family life. Here are some excerpts I found to be the essence of what the message is in this book. 'Sadly, many parents have not thought through methodology. They just get mad and yell. When they have 'had it up there,' they threaten, holler, hit there kids and grow increasingly frustrated.'- page 62 'Biblical discipline addresses behavior through addressing the heart. Remember, the heart determines behavior.'... 'If you only try to change behavior you are missing the real issue-the heart' -page 68 I consider myself to be doing a great job at raising my children to not conform to world and in the way of the Lord, but after I read this book I was guilty of doing so many things wrong that I was glad I read this book now while my children are still toddlers. This book doesn't claim to have all the answers but it causes you to look into your own heart thereby affecting your reactions in dealing with your child's heart. Happy reading!!

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Best parenting book I have ever read

    Don't get hung up on reviews by people who have a vendetta against spanking or Christianity. I have used this book as a guide for parenting and I promise you my kids are not abused. In fact they are happy and I rarely have to spank them because it teaches you to discern the heart, not behavior.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2004

    No longer terrified to raise children in this crazy world!

    I can not recommend this book enough! It is amazing! My husband and I felt so out of control with our child until we read this book. We knew spanking was ordained by God, but did not know how to implement it in a Godly manner. Now we have begun a system of discipline that has turned our relationship with our child around! Surrounded by love and prayer and punishment when necessary, out of love only, has worked miracles for our little one!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2002

    Terrific parenting book

    This is one of the best books on parenting I've ever read. It goes beyond simple pop-pyschology and behavior modification to deal with character--both the child's and the parent's!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2000

    This Book is the answer to your prayers!

    Absolutely the best book on childrearing. Look no further, this is it! Stop wasting your time on other books, this book gets to the 'heart' of the matter in a very non-threatening, and non-intimidating way. You will not be made to feel guilty for past actions, but only encouraged for the present and future!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    This isnt negative at all

    I think some people need to read this booj again. Nowhere does he condone beatings or hitting. What I despise is people taking certain versus that have been used in here and twisting it. For example the verse about the rod. It if interperted correctly isnt saying beat your child, its saying not discipling yor child for wrong doing is going to have negative consequences. Use your common sense folks

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2005

    Should be 'Crushing a Childs Heart'

    This book is yet another book on the 'virtues of hitting your child' disguised as a Christian parenting guide. If you wish to raise your children to be secure, nurturing, loving people, DO NOT buy this book. It refers to children as 'fools' and 'idolatrous.' My children are not fools, so I do not have to hit them. I can take the time to teach them action/consequence and right from wrong without hitting them. Maybe my children are smarter than some? Or maybe some parents are lazier than I? What I can't stand is that it is wrapped up in the protective cloak of Christianity. Now some parents will think it's the 'Christian' way to parent and feel justified in practicing violent parenting to produce fearful, obedient little robots. MY children will know right from wrong, not just 'I'd better do what someone tells me is right or I will be hit.'

    6 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    Great resource for parents and pastors. I would like to take a m

    Great resource for parents and pastors. I would like to take a moment to say that those who rated this book very low must not have read it very closely. It does NOT advocate abusing your children or developing a rigid cold environment for child rearing. The most fundamental issue this book addresses is forming a biblical worldview in which to raise your children and instruct them. If you do not like what the Bible has to say, then don't be disappointed or angry with the book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Very disappointing

    I am a Christian mother who was seeking a great book on discipline with Biblical values.
    I was very disappointed in this book.
    I believe there is a place for spanking but this book seems to imply an excessive use if it.
    There seems to be a black and white standard with no room for the character of a child.
    He claims this approach is Biblical, but i disagree.
    He pushes the role of a parent is almost soley about being a disciplinarian. That is not who God is!!!
    Makes me wonder what his relationship is like with God.
    Wont recommend and wish i could get my money back.

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2006

    Babywhipping book!

    This book recommends hitting infants as young as 8 months old, with a 'rod'! And to beat them until they 'submit'! The author claims babies are 'sinful and wayward' even before birth! This book is insane and gave me the creeps.

    4 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2005

    disturbing

    This book is described as a loving guide for parents to get closer to a child's heart. After reading it I found it to be nothing more than a how to book for whipping children and babies. Very disturbing!

    4 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2004

    If I could give zero stars I would!

    This was one of the worst 'Christian' parenting books I've ever read. How do you get to the heart of your child when you spank for every single little infraction? I am a born again Christian who wants to raise my children to love the Lord, but I cannot see how this book would help them to trust me, or to trust the Lord. If I was spanked for every time I disobeyed, or didn't obey quickly enough or without hesitation or complaint, I sure would hate my parents and I would think God was a punishing, mean God. Wait...I was spanked a lot as a child, and I did hate my parents and I WAS afraid of God!! This book is in the genre of the Ezzo books which are also scripture-twisting, legalistic, and damaging. OR the 'To Train up a Child' books which are even more so. If you would like to read a good Christian parenting book that shows you how to raise wonderful children who love the Lord and trust you, then read anything by Dr. William Sears. He truly understands the 'rod' of the Bible and doesn't twist scripture to his agenda across. Terrible book, almost child abuse (who would spank a 6 month old who squirms during a diaper change, as this book says to do?!), or spank your child AGAIN if they are 'not sweet enough' after you have just spanked them (That is a direct quote from the book)???

    4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    : )

    Turned my family around for the best. I am so thankful to the Lord for giving us this book. We've reaped a more peaceful home.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    Best parenting book out there

    This book is the best book I have read on parenting children in a Christian home. It is biblically based with lots of practical and Godly wisdom. It definitely goes against what our culture tries to tell us to do. We have three children and have seen much fruit in parenting in the way set forth in this book. God is faithful to his promises. I highly recommend you read this book, too. I am on my fifth time through just to be constantly reminding myself of how to be the parent God wants me to be. He discusses addressing the heart of a child rather than just his behavior, how when children sin, they are sinning against God and not the parent, what our goals should be as Godly parents, how to discipline children at different age levels, discusses different parenting techniques and why they are or are not Godly, and so much more. It is like a fire hose in the mouth. Plus, he gives many examples, which I love. Read it and join us in trying to raise kids who will make a difference for Jesus Christ.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2009

    A must have for every Christian parent

    Tripp brings years of experience as a parent, pastor, and school administrator to dealing with what can be a frustrating arena for Christian parents. He moves the issue of discipline away from using outcome-oriented strategies (focusing on behavior) to dealing with the heart issues that prompt our children's behavior.
    This is probably the best book on parenting that I have read, but please be aware that Tripp is writing from a biblically based perspective with the assumption that his audience shares those beliefs.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2005

    irresponsible parenting advise

    It is a horrendous irresponsibility to use misleading lines from a book that was written a long time ago as a justification to ignore what we today know, through science and psychology, destructively harms and hurts children and causes great suffering, humiliation and long term damage to their souls, their dignity, their self- confidence, their trust in life and love. If people later don't want to realize that they were abused as children, they write irresponsible books that recommend the same cruelty that was inflicted upon them, when they were children, and the same wrong and terrible attitudes they had to endure as children, as a good thing. They not only use the bible in malicious ways to endorse child abuse, but they also advise parents to commit this abuse in the secrecy of their home so that others cannot interfere. What cowardly, infamous, deceptive non-values does this reveal. Alice Miller's book 'For Your Own Good' demonstrates clearly and movingly the consequences of irresponsible, abusive parenting. How can we live in the 21st century and still allow children to be treated in the ways they have been abused by for centuries? How can we allow that the darkest concepts of violence and inhumanity can still be excused with lies as benefiting children?

    3 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Blessed by this book

    I was given this book 11 years ago at a baby shower for my oldest dauhter. The advice in this book continues to bless our family. Tripp clearly explains what the heart matter is, that a soft heart and humility towards God is the ultimate goal. He also gives a good breakdown of parenting at each age range. I appreciated the book when I first read it, and I appreciate it now as I have gotten to see the fruit of a daughter who has a heart for the Lord. My only complaint of this book, is that he instructs parents to discipline in love, but doesn't clearly instruct parent on developing loving intimacy with their children, especially outside of the disciplinarian role. There are some other good books out there on this subject though and would be an excelent companion to this book. Highly recommend.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    Good title, very poor book

    I read this book when my son was about a year and was thoroughly disappointed in what I read. I appreciate the title of the book - it is exactly what I hope to do with my son... shepherd his heart. However, the techniques described in this book seem harsh and manipulative. The author even describes how he spanked his teenage son! This is NOT the kind of parenting I consider effective or even appropriate. If we want to get to the heart of the matter with our children, more complex methods are far more effective. This book was a big thumbs-down for me.

    I've read bits and pieces of Parenting is Heart Work and Spiritual Parenting and like these books much more.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2009

    Book for the real christians

    This book is really based on the Bible. Those, who doesn't agree with the biblical principals won't even understand the book. Bible says many times that after the "Adam & Eve fall" every humanbeing is sinful even before they are born. So God wants every parent to shepered their children from the very birth, using his methods, which are the only methods that would work, because human nature love to sin and nothing else can help, except the biblical methods, which are the GOD'S WORD.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Don't spare the rod

    I was disturbed as a I read this that it was vague in how to parent but kept talking about we are to discipline and tell them it's bc God told us to. I am all for discipline but I don't want the first line of defense to be the 'rod'. This seems to be a book about excusing physical abuse in the name of God.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3