BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Sherbrooke Bride (Bride Series)

Average Rating 4
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

breathtaking

the first time i read it,i cried beacuse it was such a nice story and very different from others that i read.catherine became my favorite author since then.i love her and the book.my friend is going to buy it for me for my birthday

posted by Anonymous on October 28, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Sherbrooke Bride

The Sherbrooke Bride is the first book in the Bride Series by Catherine Coulter.

Douglas Sherbrooke the Earl of Northcliffe is in need of an heir to carry on the family name. He decides to wed the beautiful, Melissande daughter of the Duke of Beresford. Unfortunately...
The Sherbrooke Bride is the first book in the Bride Series by Catherine Coulter.

Douglas Sherbrooke the Earl of Northcliffe is in need of an heir to carry on the family name. He decides to wed the beautiful, Melissande daughter of the Duke of Beresford. Unfortunately, duty comes first and Sherbrooke must send his cousin to wed his new bride by proxy while he is away on a mission.

But, when the Earl returns he is married to the wrong sister. His cousin has married Melissande and stuck him with Alexandra the younger, less attractive daughter. He must not only contend with the high spirited Alexandra, but a ghost resides at Northcliffe hall as well, the Virgin Bride.

What is the Earl to do? Remain married to the wrong bride or return her to her father? Will Douglas find love with Alexandra? You'll have to read to find out!

My Thoughts:

The Sherbrooke Bride was not my first read from highly acclaimed author, Catherine Coulter. Coulter has a very wide range in writing, from Regency style romances to FBI thrillers. I prefer her historical fiction and The Sherbrooke Bride did not disappoint.

I identified with the high spirited and stubborn, Alexandra who has always been in the shadow of her sisters incomparable beauty. Her reactions to Douglas' attitude are refreshing for a Regency romance. I enjoyed the banter that she and Dougas shared. Her love for him was very deep.

Douglas' character was very masculine. He did not come across as a gameplayer or a playboy. He seemed very honorable though a little tight laced. It is nice to see how he starts to loosen up as he begins to deal with Alexandra. The reader will feel his shock and betrayal when he finds he has married the wrong woman, but they will also feel his gradual acceptance of what's happened and the realization of what it means.

The subplot of the story involving Douglas' mission as a spy and the kidnapping it later causes, was a little predictable, but it did add an element of surprise and intrigue.

I liked this one, not one of my all time favorites, but definitely a good romance.

posted by Justpeachy1 on January 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2001

    breathtaking

    the first time i read it,i cried beacuse it was such a nice story and very different from others that i read.catherine became my favorite author since then.i love her and the book.my friend is going to buy it for me for my birthday

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2012

    I have read the whole Sherbrooke series, could not wait till the

    I have read the whole Sherbrooke series, could not wait till the next book came out!. Now, you have to read in order for they read as a movie!
    I loved each book, enjoyed all the little lives adventures! I laughed and cried at each turn! The Women are strong women with lots of Character to be able to handle these strong Men! Each story shows that women were Strong, independent long before their time! Now after some time, I Am ready to re-read the series. So just pick up the first book, {I keep a stack of books, same author, same series by my bedside and when I finish with one, I pick up the next book in order! So! sit back, Pick up this book and as you read put yourself into the story! You'll be able to picture {in your mind} each and every scene.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Sherbrooke Bride

    The Sherbrooke Bride is the first book in the Bride Series by Catherine Coulter.

    Douglas Sherbrooke the Earl of Northcliffe is in need of an heir to carry on the family name. He decides to wed the beautiful, Melissande daughter of the Duke of Beresford. Unfortunately, duty comes first and Sherbrooke must send his cousin to wed his new bride by proxy while he is away on a mission.

    But, when the Earl returns he is married to the wrong sister. His cousin has married Melissande and stuck him with Alexandra the younger, less attractive daughter. He must not only contend with the high spirited Alexandra, but a ghost resides at Northcliffe hall as well, the Virgin Bride.

    What is the Earl to do? Remain married to the wrong bride or return her to her father? Will Douglas find love with Alexandra? You'll have to read to find out!

    My Thoughts:

    The Sherbrooke Bride was not my first read from highly acclaimed author, Catherine Coulter. Coulter has a very wide range in writing, from Regency style romances to FBI thrillers. I prefer her historical fiction and The Sherbrooke Bride did not disappoint.

    I identified with the high spirited and stubborn, Alexandra who has always been in the shadow of her sisters incomparable beauty. Her reactions to Douglas' attitude are refreshing for a Regency romance. I enjoyed the banter that she and Dougas shared. Her love for him was very deep.

    Douglas' character was very masculine. He did not come across as a gameplayer or a playboy. He seemed very honorable though a little tight laced. It is nice to see how he starts to loosen up as he begins to deal with Alexandra. The reader will feel his shock and betrayal when he finds he has married the wrong woman, but they will also feel his gradual acceptance of what's happened and the realization of what it means.

    The subplot of the story involving Douglas' mission as a spy and the kidnapping it later causes, was a little predictable, but it did add an element of surprise and intrigue.

    I liked this one, not one of my all time favorites, but definitely a good romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    GR8 READ!!

    This was my 3rd novel by Catherine Coulter (in the space of 2 weeks) and my favorite so far - I borrowed it from the library but would purchase it for myself to add to "favorites" collection. Definitely a book to read again and again. The main characters were well matched and the love/sex scenes were hot!! Add to that a wicked sense of humor throughout and you'll be hooked.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2004

    A great read

    I'm an avid fan of Catherine Coulter, but this one was not my favorite. I mean, it was a great story and I would read it again, but the only thing I have against it was that the ending wasn't as gripping as all the other books I've read of her. Usually, I'll just about cry and I'm so happy for them, but this one I just chuckled and put down. But hey, still good right?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    LOVED IT!

    One of my favorite novels. The others in the series are just as good. LORRAINE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Wonderful Read

    This a great read - the plot and story entice you to complete the entire Bride Series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Still one of my favorites.....

    First "Coulter" book I ever read and still my very favorite. It's completely outrageous but aren't all romance novels? Especially Regencies??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    I highly recommend it! Could not put it down.

    The story was full of action, emotions. I could actually imagine the characters, the outfits and the emotions each one experienced. It made me laugh, cry, and cheer for the characters. I could not put the book down until I finished the book (4 times). Great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Great storie

    Live it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    my kind of love story

    it has everything. romance, mystery, anda passionate love. also a heroine who will make you laugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    Lend Me

    Highly Recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    I love this book!!

    This is my very favorite book of all time. I have read many different romance novels, and I am always drawn back to this one and to Catherine Coulter. She really knows how to make the characters come to life in your mind and hearts. I fell in love with Alex right away, and with the whole Sherbrooke family. This will always be a classic in my book!! I hope future readers will enjoy it as much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2008

    Unforgettable!

    I've read this book almost a year ago.this is the best romance book i would say. the characters are adorable and their personalities so distinct and unforgettable especially douglas and alex that in every book of the series i just can't help but locate and memorize douglas' and alex's moments. you still could recognize that familiar wit and romance in every scene that they are in. it's not too good to be true its too good that it should not be missed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2004

    Loved it

    I had this book for a long time before i started reading it, my mom gave it to me. Well I finally started reading it on an Airplane and i finished it before the plane landed! I LOVED IT! But whats with having Black Hair and Blue eyes? It seems like in every one of her books those are the women that are the most beautiful. Like in Wyndham Legacy and this one. Mellisande and Duchess had black hair and blue eyes and were pale and all the men thought they were beautiful. lol, all in all this was a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2004

    Best of the Best

    This book is the best one. I never thought that Alex and Douglas will end up loving each other. This is the best book out of my Romance collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2004

    Great Book!

    I absolutely loved this book! There are some parts that are 'adult' but overall, the book is great. This is my first book that I have read by Catherine Coulter, and it is absolutely great! At some points, the book made me nearly cry, but it was overall a aboslutely wonderful book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2003

    MY TOP 5

    This book is soooooo good! I loved it. The characters were easy to love I absolutley loved the story. Catherine Coulter is one of my favorites. She writes beautiful books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2002

    Hilarious

    Catherine Coulter has done it again. 'Sherbooke Bride' was a romantic comedy. I laughed throughout the whole book. Especially when Alex hit Douglas with the rake when she was trying to leave. The characters in this book will have you laughing hard, but even thoughyou laugh it is still a romance book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2001

    funny story

    I really enjoyed this book. It was a page turner from begining to end. You'll love the characters, which to me is the most important factor. Sometimes you'll want to just knock the main male character, Douglas, on the head. But it is an amusing, sweet story that will make you want to read more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4