Customer Reviews for

She's Come Undone

Average Rating 4.5
( 694 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(424)

4 Star

(165)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Good read with a lasting effect.

My mom was cleaning out the closets and came across "She's Come Undone," which I had read several year ago. It is one of my all-time favorite books, one that I still bring up when discussing novels. I thought it was an amazing story, and I have always been amazed that i...
My mom was cleaning out the closets and came across "She's Come Undone," which I had read several year ago. It is one of my all-time favorite books, one that I still bring up when discussing novels. I thought it was an amazing story, and I have always been amazed that it was written in first person by a man. The character of Dolores is so real and believable. I took the book from my mom and read it over again, and I still love the book, although since my first reading, I have had children and been through the death of a parent, just to name a couple of things, just many more life experiences. I do have to say that re-reading the book as a mother made it a whole different experience. Definitely came across much sadder to me, and I viewed the characters of Dolores, her mother, and her grandmother in a new light. I still laughed out loud more than a few times, but definitely cried more this time, too. It is still a fantastic book and one I will always keep in my collection. Wally Lamb is a gifted writer to have written the type of book that stays with you long after you put it down. I would not recommend a book that didn't have that effect on me.

posted by 148253 on October 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

A very depressing book

I know I'm in the minority here, but I didn't like the main character. The more I read, the less I cared for her or her problems. She was self-absorbed and mean-spirited. The scenes were way too graphic, especially the rape and lesbian scenes. I found the language and t...
I know I'm in the minority here, but I didn't like the main character. The more I read, the less I cared for her or her problems. She was self-absorbed and mean-spirited. The scenes were way too graphic, especially the rape and lesbian scenes. I found the language and tone of the book very disturbing.

posted by Anonymous on March 7, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    Someone came undone.

    I found this book very depressing and felt a little indignant that a man would try and write as how a woman would feel. I would not recommend this book. Although I really enjoyed his other books!

    6 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    The main character was impossible to like or have any compassion

    The main character was impossible to like or have any compassion for. She was disgustingly fat, rude and nasty. Can't believe a man wrote this. Is this what he thinks women are like?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    A bit too dark and dreary

    I read to escape from reality--to go to another world or another one's life. I didn't want to do this with this story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2006

    A reviewer

    Well, the title of my review says it all. Not only was it depressing but some of the descriptions of sex scences were down right disturbing. Sorry, I really didn't like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2006

    I'm Undone

    I'm an avid reader. I believe this is one of the best books I've ever read. If you have ever struggled with your weight, or your family's Catholism, it is a must read. It, at times, is laugh out loud. I have read it several times, never disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2006

    Not what I expected.

    I read this book for a reading group/book club I had participated in. This book is not what I expected. I found it rather disturbing, went into too much detail about sexual encounters etc. I wouldn't recommend this book to others. This is the first Oprah's Book Club book I have disliked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2006

    eh

    I did not like this book because the main character did not want to change for herself. She wanted to change for other people. I found her very malleable and I found it very hard to root for her. A disappointing novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2006

    One of the first books to read as a teenager

    My aunt bought me this book as a Value Village for like a dollar. It was worth so much more. I was a 15 year-old girl at the time and I cried throughout the book. I felt as if I was her and this book definitely pulled me in. I think I finished it in a couple of days. I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2005

    Disappointing

    I had heard so much about this book and had so many people recommend it to me, but when I finally read it, I couldn't figure out what all the fuss was about. Maybe my expectations were too high, but I was very disappointed in the story and found myself struggling to get to the end. There was nothing about the main character that made me like her or even care what happened to her either way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2005

    Not on par with Lambs other works

    After reading I Know This Much is True and claimed it as my all time favorite book, I felt I should real She's Come Undone. I was thoroughly dissapointed, it didnt even compare to Lamb's other novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2004

    I wanted to smack her!

    I, like Anabell's review below, agree that I found this book to be disappointing and irritating. For me to be able to really love a book, I must be able to either sympathize or relate w/ the characters in some sort of way. But I thought that Dolores Price was just plain unlikeable! She irritated me to the point where I wanted to smack her and say, 'Get your act together!' I have gone through some of the same situations as the character in this book--and I think a lot of her problems were due to her attitude, and not situations she was placed. If everyone had her attitude, the world would be a scary place. Some of the most remarkable people on the planet are those who have overcome terrible obstacles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2004

    Maybe not so wonderful...

    This book was recommended to me by a friend whose taste in literature I really trust, and as you can see it has great reviews on this site. Well, to be honest, I hated it. The first part of the book isn't bad, but there's a point at which it just gets to be too much. I found the main character to be really irritating and unlikeable-- yes, I realize she's had a horrible life (and I've been through some of those things myself), but I think she's just really bratty and self- centered until maybe the last 10 pages. The absolute worst part of the book was Lamb's portrayal of the therapist-- I feel justified in saying that anyone who has had extensive therapy will find this 'progressive' quack doctor totally insulting. I do not recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2002

    Shes come undone, sent me back to myself.

    When I look at the other reviews of the book (the bad ones) I am suprised because I thought this book was amazing. I don't get that much time to read books but I made time for this one. By the end of the book I could hardly believe that -this- was the same Dolores (though 'the fat Dolores' did come out now and then.) I don't find it depressing because everything that happened to her has happened to someone else. I think that she is the best example of overcoming yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2001

    How much bad stuff can happen to one person?

    I admit that Wally Lamb did an exceptional job of writing from a woman's point of view. Dolores was very alive to me, and very few writers are able to do that. The part that disappointed me was all the negativity in the book. I'm not naive, I know first hand that horrible stuff happens to good people. I just detested the way Dolores wallowed in the sadness in her life and made it worse by her own hand. I read to escape the real world- this book made me feel completely depressed and not uplifted at all. I was disappointed in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2