Customer Reviews for

She's Come Undone

Average Rating 4.5
( 692 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(423)

4 Star

(164)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Good read with a lasting effect.

My mom was cleaning out the closets and came across "She's Come Undone," which I had read several year ago. It is one of my all-time favorite books, one that I still bring up when discussing novels. I thought it was an amazing story, and I have always been amazed that i...
My mom was cleaning out the closets and came across "She's Come Undone," which I had read several year ago. It is one of my all-time favorite books, one that I still bring up when discussing novels. I thought it was an amazing story, and I have always been amazed that it was written in first person by a man. The character of Dolores is so real and believable. I took the book from my mom and read it over again, and I still love the book, although since my first reading, I have had children and been through the death of a parent, just to name a couple of things, just many more life experiences. I do have to say that re-reading the book as a mother made it a whole different experience. Definitely came across much sadder to me, and I viewed the characters of Dolores, her mother, and her grandmother in a new light. I still laughed out loud more than a few times, but definitely cried more this time, too. It is still a fantastic book and one I will always keep in my collection. Wally Lamb is a gifted writer to have written the type of book that stays with you long after you put it down. I would not recommend a book that didn't have that effect on me.

posted by 148253 on October 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Worst book I've ever read

This is quite possibly the worst book I have ever read. It's very depressing and frustrating, and the entire book made me angry. I was so mad at Lamb by the end of this book I wanted to scream. Now, I read a lot of books full of graphic violence and horrific acts agains...
This is quite possibly the worst book I have ever read. It's very depressing and frustrating, and the entire book made me angry. I was so mad at Lamb by the end of this book I wanted to scream. Now, I read a lot of books full of graphic violence and horrific acts against the characters that range anywhere from physical to mental, but the psychological tortures Lamb puts her through in this story is truly unbearable to me. He had too many things happen to her throughout the course of the novel. If he had just picked one or two, then it probably wouldn't have been so bad, but he just kept putting her through more and more. To me it read more like a man that possibly hates womankind and was taking his own anger out on his female character. If I didn't have to read it for a class I was taking in school, I would have thrown it accross my room and never finished it. And despite the fact that I truly hate this book, I believe Lamb to be truly talented, because only a gifted writer could inspire that kind of emotional reaction. I am planning on reading some of his other books because I don't think it's fair to condemn an author's entire work based on one story.

posted by Brittany-Dayle on April 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 19, 2009

    She's Come Undone

    This book deals with very mature subject matter.Rape,suicide,divorce,are just a few of issues a young girl has to deal with.I found it very depressing and couldn't wait for the book to be finished.Call me old fashioned but I suggest that no one under 18 years old read this.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    She s come undone

    If you,re not depressed before you read this you will be after.just kidding,it was interesting. Shame liberals have to inject their opinions in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Pretty good read

    I thought this book was good, kind nofm like She' Come Undone and Gone Girl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Good but heavy read

    It took me awhile to finish, but I felt the need to, even though every time she turned around something else went wrong in this girl/woman's life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Didn't live up to the hype for me...

    I had really high expectations for this book and was a bit disappointed. Lamb has been praised for his ability to write so well from the female perspective and though I was impressed with parts of his creation of the character of Dolores, there were many aspects of her character that I found less than authentic. I also felt that several parts of the book were rushed. Lamb gives just a couple sentence discription of the first few years of Dolores 7 year stay in a mental institution and then he neatly wraps up the ending with a new character that we barely even get to know in the last 40 pages. However, his writing kept me turning the pages, eager despite my criticms, to see how things would turn out for Dolores.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Overlong

    This book was ssooo long, and not just because of the page amount. The beginning was good, but towards the middle it began to drag on. It was also very depressing, with absolutely nothing uplifting about it. It was very well written, but at times it was a little too...detailed. A very good read to be sure, but make sure you're up to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    She's Come Undone

    Another one from the bargain bin. Sorry, this was not my cup of tea. I always try to finish a book once I start it, and this one was tough to get to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    A good book to make your life seem better!!

    She's Come Undone is a well-written book about a young girl, Dolores Price, growing up. It seems like her life starts bad and just keeps getting worse as she gets older. Facing problems like obesity, children making fun of her, troubles in her family, abusive situations and her searching for love in all the wrong places. Dolores is a blunt, care-free person, with a terrible attitude. This is a very depressing book, I kept waiting for it to turn around and start being positive. However, it never happened. This book is a good read, you will be interested because of all the intriguing things that happen throughout the book. This depressing book will help you realize that your life is not really that bad. Many people in the world have it alot worse! Overall a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2008

    A bit too long

    The book was ok. The beginning was good but the story started to drag on toward the middle and the plot never really had a climactic point.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2008

    A reviewer

    You are in any way contemplating suicide because this book will push you over the edge. This is an extremely dark haunting book. We watch Dolores go from a child to a lonely teenager to a deeply disturbed woman. Life does not give this girl any breaks she constantly gets knocked down, kicked, dragged through the mud, and then spit on. This book was very difficult for me to get through there was one part in particular where I was just sobbing and could not stop. The book gets very dark unnecessarily so in some parts. I think the reason I had a hard time with this book is the way Dolores handled the pain she let it all get her down. As a reader you feel like you are right there with her, in the gutter with no way out. I wanted her to snap out of it to realize that she was going to be okay and she could be happy if she chose to. I have a lot of bitterness towards this book while reading this book you feel completely hopeless. I have no problem reading a dark book but I need to feel that there is a purpose to it. I would not recommend it but I¿m still giving it a 3 it was very well written and it did get an emotional response from me even though it is anger.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2005

    A little disappointing.

    It was good but I don't think I was as overly crazed by it as some people were, but I loved the ending, it made me happy. Although I found myself wanting to beat the Dolores quite a bit throughout it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2005

    Not bad

    One of Oprah's books, but definately not the best. Story was nice, and comes full circle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2003

    Just don't do it....

    It will suck you in and not let you stop. It was so depressing that I had to take breaks from it, but for some reason I just coudln't quit reading. It would have been better to have never started. Delores has a horrible life, and it doens't ever get much better. If you need a wake up call that your life isn't so bad after all, go for this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2003

    Okay story, but sad characters

    Overall I enjoyed reading 'She's come undone,' many of my friends had recommended it to me. The beginning is good, it makes you want to keep reading, the end is a good closure for the character herself, but still kind of leaves you wondering what she is going to do next in her life and if what she wants will work out. There was about a 25 page segment in the middle I skipped, and after I finished, went back and read it, and i didn't miss anything, I was able to follow the rest of the story w/out those 25 pages- makes me wonder why it was there anyway. The main character is so SAD, her life is sad, her family is sad, a couple of times i had to stop reading it because it made me so unhappy. I kept wondering if Dolores' (main chrctr) life would get any better, it just kept getting worse and worse until the last 1/4 (maybe less) of the book when things FINALLY started to look up for her. There were many obstacles (sad things) I thought could have been left out because it just made it sadder to read. It teaches good lessons about obesity, depression, relationships and more but in order to do that the Dolores has one hell of an incredibly awful life for 35 years. Should have been 2 books each half as sad as the one that currently exists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2003

    Impressive Only for It's Realism

    After finishing Part I, I was sure I was going to hate this book. It got much better during Part II, and I thought, well maybe it's going to redeem itself. Then Part III came along and more unhappiness for Dolores (the significance of her name, by the way, was not lost on me). The ending was at least positive. I do have to say that Dolores's character is probably the most believable, true to life character I have ever encountered in modern literature. Her life is not a bed of roses, but it's not a never-ending hell either. In the end, I simply felt apathetic towards her. She was just another human who had problems and did her best to deal with them. If she were a personal friend, I might be able to sympathize, but she is only another person I don't know--the same as thousands of others that I see daily and feel neither good nor bad about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2002

    Great story, lacking common sense

    I did enjoy this book, but I felt that it lacked the character development it needed for the reader to truly understand why she acts the way she does. Instead of growing up with the character and understanding her, I found myself asking, 'Wait, why would you do that?'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2002

    A good book...

    ...but dissapointing when compared to Lamb's other novel (which I read first) called I Know This Much Is True. This novel was still an interesting story about a troubled and unfortunate girl. It's depressing but still held my attention. Buy it used; I wouldn't spend full price on this one. But I Know This Much Is True should be bought new and read often!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2000

    Haunting

    Deeply disturbing...depressing. I read this book quite a bit ago and it haunts me to this day. I couldnt stop reading it though, mostly in the hopes that things would get better for her, but they didnt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3