Customer Reviews for

Shepherds Abiding (Mitford Series #8)

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Mitford is a place everyone can relate to, especially during the Christmas Season.

So many of the characters in this novel are the people we meet every day. Some of us even ARE the characters! It's one of those stories that helps you take stock of yourself at the same time you are enjoying good reading. This story of Mitford during the Christmas Se...
So many of the characters in this novel are the people we meet every day. Some of us even ARE the characters! It's one of those stories that helps you take stock of yourself at the same time you are enjoying good reading. This story of Mitford during the Christmas Season is very touching, while teaching us the real meaning of giving. I can't think of a better gift to give to a Jan Karon fan.

posted by 1306663 on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not what was advertised

I ordered a book which combined The Mitford Snowmen, Esther's Gift, and Shepherds Abiding. What I got was a book with ONLY Sheperds Abiding. When I returned it to the store, the cashier checked the ISBN and discovered the same number was used for BOTH books, thereby m...
I ordered a book which combined The Mitford Snowmen, Esther's Gift, and Shepherds Abiding. What I got was a book with ONLY Sheperds Abiding. When I returned it to the store, the cashier checked the ISBN and discovered the same number was used for BOTH books, thereby making it impossible for me to order the volume I wanted.

Hopefully, they will get this problem fixed.

posted by svacuna on January 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Mitford is a place everyone can relate to, especially during the Christmas Season.

    So many of the characters in this novel are the people we meet every day. Some of us even ARE the characters! It's one of those stories that helps you take stock of yourself at the same time you are enjoying good reading. This story of Mitford during the Christmas Season is very touching, while teaching us the real meaning of giving. I can't think of a better gift to give to a Jan Karon fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    hhyyyh

    Hhhjhh j k

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    I love this book

    I love all of her books! They are so encouraging and lovely!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Shepherds Abiding

    This is the first book I read by this author. I got it because I like to read some Christmas stories around Christmas. This book was very good and I would buy another book by this author again.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    sheperds abiding

    I am still reading this book and find it quite interesting and very enjoyable to read, there were parts that kind of jumped around a little bit but I was able to keep up with them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2004

    Great Read More More!

    I truly enjoyed Shepherds Abiding as much as the others. They were all lovely and well written. I have no complaints about the price or length. They are all worth every penny. Ms. Karon is very talented and gifted. Only a few author stories leave a inprint on your heart in such an unforgettable way. I will never forget Mitford or its cast of characters. I just wish there were more books coming in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2003

    What a good feeling

    I love the sense of peace and hope that I always feel after reading these books. They are a true blessing. I do have to tell you about another book that I just read that left me with the same feeling, Shade of the Maple by Kirk Martin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2003

    I did not realize how much I missed my friends in Mitford!

    I love this book. I was so happy to read about the characters I have come to care about through her other books. It's nice to have a book that I can lay down and not worry about my kids picking it up. The books are very endearing, and I was in tears by the end. I will greatly miss reading about these characters when she finishes the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2003

    ANOTHER ENJOYABLE READ!

    Need a break from the rat race? Then sit down with a Jan Karon book. Recommend you read the entire Mitford Series from beginning to end. Quick, easy reads Read this one in one day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2003

    Yet another oasis from Jan Karon

    For Mitford fans, Shepherds Abiding will not disappoint! This novel is smaller than our appetites, yet Karon crafts a satisfying tale. This novel focuses on Father Tim's restoration endeavors while also providing enlightenment into the lives of two lesser known but equally delighful characters. Buy the book and prepare yourself for a weekend visit to Mitford.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2003

    A Mitford Christmas

    This was a warm and fuzzy book that you wish would never end! I am anxiously awaiting the next book in the series. It's like visiting old friends everytime I pick up one of Jan's books! I wish everyone a Happy Christmas!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2003

    EXTREME book loving reader

    I didn't know what to expect. I love Christmas and books about Christmas. I have absolutely loved each one of the Midford Years books. This book is a very sweet special treasure. The two previous Christmas books and this book have one special connection......read them and see. But read them all for sure. HAPPY READING!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2003

    I live for October 20, 2003

    My whole life has changed since reading this collection of books by Jan Karon. I recommend them highly to read to a child in grade school right up to an elderly person that could use a friend. It is purely coincidental that the names of the characters are similar to the ones in my family, so everytime a new character was introduced it was a real laugh. I can say that there are no Timothys though...I was so sad when someone stole my car and my book was inside, my father replaced the book with a special inscription written inside that I will treasure forever. I am at peace in Mitford. It has taught me to enjoy every minute of my life, to stop and smell the roses and to be a better person to anyone that I might meet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2003

    I AM THRILLED!

    I CANNOT wait until I can read this book. The beloved Mitford Series has been the most wonderful experience for me. These are not 'just books'....they are so full of life, lessons, humanity, love, and humor! This is the way, I would love my world to be. I greatly envy Cynthia. I think every woman who has ever read this book does also. She is so full of life and love! But, she's not predictable...oh no, she is her own person...and that is great! And Father Tim, if he isn't a character!! I love him. Jan Karon is by far one of the best novelist I have ever read. Her books 'Come Alive'...and they are exciting and warm. I hope she continues to write more and more Mitford Series. They are a wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2003

    PA.

    Love this series. Can't wait to read this one and see what Father Tim and Cynthia will be up to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2003

    Shepherd's Abiding Mitford series....

    The Jan Karon= Mitford series is one of the BEST series of books I have ever owned and am reading them this year!! I love how she writes her books and how the characters come to life in a persons mind.things in her books do teach people about the good times and the bad times and how to life a christian way of life.I do hope many people will read Jan Karon's books they are GREAT Reads...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2