Customer Reviews for

She's Not There: A Life in Two Genders

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2006

    inspiring

    After reading this book I realized how very much we all have in common with each other. I also realized that fear has a way of keeping us static in our lives. This book motivated me into making great leaps in my life-finally! Thanks Jen, I owe you a big one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2003

    Not usally the type of book I read

    I saw Jenny on Oprah. I decided to read the book. This book changed my mind and point of view on transgenders. I actually feel as though I know Jenny now. It is a book about being faithful, having courage and love. Good book highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2003

    Students Enjoyed It

    College students enjoyed this read. Light -hearted and comical, the book changed many students' minds against the socially constructed, dichotomous nature of gender in our culture. Rather than criticizing Boylan for being selfish in her decision to change genders, students began to think that perhaps the question should be re-directed: How can society be so selfish as to disallow transgendered individuals the options to become who they are?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2003

    Examine what it means to be yourself

    I really enjoyed learning about Jenny's struggle with her gender. It also makes you examine what it means to just be your self. It is well-written and takes a light-hearted and humorous approach to a serious topic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    I read Jennifer's book when my son told us that he was transgend

    I read Jennifer's book when my son told us that he was transgender and was switching genders. Her book helped me to understand how my daughter was feeling and what she was going to go through. It is a very moving and enlightening book. Thank you for writing about you and your family, and for being so honest. Your book was easy to read and understand. THANK YOU!!! You are wonderful!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2004

    A Fascinating Exploration

    What, really, is the essence of gender? How does it intersect with some of the universal human experiences--love, or the seeking of it; friendship; the nurturing of children? How, if at all, is Jennifer Boylan different from James Boylan as a beloved and popular teacher? To what extent is being the person he was/is--including, prior to 'outing' his transexualism, a sensitive person inhabiting a body that didn't fit his concept of himself--part of what makes him able to be so effective with students? What fascinating questions! How lucky we are to have this gentle and intelligent book to enjoy, and perhaps to shed some light on these and other questions about what it means to be human!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2003

    A mixture of love and commitment, in rare form

    This was one of the most interesting, thought provoking and wonderful books I have read in my life. James, Jennifer and Grace as well as Richard Russo are simply fantastic and special people. Thanks Grace for being a first rate human being, thanks Richard for defining FRIEND and thanks to the children for being children and part of the epoxy that holds these special people together. And Thank you Jennifer for having the guts to do what was right, become you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2003

    Amazing

    Okay.So I didn`t read the book but I heard the story on Oprah. And okay so im underage ever so slightly.But the story was amazing. Really. Read the book and tell me what you think so I can read it when im 18.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2003

    Not Just Another Pretty Face

    The last thing I want to read is another tell-all by a transsexual. As a 'trans' person myself, and researching this subject in academia to boot, I have read a thousand books on this. I found myself tired to death of hearing about the details of putting on Mom's high heels or Dad's wingtips at age three. But a friend gave me this book and commanded 'Read!' Despite myself, I found myself enchanted by the author's nuanced, delicate brushstrokes. The interrupted chronology and the short story format gives an experience of core samples of a life itself interrupted by social stigma and a staggered path towards self-awareness. I have never read a more intriguing account.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2003

    A Powerful Read

    I read this book recently at a friend's suggestion, and although unsure of what I would find within the pages, I became completely attached to Jenny ... and James before that. This story is an amazing true-to-life recollection of one of the hardest things a man could ever imagine dealing with, until he faced it and found out how strong that made him. Jenny is a powerful writer, her words brought her feelings to life. As a new social worker I have never worked w. transgendered individuals, but appreciate the opportunity given to me in these pages to learn and understand the experience of becoming a woman, when one isn't *born* one. Thanks, Jenny!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1