BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Shift (Shifters Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 388 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(260)

4 Star

(94)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 390 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another great volume

    I bought this book.

    Since this is the fifth book in the series readers really should be familiar with Faythe, Marc, Jace and the shifter world before picking this volume up. If you start here you should be able to pick things up, but the true levity of the situation is more complicated than this one book can explain. In fact, when compared to the rest of the series Shift is clearly a focusing book, eliminating some plot lines and focusing as the series comes to an end.

    Faythe Sanders is a werecat, the prized female of her family, but abhorred by much of the rest of werecat society, which holds females to be used and manipulated for power (and to pop out babies to get more of the rare "tabbies".) But in her family Faythe is an enforcer, bodyguard and extension of the alpha (her father)'s rule, and an unheard of position for the valuable females of the species. But living in a society that has fallen to such extremes such as women being kidnapped and bred over and over like in puppy mills, children being snatched to be raise to be broodmares instead of real people and women's voices being overridden by any male in the area, has made Faythe unwilling to let herself of her cousins and extended family to continue being treated unequally. Her father has risked much to train her to be his own replacement, rather than forcing her to marry off. And for his own choices he's now facing a full on werecat civil war against the clans that want things to remain as they are (with the power where it is as well).

    However, Shift tones down the gender play and focuses on the family and pride dynamics. This book almost side steps from the direct plot arc to the werecat civil war and instead pits Faythe's pride against a rookery of thunderbirds, avian shifters not seen in decades, who suddenly descend on the pride's ranch out for blood.

    Shift is partly side quest, part calm before the storm, which is saying something since most of the book is spent with the werecats fighting the onslaught of werebirds. But the focus is on untangling the depth of the situations Faythe finds herself in and in her learning how to work autonomously, making her own decisions. In essence, Faythe by this book is no longer working on defending her own right to be a valuable member of her pride rather than a valued possession of it, she's learning the complications of being an alpha, no doubt preparing her to face the man out for her father's blood.

    Readers might find this the weakest book in the series, since most of the tension comes from an entirely new adversary and most of the drama comes from Faythe being torn between two men. It is still a fast, enjoyable read, pushing the series to a (hopefully) powerful conclusion. The growing up is hugely evident in this book, as is the focusing and accumulation feel to the overall plot line. Readers should savor every word and be ready for the final scene, Alpha, the sixth and last book due out this October (2010).

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Shift

    My Synopsis:

    Shift by Rachel Vincent (Shifter Series - Book 5)

    Shift is the highly anticipated 5th book in the Shifter Series by Rachel Vincent. Shift will be released in March 2010.

    In this book we find Faythe Sanders and the entire South Central Pride about to become embroiled in a fight with Calvin Malone and his cohorts. A civil war between the werecats is inevitable with the death of Faythe's brother fresh on the minds of everyone involved.

    The lines are drawn for a political fight as well, as Faythe's father tries to regain his council seat. But, they are about to be surprised by the entry of a new foe, the thunderbirds. It's up to Faythe to figure out how to make peace with this new enemy even though her personal life is in turmoil as well.

    How will this new enemy effect their fight with an old foe? Will Faythe be forced to decide between the two men in her life? Will the thunderbirds get revenge for the death of a member of their flight? You'll have to read the new book to find out!

    My Thoughts:

    Book 5 of The Shifter series certainly did not disappoint. We have seen Faythe's character change so much over the course of the series. In this book we see her learning to make some really tough choices, as she matures. She has to decide between what is right for herself and what is right for the pride.

    On top of everything else her personal life is in turmoil. Mark's return from exile has created quite a love triangle for Faythe. Finding comfort from the pain over her brother's death has brought about some serious choices in Faythe's life. Readers will definitely identify with the struggle Faythe has with what her heart is telling her and what her mind is telling her about her relationships.

    Faythe's relationship with Kaci has become more than just protective in nature. She has taken on the role of "mother" whether she wants it or not. When it becomes a choice of whether to let an innocent Tabby die for the crime of another, or finding the proof to set her free, Faythe is forced into action.

    I really loved this book. It was definitely my favorite from the series so far and the ending just left we wanting more. The final book in the Shifter Series, Alpha will tie it all together. I hate to see the end in sight with this Series. It has become one of my all time favorites.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Shift by Rachel Mead

    This series just keeps getting better and better as the characters get sassier and sassier. Totally recommend it to those who liked the first three as well. If you want a more in-depth video review go to youtube and one will be posted on Booknerd1993.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Shiftkit

    There.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Snape

    Yo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Changepelt

    Yeah

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Manystar

    Changepelt? Kits? (Im at mcdonalds. I'll be back home in about 2 weeks.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    Highly recommend

    I readylly enjoyed reading this whole series! Want more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    Excellent Book!!!!

    Excellent book which is packed with action. I could not put the book down. The author acquired and held my attention the whole time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wow!

    A lot goes on in this book that it is hard to write a good review for it without giving away parts from the previous books. What I can say is that there is a lot of action. Between Malone maneuvering to take over, the introduction of the thunderbirds, Faythe owning up to the fact that she will be Alpha in the near future and the whole Marc/Faythe/Jace love triangle, you are not left bored in this book. I could not seem to put this book down.

    I love how much Faythe has progressed over the last few books. She is finally owning up to who she is and she's taking it seriously. Not only is she preparing to be Alpha but she is 100% dedicated to helping and protecting Kaci. Even when the Thunderbirds kidnap the poor girl, not once but twice, Faythe is right behind them making sure she gets her back.

    As for the love triangle, I think that I am still all for Marc. Jace is sweet and all and really steps up and proves he isn't just a flirt, I am a Marc girl. He is dedicated to her and has stuck through everything that she has put him through and is still there when she needs him.

    I cannot wait to read the last book in the series. It will be the final battle between Malone's Pride and Faythe's and I am dying to know what happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Loved this series!!!

    Loved the triangle.. you'll see!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Awesome

    This series is one of the best I've ever read. I hated that they ended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    great series new writer to add to my fave list

    I really enjoy reading books concerning wolves, vampires,etc. this series was really good luckily i started with book one and i could not wait to read all 5 books and the way she writes, one book ends and the next book starts just like reading one large 5 chapter book. i loved this way of writing I will be looking for more books from rachel vincent kb

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Another great addition

    To the series! My only complaint, actually the only one if any of the books, is it was missing a page..... odd.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hooked...

    LOVE THE ENTIRE SERIES!! WISH THERE WERE MORE!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Really Awesome

    You need to read this book. I don't care if you don't normally read paranormal. This book is amazing and deserves to be read. Seriously read the book. It's very wow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    wow

    This book was great. If you are a marc and faythe fan, then you might not like this book but if you are a faythe and Jace fan, Then you will love this book!!!!!!!!! Im not going to give away any of the scretes in this book you have to read it to find out what happens!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    it's intense

    Lost of tension... and it's great. can't wait for Alpha!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW!!!!

    I fell in love with the werecats all over again. Not to mention Marc and Jace. In this book, three of the main characters (Faythe, Jace, and Marc) spend a great deal of time together. Secrets are revealed, and suspicions are confirmed in this hilarious, dramatic, entertaining novel. I am so glad I picked Stray from the shelves, thus introducing me to the Shifters series, and Rogue, Pride, Prey, and now Shift. Rachel Vincent is an amazing author. I cant wait until Alpha comes out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Great Book!

    MARC OR JACE? MARC OR JACE? I cannot choose, I love them both so much! I wish Faythe could have them both but I know that is never going to happen! This book was GREAT, i couldn't put it down! I love that faythe is a strong character even when she was injured most of the time in the book. If you like action and romance in one book, I highly recommend this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 390 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20