Customer Reviews for

Shift

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A Shift from the Ordinary

One trip, two lifelong childhood friends, the open road and their bikes...what could go wrong? Well apparently a lot. Chris and his best friend, Winston, decided that during their last summer together and as newly graduated seniors, they would use the opportunity to bik...
One trip, two lifelong childhood friends, the open road and their bikes...what could go wrong? Well apparently a lot. Chris and his best friend, Winston, decided that during their last summer together and as newly graduated seniors, they would use the opportunity to bike across the country from West Virginia to California. The reader doesn't start with the adventures that Win and Chris share on their incredible and crazy journey, the reader finds Chris during his first weeks of college, a week after the end of their cross country trip, under investigation. The reason for the investigation, the disappearance of Win.

Shift is the first novel written by Jennifer Bradbury, a high-school English instructor from Burlington, Washington. Bradbury is able to take the characters of Chris and Win and place them with emotions, characteristics and even in depth personalities. Win is given a personality that makes a reader at times really enjoy him and what he says, but Bradbury is able to make the reader feel negatively toward him, with out losing the essence of who he truly is. Bradbury is able to travel through different time periods, such as from the past to the present, without losing the readers focus or understanding; I found that it was easy to stay connected with the plot without losing my place. Bradbury skips from the present to the past to show the events leading toward the current present; the adventures of the cross country trip to the first few weeks at college. She is able to weave into the story clues about the where abouts and possibilities that Win could be found at, using the past events of the trip along with current evidence found in the present: that only his best friend Chris can find. Throughout the novel Winston's dad appears questioning Chris and telling him about Winston's troubles and problems. The whole novel is centered around finding Win. The crux I believe is what Winston's dad tells Chris at a meeting at the dean's office at the university, "He enjoys his own antics but other people tend to tire pretty quickly of his little tricks." This is what holds the story together, because without this information Chris and the audience would begin to believe that Chris is dead and forgotten. But since this relates to a clue from Win himself sent to Chris mentioning of the word trick, he is able to piece the two together and understand who sent it to him.

Over all I would truly recommend this work of literature to any young adult, simply because it is about young adults with the many troubles and pleasures that come with becoming one. It is also a great book for anyone who enjoys mysteries or puzzles, because of the unknown where abouts of Win and the clues he sends along the way to guide Chris to him. Other works I would recommend to be read along with this novel would be the Alex Rider Series.

posted by Clark_KentRK on February 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Shift

Shift by Jennifer Bradbury

Chris and Winston never imaged that riding their bikes from West Virginia to Seattle would end their friendship. According to Win, he has an uncle that lives in Seattle. And have plans on going to college after their summer bike road trip...
Shift by Jennifer Bradbury

Chris and Winston never imaged that riding their bikes from West Virginia to Seattle would end their friendship. According to Win, he has an uncle that lives in Seattle. And have plans on going to college after their summer bike road trip. Chris and Win have been best friends since third grade. Win's parents are very strict, indomitable, and rich. Chris's parents, on the other hand, are compassionate, loving people who think of Win as their other son. On their trip Win falls in love with a ranch they camped at and the people that owned it. Winston behaves oddly during their trip. At the end of the road trip Chris returns home without Win.


On their way to Seattle Chris discovers twenty-thousand dollars in Win's bag but decides not to say anything to Win about it. Chris becomes very suspicious of Win's attitude. He can't imagine why Win didn't tell him about the money. Why would he need that much money and not tell his best friend about it? He was confused. When Chris returns back home without Win, he's life goes ballistic. Back at home the FBI agent Ward, constantly asks Chris about Win. Chris gets annoyed at Win's father because he believes that Chris is somehow responsible for Win's disappearance. Later Win receives a postcard from a suspicious name "Tricksey", when he realizes who Tricksey was he packed his bags and heads out to look for Win.

While Win and Chris were in Montana they saw a coyote tearing out its prey's intestines; they took pictures of it. When they wanted to get a little closer the coyote saw them and then it started chasing them. The coyote eventually got tired of chasing Win and Chris and stopped. As the boys continued Chris got a flat tire, but Win didn't even bother to stop, and left Chris alone in Montana. Win ditched his long-time best friend and did not return for Chris.



The author is trying to say that when people are friends for a long time and if one is comfortable with the friendship that doesn't mean the other person is comfortable also. In fact the other may be miserable. And whatever makes your best friend happy you should let them do that and not let you feel trapped with you. You sometimes need to let a friend go no matter how devastating it is for you. When Chris returned home he didn't feel like finding Win and asking him why he disappeared. He was angry. But it turned out that that disappearance was the best for their friendship.

The author did an okay job. I wasn't too pleased with the book because I was expecting more excitement and more adventure. I would mostly recommend this book to teenagers. I think that it did have a good message. I didn't like some of the language in the book so therefore I give this book three stars. The author did a wonderful job describing the boy's adventure. If you like books about friendships and some adventure then this is a great book for you.

posted by Ilianna on August 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Shift from the Ordinary

    One trip, two lifelong childhood friends, the open road and their bikes...what could go wrong? Well apparently a lot. Chris and his best friend, Winston, decided that during their last summer together and as newly graduated seniors, they would use the opportunity to bike across the country from West Virginia to California. The reader doesn't start with the adventures that Win and Chris share on their incredible and crazy journey, the reader finds Chris during his first weeks of college, a week after the end of their cross country trip, under investigation. The reason for the investigation, the disappearance of Win.

    Shift is the first novel written by Jennifer Bradbury, a high-school English instructor from Burlington, Washington. Bradbury is able to take the characters of Chris and Win and place them with emotions, characteristics and even in depth personalities. Win is given a personality that makes a reader at times really enjoy him and what he says, but Bradbury is able to make the reader feel negatively toward him, with out losing the essence of who he truly is. Bradbury is able to travel through different time periods, such as from the past to the present, without losing the readers focus or understanding; I found that it was easy to stay connected with the plot without losing my place. Bradbury skips from the present to the past to show the events leading toward the current present; the adventures of the cross country trip to the first few weeks at college. She is able to weave into the story clues about the where abouts and possibilities that Win could be found at, using the past events of the trip along with current evidence found in the present: that only his best friend Chris can find. Throughout the novel Winston's dad appears questioning Chris and telling him about Winston's troubles and problems. The whole novel is centered around finding Win. The crux I believe is what Winston's dad tells Chris at a meeting at the dean's office at the university, "He enjoys his own antics but other people tend to tire pretty quickly of his little tricks." This is what holds the story together, because without this information Chris and the audience would begin to believe that Chris is dead and forgotten. But since this relates to a clue from Win himself sent to Chris mentioning of the word trick, he is able to piece the two together and understand who sent it to him.

    Over all I would truly recommend this work of literature to any young adult, simply because it is about young adults with the many troubles and pleasures that come with becoming one. It is also a great book for anyone who enjoys mysteries or puzzles, because of the unknown where abouts of Win and the clues he sends along the way to guide Chris to him. Other works I would recommend to be read along with this novel would be the Alex Rider Series.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2010

    Shift

    Shift by Jennifer Bradbury

    Chris and Winston never imaged that riding their bikes from West Virginia to Seattle would end their friendship. According to Win, he has an uncle that lives in Seattle. And have plans on going to college after their summer bike road trip. Chris and Win have been best friends since third grade. Win's parents are very strict, indomitable, and rich. Chris's parents, on the other hand, are compassionate, loving people who think of Win as their other son. On their trip Win falls in love with a ranch they camped at and the people that owned it. Winston behaves oddly during their trip. At the end of the road trip Chris returns home without Win.


    On their way to Seattle Chris discovers twenty-thousand dollars in Win's bag but decides not to say anything to Win about it. Chris becomes very suspicious of Win's attitude. He can't imagine why Win didn't tell him about the money. Why would he need that much money and not tell his best friend about it? He was confused. When Chris returns back home without Win, he's life goes ballistic. Back at home the FBI agent Ward, constantly asks Chris about Win. Chris gets annoyed at Win's father because he believes that Chris is somehow responsible for Win's disappearance. Later Win receives a postcard from a suspicious name "Tricksey", when he realizes who Tricksey was he packed his bags and heads out to look for Win.

    While Win and Chris were in Montana they saw a coyote tearing out its prey's intestines; they took pictures of it. When they wanted to get a little closer the coyote saw them and then it started chasing them. The coyote eventually got tired of chasing Win and Chris and stopped. As the boys continued Chris got a flat tire, but Win didn't even bother to stop, and left Chris alone in Montana. Win ditched his long-time best friend and did not return for Chris.



    The author is trying to say that when people are friends for a long time and if one is comfortable with the friendship that doesn't mean the other person is comfortable also. In fact the other may be miserable. And whatever makes your best friend happy you should let them do that and not let you feel trapped with you. You sometimes need to let a friend go no matter how devastating it is for you. When Chris returned home he didn't feel like finding Win and asking him why he disappeared. He was angry. But it turned out that that disappearance was the best for their friendship.

    The author did an okay job. I wasn't too pleased with the book because I was expecting more excitement and more adventure. I would mostly recommend this book to teenagers. I think that it did have a good message. I didn't like some of the language in the book so therefore I give this book three stars. The author did a wonderful job describing the boy's adventure. If you like books about friendships and some adventure then this is a great book for you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Take a ride of your life.

    This novel is a strange story of a independence and loyalty to your best friend. 'Shift' is a book that tells the story of Chris Collins as he is in the present but it has him recolecting (is that a word) his cross-country bike trip with his best friend, Win. Win goes missing and Chris has to think back at all his good times on the trip and where his best friend might be. The book focuses on fiding yourself and knowing when to let go of something. A new beginning, so to speak. 'Shift' is a great novel for bike riders and teenagers because it has adventure and a more personal connection to its' characters than just a pure action book. It is a terrific traveling tale.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Probably my favotire book!

    I JUST finished reading this book 1 minute ago! Shift is such a great story! It was so fun to read and the characters grow so much on you! You cant put it down because you REALLY wanna know what happens next! From start to finish, it was GREAT! Everyone should read this epic adventure ;)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jaglvr for TeensReadToo.com

    Chris and his friend, Win(ston), decide to embark on a cross country bike trip after they graduate high school. Their plan is to ride from their home in West Virginia to Seattle, Washington, where Win has an uncle. But in the end, only Chris returns to West Virginia a few weeks before he is to start at Georgia Tech.<BR/><BR/>Chris and Win have known each other since third grade and have been best friends since sixth grade. With the last names of Collins and Coggans, they were destined to know each other. But the bike trip might have been too much for the friendship to bear. Winston comes from a wealthy family where his father either ignores him or degrades him, and his mother is always off on some vacation or other. Win's father has pulled strings to ensure that Win has gained admittance to Dartmouth, the Alma Mater of generations of Coggans. Chris comes from a loving home where his father tells him to set a date to start the bike trip or he will forever regret not having done it.<BR/><BR/>During the trip, Chris notices aspects of Win that he never saw before. Most surprising is the almost twenty-thousand dollars that Win has buried inside his bike panniers. Win never tells Chris about the money, and so, respecting Win's privacy, Chris never asks. But this is only one of many instances on the journey that Chris realizes Win is hiding more than he lets on. <BR/><BR/>Upon return to normal life, Chris is visited by an FBI agent employed by Win's father. Threats are made by Mr. Coggans to find out where his son has gone. Everyone believes that Chris holds the answer to locating Win. But Chris is torn between what is expected of him and what he knows to be the right thing to do.<BR/><BR/>Ms. Bradbury is one of the bright new authors in the Class of 2008. Her story is fresh and keeps the reader curious until the end. The story is told in alternating chapters: one in the present and one during the bike journey. The alternating chapters keep the story flowing and the tension building until the revelation of what Chris finds out about Win.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    Very engaging read

    We read this as a family with our 9 year old. The story was very engaging. It reminded me of how much people can change after high school and the importance of parent-child relationships.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    Highly recommended!

    When i first got the book i was so excited because i had been counting down the days until it arrived. I loved it! I really liked how the author went back and forth between present day, in the story, and back when he was on the bike trip. I would definitely recommend this book to anybody!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Average

    This book was often times predictable and boring. It was okay while it lasted, but to be honest, I didn't even finish it. Not worth the money.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Great

    Very enticing and keeps you going till the very end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Shift This book is about a kid in his 20¿s or 30¿s named criss.

    Shift
    This book is about a kid in his 20’s or 30’s named criss. He rides his bike in a race to Los Angeles. on the way his mom keeps calling and texting him because she is worried. The main reason why was so he would not get hurt. But on the way he ends up facing a lot of problems. One problem is that he tried to get a ride to a house to sleep but they took him the most of the way back to where he started. the main conflict of this book is to finish the race.
    Recommend
    I would recommend this book to someone who likes adventure and racing.
    The reason for adventure is because this book has a lot more adventure than you really think. I would also recommend this book to someone who likes racing because this whole book is about racing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Amazing

    One of the best books I've ever read. I really like the author's writing style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Love!

    I loved this book from beginning to end, it keeps you going you don't know what's going to happen next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    The book Shift is about Chris Collins, the main character, and W

    The book Shift is about Chris Collins, the main character, and Winston Coggans, another important character, taking a trek from their homes in West Virginia across the country to the Pacific Ocean on their bikes. However, at the same time in the book, the story tells of how Chris has to search for Winston, who has all of the sudden disappeared. This is a great story of how two best friends become separated in their friendship on a bike trek. I really liked how the story switched from Chris' present and how he tries to track down Winston to when Chris and Win were still making their trek across the United States. I disliked how although Chris and Winston were friends, they don't treat each other with the type of respect best friends should. This is a very well written book and I definitely recommend it to people of all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    this is a very interesting book to read. i recoomend everyone to

    this is a very interesting book to read. i recoomend everyone to read it. it will not disappoint you.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    I gave this book 5 stars because it was a real attention grabber

    I gave this book 5 stars because it was a real attention grabber, it was so interesting and you were basically glued to the book. This book is about two friends who went on a cross-country biking trip, but in the process of coming back, one of them went missing. The other one had to think back on all of the memories to find out where he might be, since the FBI thinks that he had did it. The book is all about letting go and finding. I would recommend this to an older group of teenagers, since it's kind of hard to understand. Like at first I didn't understand a thing they were talking about, because of everything that was going on. It's kind of fast paced and exciting. Not really suitable for little kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Ae

    Very good i couldnt put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Jggxhgkvdyckvufcgdyglbagckxteicynobokgyrjf

    Dhzrchzjlsvgdcfhgjcjchbgxdgsbccmgiglucncgdjxtsuufikxgxndsyfktsjkj

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    The dirtplace

    A tunnel that branches offvof the main route into camp and leads to a small cave with a sandy floor. Cats make their dirt here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Dj like

    Cool

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Bsmm

    A2

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2