Customer Reviews for

Shift

Average Rating 4.5
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Loved! Have to read!

    I finished it! It was really good, but I can tell you this, it was great, I mean, Logan came back to life! For a little while at least.... this book is amazing! Zach and Logan fight over her! That's what I love about it. I think it's a great book! I cried to when I found out what Logan did. I don't want to give much away beside that its a great book. Once you read the first one, you'll want more and more and more! Right when I got done with the first book, I jumped to the second. If your a young person, this probally isn't the best book for you. It does have some sexual things in it. But it's a great love story! I mean, who wounldn't love a story where the girl has to choose between her futuer and her past. So she could move on, or stay behind in the past? Which would you choose, and which do you think is best for Aura?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Note that this series review might contain slight spoilers for


    Note that this series review might contain slight spoilers for people who haven't read the first two books.

    The Shift is an incomprehensible and strange phenomenon that appeared exactly sixteen years ago. Since then it's been controlling the lives of everyone born after it, giving them the ability to see ghosts. The SHADE series introduces ghosts as a matter of course. They are a part of modern-day life after the Shift instead of some paranormal happening to fear. No people are being haunted. Everyone knows about them and they aren’t the scary spirits we know from other books, which got me interested to read SHADE in the first place. This series presents us with a not at all ordinary ghost story paired with scientific and cultish elements involving a lot of research about what's behind the Shift.

    Aura has an exceptional job, as a kind of ghost whisperer. She's supposed to hear out ghosts and work together with her lawyer aunt. Which teen wouldn't want such a job? In the beginning of SHADE she's together with her boyfriend Logan, a hot musician. And everything seems to be just cut out of a contemporary romance novel. He's celebrating his birthday, they're having a good time and are about to take the next step in their relationship, when.. yeah, when he's being a jerk and dies. His death had been announced in the summary, but I was shocked at the stupidity behind it. Now thanks to the Shift it is possible that he's coming back, even so for a larger part of the story. And with Logan, comes the music. You'll get to be a groupie and just enjoy the show with all the musical aspects Jeri Smith-Ready put into her story!

    In case you might be wondering - it is always one of the questions I am asking first - there is also a love triangle. Aura, Logan and Zachary. Those three have a lot of issues to sort out thoughout the entire series. As opponents, as lovers, friends and even variations in between.
    I often feel the need to choose between the boys who are fighting for the girl. In the SHADE series I was drawn to both of them, could equally understand their motifs and feelings for Aura. Logan's been there from the beginning and I so badly wanted him to find a happy ending, even as a ghost. Then there's Zach, the super nice and supportive Scottish beau who stole my heart with no effort. He just walked into the story and became an inseparable part of it. It's as simple as that!
    Aura & Logan as Aura & Zach have their sweet and sexy moments. Their relationships are steadily emerging, updating, changing. And I really liked the way their relationships and Aura's feelings took from the first to the last book. It always seemed like she was on a journey and in the end she's finally found her way home.
    Aura and Zach's fate - for various reasons - being so closely intertwined, adds a pretty nice touch to the story. Zach is the sweetest and it can't be summarised all that he’s doing for Aura. Their research and connection to the Shift makes up a large part of the story. There is much to discover! But their interest also turns them into targets. And soon they find themselves hunted down by a bunch of bad guys, which adds a kind of really good spy-action-thrill to the books.

    Whereas SHIFT didn't convince me at all, SHADE poses as a great start into this series. The second book was the most unappealing out of the three books, because the story and Aura don't seem to pick up speed, but take three steps backward, meaning her getting involved with even more boys. Please no!

    The Irish influences were pure joy to my heart. I've never even been there, but this country sure has something mysterious and compelling about it. Every time I see pictures or read about it, it feels like it's calling to me with its ancient history and culture.
    Aura and Zach travel the Irish landscape, explore the myths behind Newgrange and hopefully return with what they've come to find. Jeri Smith-Ready fitted their journey with a massive original and authentic atmosphere.


    4/5 **** SHADE series - Purple ghosts, seeking love and mysteries in the heart of Ireland. This trilogy is very rock star!

    This is an entirely different kind of ghost story. It's funky, offers cultish references and a huge amount of musical support. There are governmental conspiracies and a bunch of really bad guys that are after Aura and Zach. Romance and action both guaranteed! Especially the last book in this series left me hoping to see a new book by Jeri Smith-Ready on my shelf very soon!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    You know how some middle series books slow down as they set the

    You know how some middle series books slow down as they set the stage for the final one? Yeeeeah... That's so not the case with Shift. I mean, yes - it IS the middle book. And, yes, it did certainly set the stage for the final book. But, the slowing down part? Not. Even. Close.

    Aura is sad and lonely after Logan turned into a Shade. Until she calls to him on the Spring Equinox and she is able to turn him back to a ghost. Then, a solid person again. Temporarily, anyway. While she doesn't know what this means, she soon realizes the repercussions it could have on her budding relationship with Zachary. While they try and work it all out, the DMP is now going to drastic measures to keep both Aura, Zach and Logan under their thumbs.

    I felt so much for Aura in Shift. I can imagine that it's tough to get over the death of a loved one when you can see and talk to their ghost pretty much whenever you want to. The lines get blurred even more when you can feel them and hug them and kiss them for 17 minutes each quarter. How do you ever move on from something like that? And, yet, Aura tries - not without a small measure of confusion, though. And, how could you blame her?

    Zachary is one of the best male characters I've ever read about in YA fiction. He's kind of a geek. He's awkward and shy at times. Yet, when he needs it, he draws this manly bravery out from his depths and uses it to help those he loves. And, make no mistake - this boy loves Aura. How many times have book boyfriends recited these eloquent swoony speeches to the girls they love, and you sit there and think, "Huh. That sounds like an author wrote that."? Not so here. Zach doesn't always have the right words. He totally makes crap decisions (over and over and OVER again in Shift). And, he is one of the most perfect male YA characters ever. BECAUSE of those things.

    Believe it or not, the most growth seen in this book comes from Logan. He moves from party boy who thinks about himself to a quasi-adult who starts thinking about everyone else around him and how his presence affects them. I loved seeing his character grow and change. I'm glad Jeri Smith-Ready didn't make it easy for him, either. He still loves Aura and doesn't want her with anyone else. Yet, Logan also recognizes that his hanging on causes her to stall too. And, how could he love her if he didn't let her go? But, he positively agonizes over it, and it takes him a long time to reach a mature place.

    One of the best things about this series is that the paranormal elements are steeped in reality. There's a lot of Irish and Celtic mythology in play here with real places and legends not only referenced, but taking a major role in the post-Shift world that Jeri Smith-Ready has created. The author has done her homework and then some. The reality is intertwined so seamlessly with the make-believe that the make-believe seems totally real. Jeri has done her job well.

    The action is plentiful. The frustration for the reader is completely ridiculous. And, by ridiculous, I mean AWESOME. Both Aura and Zach do colossally stupid things in Shift that made me yell and rage. And, somehow, they manage to find common ground and get over all the mistakes and regrets. And, in the end, I found myself bawling over the steering wheel in my car. The ending was amazing and set things up so well for the final book.

    A word about the audio version of Shift - Kristine Hvam is now on my list of Favorite Audiobook Narrators. She did an incredible job with the dialects and the male/female inflections. I loved it.

    Even if ghost stories aren't really your thing (they aren't really my thing), know that the Shade series isn't just a "ghost series." It's about love and loss and defining what freedom really is in all manners of the term.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2014

    I'm going to start this review with a confession.  I LOVE Jeri S

    I'm going to start this review with a confession.  I LOVE Jeri Smith-Ready.  She is one of those authors that brings out the fan-girl-with-stalker-tendencies in me. (I am mostly kidding here.)  Her writing is magical and touches the same part of me that made me drop everything and obsess over Edward Cullen.  It's THAT good.  




    It is difficult to write a review for a second book in a series without mentioning an event or two that occurred in the first book.  There may be some spoilers from book one in this review, so please continue at your own risk. I've tried very hard to be as spoiler-free as possible.




    SHIFT starts off where SHADE ended. Literally.  The transition between the books is seamless and there is no awkward retelling of book one events in the first few chapters as can be the case in some series. 
     
    The thing that excites me most about this book is the character development of the two main male characters in the series. Logan is almost unrecognizable from who he was before his death in SHADE.  To simply say he matures is really doing an injustice to his growth and the events that are a catalyst to his maturity.




    And Zachary. Where to begin? Well, there are some heartbreaking moments with Zachary in this installment. But here's the thing: They needed to happen. A boy can only be so patient with a girl that is being pretty darn wishy-washy in this whole love triangle business. Aura kinda gets her just deserts. In addition to Aura's indecisive heart, Zachary has to consider the ramifications their relationship will have on the WHOLE WORLD! That's a tough call, kids. Even with the heartbreak felt in SHIFT, Zachary is very, very close to becoming my favorite fictional boyfriend of all time.




    Aura is still Aura. I've always really liked her and I think her maturity level is enviable. Not sure how she's able to practice such self control with a naked Zachary, but like I said, her maturity level is enviable. I'm pretty sure I don't have that level of maturity at double her age. ;)




    Many secrets were learned in SHIFT and I feel like the love triangle has been resolved after finishing this book. Which makes me wonder what SHINE is going to bring us. (Surely many chapters will be dedicated to a castle getaway.) There is a hint of a new love triangle forming for Aura so maybe that plot line will be more developed? And I am anxious to learn more about the mysterious Shine event, too. Or....maybe it will be a 500 page love story that accidentally turns into an adult book? Either way, I'm anxiously awaiting Jeri Smith-Ready's next masterpiece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Aaliyah bsi #bajachica

    This was an achingly beautiful book with such a passionate bond between the living and the dead. I am absolutely addicted to this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Happens

    Cant stop reading it so amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    The medicine den

    Where the med, aprentice, and sick cats sleep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    I am obsessed with this series!

    I've read the first two books in the Shift series and I could not hold back my tears both times! I am not a 'girly girl', I am not usually emotional enough to cry over a book. But these books managed to melt me. I abosulutely love the characters, the themes of learning to love and letting go and the suspenseful fantasy/paranormal backdrop. Smith-Ready is truly talented.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    Ynn

    Come on guys write stuff

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Ghostly fun

    I really enjoyed Shift and can't wait for Shine. This trilogy has thus far blown me out of the water. I'm so glad I won it and read it!!
    All the characters I fell in love with are back, and they are still amazing. I do have to say that both Zachary and Logan pulled some things that made me angry and want to hit them, but I think that it worked out okay enough in the end.
    Some of my questions (and Aura's) were answered, but there is still a lot that I want to know and can't wait to find out how the answers come to her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Perfect book!

    My Review:
    I ADORED this book!! Everything about this book is written simply perfectly. I loved the way that the story progressed from the first novel. There was so much heart and emotion written into this one.

    I liked how Aura had matured from the first book. She is so much more confident and sure about what she wanted in this book, although that doesn't mean that there weren't issues with Aura's lingering feelings for Logan, because there definitely were. My heart broke for her in this one. She knows that she wants Zach, but Logan is still a presence in her life which means that he maintains a corner of her heart. It's a no win situation for her, but I loved that she did maintain her honesty about those feelings with Zach at all times. I really respected her character for that. It would have been so easy to mislead and misrepresent her feelings so that she could have Zach, but she didn't do that.

    In the same way, Zach had so much more to his personality in this one. His patience has been stretched to the absolute limit. He wants Aura, but doesn't know how to fight for her anymore. It's so hard to compete against a ghost, but he honestly does it brilliantly in this book. Almost everything that he did in this book made him capture one more piece of my heart as the reader. Add to that, the incredible mystery of the Shift. It's obvious that both Zach & Aura are significant to its occurring and Zach is worried that their actions might affect the outcome of the world. That's a lot of weight to shoulder.

    Then there's Logan. It was wonderful to see him finally show some maturity. He reacts so brilliantly to almost all of his trials in this book. I can finally look at him as truly a good guy (which I had issues with in the first book.) I even fell a little bit in love with Dylan (Logan's younger brother) in this book. I think that I could have been convinced after the prom...

    Everything is good about this one. The characters. The story line. The suspense. There is still heartbreak, but it adds so much depth and dimension to the book. I am dying to know more about how Zach & Aura fit into the whole Shift story and cannot wait for book #3, Shine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Suprised how much I enjoyed them!!

    I must say this series took me by suprise! I had heard of these books from a site where there was a pick you favorite YA males and I had read a lot about Zachary so I figured I would give the books a try. I really enjoyed them both! I really like that they are different (not another vampire or shape shifter story....not that I don't love those also). The story line is addicting, I didn't want to put it down. It is a little risky on some of the love scenes for a YA novel but realistic as far as the struggles teens have with the I want to but I'm not ready feelings. The love triangle is very touching you really do struggle with Aura as she tries to move on from Logan even though she still loves him. Shift even throws another twist in the love story that I wish would've gone a little further with Dylan. I love love love Zachary....even though he can be a little hard headed about things sometimes. I think its just a rule that you have to love a man with an accent!!! I think I will die from anticipation waiting for Shine to come out....summer 2012 is too far away!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    Loved it

    I read the first book a few monthes ago and feel head over heals in love with it logan aura and zach are all great characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    AHHH!!!! I CANT WAIT TO READ IT!!!!!!!"

    I just finished shade!! It was my fave book EVER and i have a dresser of books!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wow! What a Sequel!

    In most cases the Sequel just kind of falls short, rest assured though that this is not the case! This book was so wonderfully done that I was in tears by the end! Truly, not only are these books out-of-the-box and should be admired for being so, but the characters are so easily to get attached to. A fantastic romance with some thrills and witty comedy in between! An absolute must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Book Review: Shift

    I was eager to read this book after finally reading Shade. This did not disappoint me at all. It's an excellent 2nd book in the series (something I don't get to say very often).

    I was not surprised by the events that happen immediately after Logan reappears in Aura's life. As much as she would like to be fully over Logan, his death, and the events afterwards, she isn't. But, I was happy to see her realize that a life with Logan as a ghost really isn't a life. It's more like a constant reminder of what should have been. I can't imagine how hard it would be to get over someone who gone but not really gone. At the same time I really admired her for her determination to do all she could to help Logan fully move on. I think it was a way to help herself move forward and to maybe get a better grasp of what really happened with the Shift. I think she was also really wanting to help Shades/ghosts get the proper treatment they deserved from those who can't see them.

    I was a little surprised at both Logan and Zachary's actions for part of this book. Logan seems to be stuck in the way he was when he died, almost like he's never gone to be capable of learning from his mistakes. Sometimes, he entirely too selfish. He says the he came back for Aura, but I think that's connected to his own reasoning. I also felt that Zachary was a little hard on Aura. I know he's been patient with her and letting her move on at her own pace. I expected more from him though. I also thought he was a typical a**hole during the whole prom scene and the weeks afterwards. I did forgive him a little when he divulged his own reasoning for not wanting to compete with Logan. And he completely redeemed himself in the end.

    I enjoyed the chain of events outside of the relationship drama. I liked learning about the personal connections and events that happened that winter solstice so long ago. I feel like things are finally coming to light even if they don't make complete sense at this point. I'm curious as to how it all plays out in the end. Way to long to wait for the final book in this series!

    *There was one little tidbit with dates that really bugged me. I'm sure no one else noticed and wondering if it was fixed in the final copy. I only noticed because my daughter was born on the winter solstice. The dates don't work for Aura to be conceived on the spring solstice and born prematurely on the winter solstice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Addicting Series - Better Than the First

    Shift is the second book in the Shade Trilogy and it does not fall into that sophomore slump category by any means. Shift is everything that Shade was, then 9938832x more. It has action still, - DMP agents do not seem like nice people - emotional turmoil, - ghosts=death=sadness - and it has romance - I cannot tell you how much I love Zachary. And even Logan. And I loved seeing more of Dylan.

    When Shade left off, Logan just returned from shading, something that's not supposed to be possible. In Shift, he goes on to become solid again. Also, not supposed to happen. Aura feelings become more and more conflicted because she loves Logan, but she has really strong feelings for Zach. The girl is torn and screwed up and definitely flawed in her actions. But that's why I love her. She's the farthest thing from perfect, letting her emotions get the best of her and doing things she shouldn't do. And she knows it.

    Aura's love life is far from the main issue here though. Logan's reappearance and his appearance in solid form are not normal, even for ghost standards. Aura and Zach continue their research into Megaliths and how they, particularly the one at Newgrange where both Aura's mother and Zach's father traveled before they were born, tie into the Shift. More questions are brought up than answers and I'm dying to read the closing book.

    Jeri Smith-Ready is a goddess at writing dark, yet fun, interesting, and sexy as hell stories. Shade hooked me, Shift destroyed me (in a good way), and I'm drooling for Shine. Shift made me run the gamut of emotions. One minute I was happy for the characters, the next I was sad and nearly in tears, two pages later I would be ready to throw the book across the room. All because of Smith-Ready's spectacular emotional hold on me as a reader. If I had Shine in my hands right now, nothing else would matter because I am that eager to figure out how it ends; and you should be too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An enjoyable read. I would recommend it!

    Reviewer: Bri
    Shift is a sequel...a true sequel from what I can tell of Shade. As in, it starts from where the previous book left off. I had not had the opportunity to read Shade prior to Shift and with a short deadline knew I wouldn't. Therefore, for the first time ever I read the sequel first. All I can say is it motivated me to go get Shift now too.

    Aura is a dynamic but believable character, facing all the normal difficulties a teenage girl faces like Algebra, while also dealing with ghosts. One ghost in particular is Logan, her ex-boyfriend she still loves. Throw in Zachary a young man who she is literally destined for and you have yourself a love triangle of paranormal proportions creating a suspenseful fun read.

    Those that read this blog know I am a character-oriented person and Shift delivered. The cast of secondaries were great. However, I think I would have loved them more if I had read Shade first. Therefore, while Shift is amazing, it's even better with Shade.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Even better than the first...

    There's so much I want to say about this book but since I hate long reviews I will try to make this short and sweet.

    YOU MUST READ THIS BOOK!! THIS SERIES!!

    Okay, I guess I have to say a bit more. (heehee)

    So I have to say the I totally enjoyed the first book in this trilogy, Shade. It was an awesome read and I had high expectations for this second book. Jeri certainly did not disappoint.

    Right off the bat we start by witnessing something that we didn't think was possible. But I WILL NOT spoil it for you. I didn't think that I would like a series about ghosts but Jeri just knocks it out of the ballpark. What a great concept and plot this is. It's so interesting to see the generational divide between pre-shifters (those over 18) and post-shifters (those under 18).

    We also get to know Zachary and Logan a bit more. I, of course, am Team Zach but I have to say that after reading this one I have a wee bit more sympathy for Logan.

    Zachary is sweet, patient and totally H-O-T.!!! I haven't had this big a crush on a literally character since Ash from The Iron Fey Series. I love his accent. When I'm reading his lines I totally read them in a Scottish accent, well, I try to. Though I'm sure I don't do him justice. I don't care what he says, the accent does make him sexier.

    Aww, Logan...what can I say about him? Hmm, well he's come a long way and I really feel like he's growing up. One thing that he totally has going for him though is that wonderful journal entry in the book. That really made me waver a bit. What journal entry you say? Well, you'll just have to pick up the book to find out.

    How can I not mention Dylan, Logan's little brother. I just adore him. I hope that my sons turn out to be as brave and good hearted as him. We see a completely different side to him which is fun and exciting and endearing.

    Aura is such a believable character. Sometimes when I'm reading her I think: "That's exactly how I would feel". I am a big fan of heroines who stand up for themselves, who make mistakes and learn from them and Aura definitely does this justice.

    I am really looking forward to reading Shine, the conclusion of this trilogy. The only thing that I'm sad about is that the wait is going to be total torture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4