Customer Reviews for

She's Not There: A Life in Two Genders

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2007

    Real Life is Stranger Than Fiction!

    Jenny went though a bizarre experience during her journal from being a man to becoming a woman. Although a happy Jenny is quite truthful and open in telling her story, I felt sad for those around her especially her/his wife Grace and two sons from his/her pre-Jenny life. What would you do if your spouse changed genders? How would you feel if this was your mother or father? Overall this book is worth reading. There were parts that frustrated me but others that made me smile. It held my attention and made me understand the struggle of those who don't feel that thier outward appearance matches thier inner self-concepts.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2006

    Ground Breaking & Insightful !!!

    This is a fantastic book that not only looks at the life of a transgender, but also the life of her family. It is thought provoking and mindful. You struggle with Jenny from childhood confusion, to marriage, fatherhood, coming out, the sex change, and so much more. One of the best things about this book is that it not only focuses of Jenny and her struggle, but also the struggles of her family. This family shows an undying love for one another and support system that every family in Amarica hopes for!!! As a sociology and psychology graduate I found this book to be one of the most beautiful and rememberable books I've ever read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Excellent story

    This book took me months to read. It is a very personal story, one that I found to be shockingly intimate. The authors use of memory flashbacks, descriptive scenery and the ability to make the reader feel as if they are a silent member of a group is very realistic . Witnessing the experiences in the minds eye and feeling them with the heart. It is as if at times, you the reader, are right there with Jenny as she undergoes her journey.

    The entire book is very well put together. There were times while reading the book that all I could do was think to myself how I understood. I would recommend this book to anyone who is educated and open minded. It will off you the rare chance to share a very real and very personal piece of this womans life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    Fantastic autobiography from a unique prospective

    I picked this book up when it was in the $1.99 bin. At that price it was worth a risk. However, I was pleasantly surprised because this was a really amazing autobiography written by a transgendered woman. The author does a superb job of telling her story and explaining how she first began to feel like a woman. The author doesn't sugarcoat the story and she doesn't bash society for not accepting the choices she's made in life. Instead, the author tells a very human story about a young man not feeling right in his own skin and his attempts to overcome this feeling. Eventually, he realizes that he can never be truly happy as a man and decides to become a woman. Throughout the process, the author describes tough choices and broken relationships, but maintains a good sense of humor. Overall, it was a very very good read.

    I lent this book to a friend whose family member recently announced that he was undergoing the process to become a woman. Though supportive, my friend was unable to fully accept this decision. After reading this book, my friend was better able to understand her family member's choice and it was easier to come to peace with the decision.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic Book About Gender Issues

    This was a wonderful book for someone who is truly interested in the plight of the transexual person. The story is poignant and touching. I would not recommend it for anyone who has discriminatory tendencies concerning gender issues. A truly amazing story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2014

    I loved it. It is so real, moving, and inspirational. I truly ad

    I loved it. It is so real, moving, and inspirational. I truly admire Jenny and her journey towards becoming her real self. Would recommend this to anybody!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Good read

    Jen boylan is obviously a very skilled novelist. It was an easy read, and i felt that most things were laid out on the table with little judgment or bias.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    A+

    A++

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Such Impact and Thoughtfulness

    I truly love this book. It is an "Act One" kind of book; It leaves us wanting more...It creates a, "what Happens Next?" for the reader. I am committed to Ms. Boylan's writing for the rest of my time. I highly recommend the "Act Two" novel, I'm Looking Through you."

    Written in an imaginative, thoughtful, and stimulating style, even those who thought they can not identify with transsexuals find that they easily can empathise. When transgender history is written, this will be a keystone of literature that mainstreams us. Thanks for opening your heart, Jennifer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Honest and funny

    I really enjoyed this frank account of what the author went through in her quest to make her body match her identity. The writing is lyrical and quite poignant in parts and laugh-out-loud funny in others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2