BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Shifting

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 15, 2012

    I didn't buy this book. I checked it out of my local library and

    I didn't buy this book. I checked it out of my local library and I have to say I loved it. I checked it out the day before yesterday (on the 13th) and finished it today (15th). I loved it. It's very well written and doesn't bore you. It keeps you guessing and it's so emotional. It's full of action and I felt giddy reading about Maggie Mae and Bridger.

    All in all. I love this book and couldn't put it down. I actually had to force my self to go to sleep and not read the book haha. 

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Extremely picky reader, loved this book!!!!

    I am 14 years old and probably the most pickiest person ever when it comes to books!! If I am not completely in love with a book by page one, I stop reading. I wasn't sure how I was going to like this book, but now that I have read it it is one of the best books I've ever read!!!!! I finished the whole entire book in one day (yesterday), which is something I have never done before!!!
    I absolutely fell in love with the main character, Maggie, and am going to recommend this book to everyone I know!!! If you are a fan of realistic fantasy novels with a female lead and bit of romance, you will love it too!! Some of my other fav books are, THE HUNGER GAMES, WINGS, FORGIVE MY FINS, etc.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Bookworm288

    I know that people will say " dont judge a book by its cover" but im glad i did this time. I fell in love with this book from the very begining. I also found myself feeling the emotions that the main character ( Maggie Mae) felt throughout the book. For example, when she cried or felt overwhelmed i would cry and ocassionally my mom would see me and would tell me to stop reading the book but i told her that it was too good to stop. Anyways, i recomend this to anyone. And i hope that whoever reads "Shifting" will fall in love with all of the characters like i did!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    YA Paranormal Done Right!

    This novel was a non-stop, action packed, never-ending ride of paranormal awesome!
    Maggie Mae has to be one of the most enduring characters I have read about in a very long time. I couldn¿t help but feel for her, and at times, I almost felt as much pain as she did. She had been through so much, but she was still very strong and level-headed. She had a life that she could have cried and moaned about, but she didn¿t. She was strong, brave, and never gave up. Bethany Wiggins really brought Maggie Mae to life, and gave her a voice worth listening to. I wish there were more heroines like Maggie Mae out there in the YA world, because everyone knows we need them!
    That being said, I loved most of the characters, but my favorite had to be her foster mother, Mrs. Carpenter. She added this kind of fiery-spice to the book that made Maggie¿s home life so much better, and really made me love her as a character. She was very hands-on in her care of Maggie Mae, as a foster mother should be, and I loved that. Nothing can ruin a story faster for me than parents/guardians who are talked about, but never seen. I am happy to say that is not the case here.
    This story read easily and beautifully and by the end of the first few chapters, I was hooked. Every chapter is exciting and always leaves you with one more thing left thinking about, and always leaves with a bigger and better build up to the next chapter than the last.
    The only thing that I wasn¿t crazy about was the relationship between Bridger and Maggie Mae. I didn¿t feel a ¿connection¿ when they were together. Maybe it was because Maggie Mae was so willing to believe that no one could feel for her romantically, or because this was also one of those relationships that started pretty much from the beginning of the story.
    Most of the time, I felt the reader was hearing more about the romance between Maggie and Bridger than we were seeing it. I wish that their relationship was better build and developed than just the usual boy-meets-girl, boy-falls-for-girl, they¿re together before the end of chapter 3. It was too fast, too soon. But nevertheless, that didn¿t stop me from enjoying the story.
    Shifting is a story that, where it is focused around the concept of shape-shifting (shape-shifters), there is actually a lot more to it than just that. Bethany Wiggins gave us brief¿but in-depth¿background on her take of shape-shifters. It was interesting reading about how shifters came to be, and the back story behind just how different from her kind Maggie Mae really is.
    If you¿re looking for a new take on the paranormal phenomenon that is shape-shifters, I would pick up Shifting by Bethany Wiggins. Action, romance, adventure, and a bit of mystery¿Shifting is not a book you will easily forget. Shifting is YA Paranormal done right; Bethany Wiggins is a wonderful storyteller and an author to look out for. I can¿t wait to see what she has for us readers next.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best books I've read in awhile. If you love Supernatu

    One of the best books I've read in awhile. If you love Supernatural Romance you will love this

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    Amazing book!

    Once you start this book, you won't be able to put it down. You can emotionally connect with every character.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Way better love story than twilight

    I absolutly loved this book. I finished it in one day. Now im going to read it again. I would sooooo reccomend this book to anyone. Read it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Amazing cover.

    The cover is what attracted me to this book. The girl is so pretty and i love the hair. Wonderful book and plot, i am now in love with this author and her other book. I hope to see more!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Shifters vs skin walkers

    Great book with wonderful characters! Could not put it down. Hope you enjoy it too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Really good!!!

    Could not put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Good Read

    This book has a solid character with an interesting story
    Maggie Mae is very easy to relate to and like
    I would recommend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Quietstream

    I wanna read this book so bad.From reviews,it looks amazing!the authors great,too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    BEST BOOK EVER

    O.M.G. I freaking love this book! Anyone and everyone should read it! Im actually super super sad since i just finished it! I need more! Why cant there be a sequel!?! Its literally the best book ive ever read! :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Avid reader

    Hard to put down. Glad I didn't judge the book by it's cover. Wonderful characters. Read it in one day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Good read!

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Loved this book

    I read this book without knowing what it was about. Loved the mystery of it.- I could not put it down. Pulled an all nighter reading it. I did not want it to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Solid read

    This is a must for readers who like things New Mexican. It is a young adult novel, but hey, I liked the Hunger Games. It has shades of Navajo that are interesting with some poetic license present. Works for the plot. And the shifter aspect reflected off skinwalkers make a twisty story. And, please, a sequel,.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Great story

    Love the subject matter tho dont care for the adolecent romance. Story line great tho character development could use some help. Keep writing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Book Worm #1--Wonderful

    This book left me wanting more. Every chapter was amazing. I almost cried when he left Maggie. And i kind of wanted a little more at the end. I admit that all of my questions were left answered, but i wanted them to settle down and get married. I think that the epilogue should have been the last chapter. and then the new epilogue should have been a little bit longer ahead in time. I really wanted them to get married. I was bumbed about that.
    Overall, AMAZING book. The author definately did her job well. :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Lovely

    Wonderful YA paranormal romance. You can't help but love the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3