Customer Reviews for

The Shiksa Syndrome

Average Rating 3.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    Average

    Predictable. Fast read but not very funny or interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Bad Book Syndrome

    This is a dreadful book with so many plot holes it qualifies as Swiss cheese. Nobody could be a stupid as the main character and you could see the outcome of this book for a mile - must be all the Swiss cheese holes

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    easy read

    I found this book easy to read, finished it in one day, and I liked the story. Even though I am not a jew I found that the issues the main character had to deal with very familiar to real life. Over all I liked it and would recommend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2010

    Cute Story about getting What you Want

    ...and then finding out it's not really what you want. The story had funny moments and the main character's frustrations were sympathetic. Good beach reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2009

    Loved it!!!

    I loved this book! I was definitely sad that it was over and it was so funny and so good!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2009

    This shiksa loved Shiksa Syndrome!

    The main character hides her true self to catch a man. And boy things get complicated! The author has fun with the details of the Jewish holidays and the dating life in New York City. There are some good twists and basically I think the writer has a flair for words and fun characters and situations. If you're looking for an enjoyable read, and an interesting look at cultural differences, try this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    Read Shiksa Syndrome

    The Shiksa Syndrome is a really fun read. It reminded me that Judaism isn't just a religion, but also a culture and a way of life that influences the way to talk, dress, eat, decorate and socialize. It's an interesting premise that the Jewish guy falls in love with the Jewish girl when he thinks she isn't - oy! The hora scene was HILARIOUS!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2009

    Shiksa Syndrome, memory land for me

    Whew, Shiksa Syndrome brought back memories, of trying to accomplish the opposite feat, of trying to pass for Jewish to please a boyfriend and his parents. It seems crazy to me now, but I remember getting caught up in trying to change myself to please a lot of other people. So I related to the heroine of this story. I liked the author's message, that once we let go of assumptions and expectations we can find a healthy relationship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2008

    Graff's Best Yet!

    I've read everything Laurie Graff has ever written and Shiksa Sydrome is by far her best work yet! As usual, Graff's writing is very entertaining and witty, but in this novel Graff's story takes us on a wonderful ride from start to finish. The inherent flaws in the lovable protagonist provide belly laughs from the moment she decides to go undercover as a Shiksa, and as the situations she finds herself in get more and more preposterous, the laughs get louder and louder. The entire time I was reading this, I was picturing a wonderful date movie starring Jennifer Aniston. But I don't want to ruin anything! Just read it for yourself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    The perfect read!

    It wasn't a fast read, but it wasn't a slow read....it was a perfect read! <BR/>I found The Shiksa Syndrome to be a many layered book. While it made me laugh, cry, ponder, and appreciate, it also lassoed me with curiousity and involved me in Aimee's life. I kept thinking...isn't there someone I can fix her up with??? <BR/>Many passages were thought provoking enabling me to stop and dig deeper into the words before me. <BR/>Laurie Graff's books always afford me great enjoyment...and this one was no different. A highly recommend from me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2008

    WOW - You don't have to be Jewish...! A perfect holiday gift - for yourself and others!

    I eagerly await each of Graff's books, and Shiksa Syndrome is the best yet! My only "complaint" is that it's completely addictive; I kept having to read "just one more chapter" instead of going to bed! <BR/><BR/>Shiksa Syndrome chronicles the relationship trials of the main character, Aimee, with humor and charm. When a relationship with a non-Jewish man doesn't work out, Aimee finds the "perfect" Jewish guy - only to discover that SHE has to become a "shiksa" to "get" him! In this exploration of attractions, expectations and self-awareness, Graff's deep understanding of people once again comes through, making the characters in Shiksa Syndrome multidimensional, funny, and sympathetic. From the first words until the can't-put-it-down ending, we're drawn into the story of people that become as alive, with all their good points and flaws, as our real life friends! And, as the old ad went, "you don't have to be Jewish" to thoroughly enjoy this!<BR/><BR/>Brava, Laurie - Can't wait for the next one! And the movie...;-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2