Customer Reviews for

Shift (Shifters Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 388 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(260)

4 Star

(94)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 390 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 20
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love This Series!

    I have really enjoyed this series and can't wait for the final book to be released. It really had all the elements I love in a great book and I'll have to say I will be disappointed when it's all over. For those of you who have read these I just have to put it out there that although I like Marc, I can't help but be a cheerleader for Jace. Can't she just keep them both. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!

    Lives up to the other books in the series. Share with a friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Shifter Lover

    I love this series but the issuse of Marc and Jace is being dragged out. I thought I was going to get answer in this book. None the less it is still a great book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    terrific series

    Can I just say, I am really glad I'm not a were cat! I don't think I could survive! The series is terrific though, really keeps your intrest if you like the supernatural. There is a little bit for everyone, personal conflict, romance, fights, power plays, politics, the whole ball of wax! My only real complaint is that Ms Vincent can't really write fast enough. Included is an epic struggle for dominance that effects numerous people. Love and its many struggles, including love between family members, friends and lovers. Plus the personal struggle of individuals to be better people, leaders and weres.
    Ms Vincent keeps the books interesting with its many plots and sub plots, individual and group struggles and conflicts. The books are fast paced, well written and terrific reads. This whole series is worth reading there is so much going on in them I almost feel disappointment when I'm done with the book because I don't have the next one ready to be picked up and enjoyed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Excellent Continuance

    I am very pleased with the way she has continued the story line and kept the characters real and fresh. This series shows not only a great moral attitude in the main character but also excellent values that are missing in todays day and age. She is a true hero in all the senses and loyal to family and her people. She shows tolerance and ability to adapt and learn about new cultures and their values while showing that she does care but will take steps to ensure her culture lives.
    I am eagerly awaiting the next book to see what happens with the rivals and also to see which mate she finally picks --- I am voting to go with both guys but I don't think that will happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    good series

    Good series. Worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Ready for her to choose.

    I am so ready for Faythe to pick someone, and I will be so mad if she picks Jace over Marc. The book itself is another easy, quick read. Rachel does a wonderful job in writing so the reader gets lost in the characters and the plot, she is truly an amazing writer. However, I am so ready for the love triange to be over with. Not that it dosen't cause a good twist but I am not much on the whole, "loving two people at once" deal. I don't think that Jace is right for Faythe and I think that after everything her and Marc have been through she needs to stay with him. Just just steped up to the plate after Ethan died, and to me that is not enough of a reason to shuck however long she has been with Marc, who by the way, is totally in love with her and let her do her own thing for 5 years while he waited. If that doesn't show you love and devotion I don't know what will. The Thunderbirds were a nice twist and I have a feeling that if a war ensues we will be seeing them again. I hope that the next book does not disapoint, and i hope that Faythe wakes up and makes a decision.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    Strange additional characters?

    Unlike some, I like Faythe. And I was looking forward to this newest installment, to see what happens next in the story of Faythe and her pride of werecats.

    But the storyline with the thunderbirds was just so out of nowhere, I couldn't help but wonder why the author brought these guys in when there's so much happening with the other prides. It just seemed kinda weird. Having said that, overall the story was good. Faythe still hasn't gotten her life figured out yet, and her love life in particular is really screwed up, but she's miles beyond where she started in book one. If you've been reading the series, then by all means, don't stop, it's worth reading. But maybe see if a friend has it before buying your own copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    Shift

    Shift is another amazing read from Rachel Vincent. She has brought the story to major upswing and doesn't fail to deliver. She has made her characters so real that I don't know if I would chose Marc or Jace. I cannot wait for the last book!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    great series!!

    I absolutely love this series, but I wasn't too into this book. I mean, don't get me wrong, it still kept me interested to the point where I couldn't put it down, but I feel like Faythe was a bit whiny in this book. And I am so upset with the whole love triangle thats going on. There was so much action in this series, that I felt like that part could have definitely been left out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    The Shifters Series is a Must Read!

    Rachel Vincent's Shifters Series had me hooked from the first book, Stray, through Rogue, Pride, Prey, and the recently released Shift. Faythe has a style all her own and, she is just the right mix of a smart, no nonsense heroine. The world of the werecats is captivating and Faythe's life is full of suspense surrounding some of the archaic stances taken on the females in the prides. Over the course of the series we have seen the prides align themselves into the perfect scenario for a civil war that Faythe's pride is smack in the middle of.

    The romance heats up with the love triangle between Faythe and her fellow enforcers, Marc, and Jace getting even more tangled in Shift. With the final book, Alpha, coming in October, the series will come full circle and we will see what Faythe is able to change in the werecat society. She will no doubt have to make some heart wrenching decisions but we know that she will not back down. With the civil war between the prides looming she will need to be at the top of her game.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    LOVE IT, LOVE IT, LOVE IT

    I am still losing sleep over this series. WOW. I flipping love every book so far. This book in particular had me so stressed out-I kicked the husband, child and dog out and finished it in 1 day. This really is a fantastic series, especially for that person who is to old for teenage books but yet doesnt want to read "real world" crap. You get a lot more edge in these books-I would say not for anyone under 18, but then I'm a mom to a daughter. Can you guys just imagine Marc's body-wew...Anyways-I can not wait until Alpha comes out-I need to know who rips Calvin's throat out and I need to know what Faythe decides in her personal life. I'm all about Marc-If you loved or even liked the others in this series then read this one too. It does not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing!!!

    Rachel Vincent has done it again! Anyone who knows me knows how much I look forward to reading anything Rachel writes. Ever since I read Stray, the first book of the werecat series, I've been hooked. The books just suck me in from start to finish. For example, when I received my copy of Shift I began reading it at 9pm and by the time I looked up it was 6am. I was so captivated by the world Rachel created I didn't even realize nine hours flew by or the fact that I hadn't slept in twenty-four hours. It's that great.

    Shift is the fifth book in the Werecat series but if you haven't yet read Stray, Rogue, Pride, or Prey you could still catch the storyline easily. Personally though I would suggest starting at one and working your way through the riveting action packed series. None of the books disappoint.

    But let me get back to the subject at hand.Shift. One simple word can describe how great this book is.. AMAZING!.

    This book is a thrill ride from beginning to end filled with unpredictable twist and turns, action , romance, and Marc! *sighs*

    Beware the werecat series is an ADULT series. It is not the typical YA I read but it is also not a sex filled romance either. Also it occasionally has some cringing descriptions but all in all the books is a perfect balance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    LOVED IT...MUST READ WHOLE SERIES....GO FAYTHE

    I could not wait for this book to come out. This book was action packed from cover to end and still a nice bit of romance drama in between. I could not put it down. If you love the strong female paranormal, you will love this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    this is an exhilarating werewolf thriller

    The civil war between Werecat clans seems imminent. Malone has challenged Sanders for the pivotal Chair of the Territorial Council. Although Sanders and his daughter Faythe wants to grieve the death of his son Ethan (see Prey), she will be there for her dad; as will the rest of their Pride.

    As the other council members try to prevent clan war, the Sanders Alpha sends their tabbies (Faythe, Manx and Kaci) to safety. However, instead of reaching the haven, the thunderbirds catch the trio. To save Kaci's life, Faythe cuts a deal that sends her, her mate Marc Ramos and Calvin's stepson Jace, whom the two lovers do not trust, into Malone territory with no guarantees.

    Though the plot is a bit thin, this is an exhilarating werewolf thriller as Faythe is at her best with her first person account of the seemingly inevitable civil war, her capture with the younger tabbies and her venture into enemy territory with her mate and the stepson of her dad's rivals. Fans will appreciate her latest escapades while newcomers will seek the backlist (see Pride, Rogue and Shift) as the former student knows werewolf blood will flow unless she and her two traveling hunks pull off a miracle.

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 390 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 20