Customer Reviews for

She's Come Undone

Average Rating 4.5
( 691 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(423)

4 Star

(163)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Good read with a lasting effect.

My mom was cleaning out the closets and came across "She's Come Undone," which I had read several year ago. It is one of my all-time favorite books, one that I still bring up when discussing novels. I thought it was an amazing story, and I have always been amazed that i...
My mom was cleaning out the closets and came across "She's Come Undone," which I had read several year ago. It is one of my all-time favorite books, one that I still bring up when discussing novels. I thought it was an amazing story, and I have always been amazed that it was written in first person by a man. The character of Dolores is so real and believable. I took the book from my mom and read it over again, and I still love the book, although since my first reading, I have had children and been through the death of a parent, just to name a couple of things, just many more life experiences. I do have to say that re-reading the book as a mother made it a whole different experience. Definitely came across much sadder to me, and I viewed the characters of Dolores, her mother, and her grandmother in a new light. I still laughed out loud more than a few times, but definitely cried more this time, too. It is still a fantastic book and one I will always keep in my collection. Wally Lamb is a gifted writer to have written the type of book that stays with you long after you put it down. I would not recommend a book that didn't have that effect on me.

posted by 148253 on October 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Worst book I've ever read

This is quite possibly the worst book I have ever read. It's very depressing and frustrating, and the entire book made me angry. I was so mad at Lamb by the end of this book I wanted to scream. Now, I read a lot of books full of graphic violence and horrific acts agains...
This is quite possibly the worst book I have ever read. It's very depressing and frustrating, and the entire book made me angry. I was so mad at Lamb by the end of this book I wanted to scream. Now, I read a lot of books full of graphic violence and horrific acts against the characters that range anywhere from physical to mental, but the psychological tortures Lamb puts her through in this story is truly unbearable to me. He had too many things happen to her throughout the course of the novel. If he had just picked one or two, then it probably wouldn't have been so bad, but he just kept putting her through more and more. To me it read more like a man that possibly hates womankind and was taking his own anger out on his female character. If I didn't have to read it for a class I was taking in school, I would have thrown it accross my room and never finished it. And despite the fact that I truly hate this book, I believe Lamb to be truly talented, because only a gifted writer could inspire that kind of emotional reaction. I am planning on reading some of his other books because I don't think it's fair to condemn an author's entire work based on one story.

posted by Brittany-Dayle on April 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 691 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 35
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read with a lasting effect.

    My mom was cleaning out the closets and came across "She's Come Undone," which I had read several year ago. It is one of my all-time favorite books, one that I still bring up when discussing novels. I thought it was an amazing story, and I have always been amazed that it was written in first person by a man. The character of Dolores is so real and believable. I took the book from my mom and read it over again, and I still love the book, although since my first reading, I have had children and been through the death of a parent, just to name a couple of things, just many more life experiences. I do have to say that re-reading the book as a mother made it a whole different experience. Definitely came across much sadder to me, and I viewed the characters of Dolores, her mother, and her grandmother in a new light. I still laughed out loud more than a few times, but definitely cried more this time, too. It is still a fantastic book and one I will always keep in my collection. Wally Lamb is a gifted writer to have written the type of book that stays with you long after you put it down. I would not recommend a book that didn't have that effect on me.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Worst book I've ever read

    This is quite possibly the worst book I have ever read. It's very depressing and frustrating, and the entire book made me angry. I was so mad at Lamb by the end of this book I wanted to scream. Now, I read a lot of books full of graphic violence and horrific acts against the characters that range anywhere from physical to mental, but the psychological tortures Lamb puts her through in this story is truly unbearable to me. He had too many things happen to her throughout the course of the novel. If he had just picked one or two, then it probably wouldn't have been so bad, but he just kept putting her through more and more. To me it read more like a man that possibly hates womankind and was taking his own anger out on his female character. If I didn't have to read it for a class I was taking in school, I would have thrown it accross my room and never finished it. And despite the fact that I truly hate this book, I believe Lamb to be truly talented, because only a gifted writer could inspire that kind of emotional reaction. I am planning on reading some of his other books because I don't think it's fair to condemn an author's entire work based on one story.

    8 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2000

    A very depressing book

    I know I'm in the minority here, but I didn't like the main character. The more I read, the less I cared for her or her problems. She was self-absorbed and mean-spirited. The scenes were way too graphic, especially the rape and lesbian scenes. I found the language and tone of the book very disturbing.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Soul-shaking story

    I love this book. I reread it every few years. It reaches for you soul and challenges the standards and morals we set for ourselves through the heartbreaking tale of Dolores Price.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    I love this book!

    Someone gave me this book many years ago and I just put in on the shelf. I finally got around to reading it and I'm really glad I did. It was an interesting book that I couldn't put down by the second chapter. The character development was awesome and I like how it followed Delores from her childhood through adulthood. You really feel like you get to know her very intimately and you come to love her. I think any woman can relate to her story in one way or another and it touches you on a deep level. This is a 5 star book and it's hard to believe it was written by a man.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    ENJOYED!

    This book was written with such insight into a woman's mind, it is hard to believe this author is a man. Dolores Price is someone who feels life has dealt her a bad hand and then proceeds living with a self-destructive outlook. Read with an open mind! Enjoyed!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    Someone came undone.

    I found this book very depressing and felt a little indignant that a man would try and write as how a woman would feel. I would not recommend this book. Although I really enjoyed his other books!

    6 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No

    This is the most depressing, repulsive book i have ever read

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    refreshing honesty

    Yes, this book was overwhelmingly depressing. I couldn't enjoy a saturday night without thinking about the hardships of Dolores Price. The author's viewpoint of the thoughts of a girl was very insightful and the effort was truly successful. Yet, everyone whines about how bad their lives are, think about the characters that repeatedly come in and out of Dolores' life.If you cast your problems into the problems of the world, you would be quick to reel them back in. Who cares if the book is depressing? It is truth, it is realistic, is is real. This book made me come undone, but it is a book that has changed me, and made me realize that other's lives are something to complain about, not my own. The development of the characterization was something I could not complain about, either.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    typing!

    The e-book version has a ton of typos. The story is riveting, but whoever typed it needs to go back to high school keyboarding class!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I cannot put this book down.

    I started this book about 2 days ago and on the 9th page, unable to put this book down. After the 2nd chapter the story picks up a lot more, so if you find youself bored in the beginning, just wait. There's so much drama, the characters are unique and of their own. You can sympathize with the main character Dolores, and what she goes through. Something's are totally shocking, that I gasped so loud on the train everyone thought their was a rat or something horrible happening. I COMPLETELY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK!. Wally Lamb is such a great writer. I also recommend-
    "I Know This Much Is True".

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A Must-Read That You Won't Soon Forget

    This moving story teaches us all that is never too late to become the person you want to be.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2009

    She's Come Undone

    This book deals with very mature subject matter.Rape,suicide,divorce,are just a few of issues a young girl has to deal with.I found it very depressing and couldn't wait for the book to be finished.Call me old fashioned but I suggest that no one under 18 years old read this.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    A repeat treat!

    I first read this book back in 1998 when it first appeared on the Oprah Book Club. I was blown away. The insight Lamb has on a female character's life is incredible. The challenges and joys Dolores experiences in her life could literally be felt in each page turned. Lamb delves into the insecurities of all of us and paints a perfect picture of a character that we can all relate too. Interesting because Dolores says she always felt like an outsider her whole life. Whether it's food or clinging to insecure love, Dolores avoids coming to terms with she truly is by hiding behind these things.

    This will be the third time I've read this book. It's one of those that despite owning the hard copy I have bought again for my new Nook. It's a part of my library I want to always have available. I look forward to spending the next few weeks inside the pages of this book again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    THE GREATEST WORK OF FICTION EVER

    Clearly whoever wrote the last review is poorly educated and has low taste regarding literature. I found this work to be of the highest philosophical and literary construction, surpassing all others in its brevity, sincerity, and copious effervescence. Every sentence was an explosion of poetry and lyrical nuance that left me breathless. By the time I reached the end I felt that I knew at last what it was to be the main character.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2000

    She Rocks!!!

    Underneath those layers of fat lies strength, courage and a willingness to love. Dolores Price proves us, amongst the madness of the crowd, how important it is to give yourself a fair second chance.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 1999

    GREAT! GREAT! GREAT!

    This has to be the best book I have ever read and I have read MANY. You actually find yourself immersed in the character of Deloris and cry with her, laugh with her, and root for her. A MUST READ!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    Worthwhile read

    Unlike many readers who are saying that the main character is disgustingly fat rude completely unrelatable and nasty and they can't believe this is what a guy thinks about women, i think this is morely for the people who had a horrible childhood for. Maybe a bad life, I had none of the things i stated, besides hating myself in my early teen years and i find the main character Dolores relatable in certain ways. Plus i so feel some compassion for her since she lost a lot of important things in her life which made her who she was throughout this book and I think she ended up pretty good close to the end for how she was during most of the book and she dealed with a lot of things badly but she was only doing what she thought was rigt to do or she didnt think at all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    The main character was impossible to like or have any compassion

    The main character was impossible to like or have any compassion for. She was disgustingly fat, rude and nasty. Can't believe a man wrote this. Is this what he thinks women are like?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    My Fave!!

    I read this years ago while it was on the Oprah's Book Club. First off let me say that I personally have gone through many things Dolores had and it touched me on a very deep, personal level. Secondly I was amazed a man wrote this book. A very talented writer I might add. Wally Lamb's writing is different than any other Author I've read. His thoughtfulness, wit, sarcasm and insight come across in every book that I've read of his. His writing style is really quite amazing. Just started reading " We are Water".... beautiful. About a year ago I picked up a pretty blue leather journal.. with Whales imprinted on the front and back. First thing I thought of was Dolores... This book has been Forever imprinted in my heart :-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 691 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 35