Customer Reviews for

She's Come Undone

Average Rating 4.5
( 691 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(423)

4 Star

(163)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Good read with a lasting effect.

My mom was cleaning out the closets and came across "She's Come Undone," which I had read several year ago. It is one of my all-time favorite books, one that I still bring up when discussing novels. I thought it was an amazing story, and I have always been amazed that i...
My mom was cleaning out the closets and came across "She's Come Undone," which I had read several year ago. It is one of my all-time favorite books, one that I still bring up when discussing novels. I thought it was an amazing story, and I have always been amazed that it was written in first person by a man. The character of Dolores is so real and believable. I took the book from my mom and read it over again, and I still love the book, although since my first reading, I have had children and been through the death of a parent, just to name a couple of things, just many more life experiences. I do have to say that re-reading the book as a mother made it a whole different experience. Definitely came across much sadder to me, and I viewed the characters of Dolores, her mother, and her grandmother in a new light. I still laughed out loud more than a few times, but definitely cried more this time, too. It is still a fantastic book and one I will always keep in my collection. Wally Lamb is a gifted writer to have written the type of book that stays with you long after you put it down. I would not recommend a book that didn't have that effect on me.

posted by 148253 on October 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Worst book I've ever read

This is quite possibly the worst book I have ever read. It's very depressing and frustrating, and the entire book made me angry. I was so mad at Lamb by the end of this book I wanted to scream. Now, I read a lot of books full of graphic violence and horrific acts agains...
This is quite possibly the worst book I have ever read. It's very depressing and frustrating, and the entire book made me angry. I was so mad at Lamb by the end of this book I wanted to scream. Now, I read a lot of books full of graphic violence and horrific acts against the characters that range anywhere from physical to mental, but the psychological tortures Lamb puts her through in this story is truly unbearable to me. He had too many things happen to her throughout the course of the novel. If he had just picked one or two, then it probably wouldn't have been so bad, but he just kept putting her through more and more. To me it read more like a man that possibly hates womankind and was taking his own anger out on his female character. If I didn't have to read it for a class I was taking in school, I would have thrown it accross my room and never finished it. And despite the fact that I truly hate this book, I believe Lamb to be truly talented, because only a gifted writer could inspire that kind of emotional reaction. I am planning on reading some of his other books because I don't think it's fair to condemn an author's entire work based on one story.

posted by Brittany-Dayle on April 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 163 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    typing!

    The e-book version has a ton of typos. The story is riveting, but whoever typed it needs to go back to high school keyboarding class!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I cannot put this book down.

    I started this book about 2 days ago and on the 9th page, unable to put this book down. After the 2nd chapter the story picks up a lot more, so if you find youself bored in the beginning, just wait. There's so much drama, the characters are unique and of their own. You can sympathize with the main character Dolores, and what she goes through. Something's are totally shocking, that I gasped so loud on the train everyone thought their was a rat or something horrible happening. I COMPLETELY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK!. Wally Lamb is such a great writer. I also recommend-
    "I Know This Much Is True".

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Amazing..So Raw and out there!

    I read this book a couple years ago and was so moved by the story. I have also recommended it to some very good clients of mine and they also have felt the same way. I can't describe how it made me feel you just have to read for yourself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Couldn't get enough!

    I read this book for hours at a time. Very well written story about the thoughts and actions of a girl-turned-woman who reacts to certain events in her life like some of us might react. Thank you, Mr. Lamb for an eye-opening, yet relatable at times, in-depth look into a period piece of literature about a character who comes to life on every page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    This book was a smooth read. It was interesting and as easy to

    This book was a smooth read. It was interesting and as easy to follow as watching a movie. I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Love/Hate

    I can see why so many people either love this book or hate it! Although the main character is often depessing, Wally Lamb is a very gifted writer. At times, I wanted to jump in the book and strangle Delores. At other times, I believe that I was her biggest fan. Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Gripping

    Dolores has a lot of pain in her life and it's a sad trip. However, its so wonderfully written you will gladly take the trip with her. Read this novel and get to know this woman. You may find you have a few things in common.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Good read

    This is my 3rd Wally Lamb book... great author. Slow at times but overall very though-provoking, and although disturbing at times, it gives a voice to the issues it presents. I will definitely continue to read his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Oldie but goodie

    I'd forgotten about this one. It's so good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    She's Come Undone

    I wasn't sure I would finish this book. Since we were reading it for our book club I felt I needed to. Most of the way I said I don't like the book. At the end, however, I understood how all of our lives come undone. But they don't have to stay that way. If you choose to reas this book, I recomend that you see it to the end. It will impact you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Well done!

    Great read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A very honest story!

    Wally Lamb's writing is so amazing with this book! Reading about Dolores felt like a real-life experience happening to someone i knew! It was honest, brutal, real, all the qualities that move you! This book changed my feelings towards others, in a way that it helped me understand about real compassion towards everyone. Everything that happens to us effects our choices in life, whether good or bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    Stick Through It.

    Although this book does tend to drag at certain points, it is high addictive. Definitely a must have on the bookshelf!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Read!! Truly Moving

    This book moved me and stirred emotions that I have never experienced while reading a book. The main character is truly captivating. Wally Lamb is truly a talented and amazing author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Intense

    This is a powerful journey through the life of Dolores Price, an overweight woman who stuggles with issues such as poor self-esteem, self-hatred, finding love, trust, sexual abuse, mother issues...the list goes on. Definately worth reading, if you can stand such serious subject matter for over 400 pages. The story is very addicting. I read it in less than a week because I was pretty invested in her character and wanted to know how her life would turn out. There are some very intense feelings of self-loathing in this book, a topic that some/most women can relate to at times, unfortunately. Some moments made me cringe, so be ready for a heart-wrenching story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    Life's Betrayals

    Imagine having a crazy mom, a dad you never see, and being raised by your grandma that doesn't understand you at all. This is what happens to Dolores Price. She's Come Undone By: Wally Lamb takes you through all the problems she faces in her life from her baby brother dying to a failed marriage. This novel starts in the 1950's and continues to the 1990's. During her life Dolores moves around to live with her grandma, to go to college, and to get away. She's Come Undone is a great book because it is inspirational and very believable, but it does have a lot of adult content.
    Dolores Price will inspire you from the very beginning with her ability to survive all the problems she faces even if she doesn't have the best ways of coping. She shows that life can go on even through death, rape, and bullying. During her life she loses pretty much everything she has, but doesn't give up even without friends to rely on and look to for support. If I faced even one of the things she faced I wouldn't be able to go on with life the way she did.
    The events in this book could very easily take place in everyday life. Babies die from complications everyday like Dolores's brother died during birth. Rape is also a very common occurrence. Dolores was raped by her neighbor, Jack Speight, when she was a young girl. Dolores's parents got divorced after the death of her baby brother.
    She's Come Undone is not for young readers because it has a lot of adult content. It has rape in it and some inappropriate language. Young readers wouldn't understand some of the events that take place. With everything that happens in this book I think it would be best for people over 16.
    In conclusion, She's Come Undone is a very believable journey through the life of a girl that has been raped and faced many other problems in here life. Being inspirational and believable makes this a great book even though it contains adult content. It makes you see what life could be like and teaches you not to judge people by how they look.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This was a very touching, yet disturbing book.

    Dolores Price a girl who is coddled and fed fattening foods, for the replacement of love from and by her mother, is the protagonist in this story. This is a story that is chronicled from 4-40. A lot of horrible things happen to her, which when read makes you empathize her and think of her as a heroine for getting through all of the stuff that life had dumped on her. She went through everything from divorce to rape to death and pregnancy troubles. This woman should be given an award for all that she went through. I agree with one of the reviews that Wally Lamb writes wonderfully from a woman's perspective! He captures all the emotions, and thoughts that a woman thinks about at least once in her life. Wally Lamb is a genius.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2009

    What a journey!

    I couldn't stop reading this book! Once I got through the first couple chapters, I was hooked. And about halfway through I had to double check to make sure Wally Lamb really wasn't a woman! He writes perfectly from a woman's perspective! This pathetic little girl...took half her life to figure it out...to figure life out. Toward the end there, it began to feel redundant and kind of annoyed me...I felt the ending could have had less redundance and more ending. I mean, the whole story was very descriptive and took the time where time was due, except the end. I feel it came to a conclusion too quickly. I was saddened a bit by that. :(

    But in the end, I was inspired by this story. It really touched me and I would definitely recommend this book to anyone...especially those who may feel sorry for themselves for one reason or another. This story shows you that you can rise above. It will be alright. Because it's not the end that counts; it's the journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    Surprisingly great book

    When I first started reading this book, I hated it!! It was frustrating and made me very angry at the main characters. But as I continued to read it became a very personal triumph and I loved it. It made me think of my past and how I overcame my trials. My book club members also enjoyed it and I will recommend this book to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 163 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9