Customer Reviews for

Shiloh

Average Rating 4.5
( 210 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(143)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

The best book in the whole world!!!!

I adore the book,Shiloh,because Shiloh(the dog)comes into Marty's life when he takes a walk. When Marty sees Shiloh he wants to keep him. The problem of this book is Judd Travers,the owner of Shiloh,wants him back. This book will get you emotionally hooked to the end. W...
I adore the book,Shiloh,because Shiloh(the dog)comes into Marty's life when he takes a walk. When Marty sees Shiloh he wants to keep him. The problem of this book is Judd Travers,the owner of Shiloh,wants him back. This book will get you emotionally hooked to the end. We really like how many details the author put in because it really makes me imagine the story and helped me understand how they felt.

posted by 5thgradestudents on May 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

SHILOH IS GREAT

Everyone needs to read this book. It's good.

posted by Anonymous on May 12, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 210 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    The best book in the whole world!!!!

    I adore the book,Shiloh,because Shiloh(the dog)comes into Marty's life when he takes a walk. When Marty sees Shiloh he wants to keep him. The problem of this book is Judd Travers,the owner of Shiloh,wants him back. This book will get you emotionally hooked to the end. We really like how many details the author put in because it really makes me imagine the story and helped me understand how they felt.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The book was great!!! :)

    Can a boy keep a secret about a mistreated dog that he is keeping hidden from his cruel owner? In the Newberry Honors book Shiloh. Marty Preston struggles to keep an abused beagle from its master who mistreats it everyday. This book is a great family story and is excellent for young readers. You will love this book, when you read it will astonish you and leave you breathless. You should read this book.

    I am very curious about the sad child hood of Judd Travers. Although Judd Travers is an unfriendly person he seems to have a soft spot for people caring about his childhood, like when he was driving Marty to his friend's house Judd told Marty about his sad childhood and how he was wacked with a belt if he did something bad. Marty said that he felt bad for Judd; once Judd heard this he got emotional and said that no one had ever said something like that to him. While most people think of Judd as a grumpy mean old man Marty knows he has a soft spot and is kind inside of him.

    I extremely enjoy the friendship of Marty and Shiloh. I like this part because Marty treats Shiloh very well, almost like a human. For example when Marty and his dad went to Judd Travers house to return Shiloh Judd gave Shiloh a kick on the behind for running away. When Marty and his dad were driving away Marty was crying because Judd mistreated Shiloh. While most people do not like dogs it's different for Marty Preston, His best friend is a dog!

    Overall this is a great book. It has plenty of details and is very heartwarming. I love the friendship of Marty and Shiloh and I'm still a little curious about Judd's feelings. This book is a superb masterpiece of writing. Once you read this book it will leave you smiling about how a boy and a dog become best friends.


    slipknotfan96

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    You sholud read Shiloh because...

    Have you ever loved something so much that you would do any thing for it? Well Marty Preston did. The book Shiloh was written by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor and it was the 1992 Newbery Medal Winner. This book is great for people that like realistic fiction books. You should read Shiloh because of the amazing story plot and the amazing characters. This is incredible story about a friendship like no other.
    This book has an amazing story plot. I loved the idea of Marty keeping Shiloh a secret from the rest of the rest family. I liked it because it keeps you on the edge of you seat, wondering what will happen next to Marty and Shiloh. Another thing I liked about the plot are the things that Marty did to keep Shiloh a secret from everyone else he knew. One thing Marty did was Marty did is that he was always up on the hill behind his family's house where Shiloh was. Another thing he did is that Marty put squash and other foods away for Shiloh to eat later, but his mom knew that Marty did not like squash. The last thing is that Marty would lie to people to keep Shiloh secret. One person he lied to is his friend, David Howers. He said that David was not allowed to come over to his house because his mom's head was hurting her and that she did not won't anyone to come over. I thought that this was a very good book about a boy and a dog.
    The next thing I liked about the book was the characters. One of the characters that I liked was Judd Traverse. I liked Judd even though he was the bad guy in the book. One thing that Judd did that I did not like, but made the story better was that he was mean to his dogs. One thing Judd did is that he starved his dogs to make them hunt better. Another thing he did is that he kicked his dogs to tell them to go away. I liked him because he added to the book. I think this because if he was not in the it would have not have been as good. That is why I think Judd is a good character.
    In my opinion Shiloh was an amazing story. I liked it for its unique story plot and for its strong characters. If you like fun and powerful books then this is a book for you.
    Written by the question mark?

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2006

    This book is good )

    This book was good I read it 2 times! It was sad. But it was touching. People should read it.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Sad

    I love this book so much that i could read it all night and this book is amazing

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    Lovely story of a dogand his friend

    Introduction
    This wonderful story is about Marty Preston, a boy who finds a young beagle who acts like he has been highly mistreated and needs someone to save him. Marty calls the dog Shiloh.
    Description and summary of main points
    Marty realizes that Shiloh is not his dog but he doesn’t want to return the dog to the cruel Judd Travers because he knows that Judd beats his dogs. Marty is torn between the right things to do for Shiloh but still not lie and to obey the law. Marty knows that keeping Shiloh is not right but it is better than sending him to Judd who will beat him and might shoot him. Shiloh is very important to Marty so he will do everything in his power to save the dog.
    Evaluation
    This book surprised me. I thought it was going to be a boring story about a dog but it is more than that it is about a friendship that is as strong as steel. I am glad I chose to read this story.
    Conclusion
    Marty works hard for Judd to earn money for Shiloh but Judd may try to use Marty for his own benefit and not give him the dog. Marty works for days to get Shiloh. Marty thinks he earned Shiloh but will Judd go back on his promise?
    Your final review
    “Shiloh” is a wonderful book and I recommend it to anyone that has a soft spot in their heart for a dog or any animal. I very much enjoyed this book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    good for animal lovers

    This intense yet heart- warming novel Shiloh sends you on an emotional twisting and turning roller coaster ride. You will be sitting on the edge of your seat anxiously reading and awaiting. Stuck between a rock and a hard place Marty breaks his back to save the life of a dog named Shiloh, whether it comes to getting himself in a pot of boiling water or lying to everyone he knows. The hopeless beagle escapes from the horrific owner to Marks rescue. Fighting with the world to save Shiloh's life can't spare much more time, the clock is running out!

    Marty, carrying a 22 rifle shooting anything standing in his path home, was strolling down the dirt road just past the Ratty Bridge by the old School house that was his favorite place to walk, a dog comes out in the middle of no where, and follows Marty home, with the beagle very skittish, signaling abuse. Marty couldn't leave that homeless stray all alone and afraid, knowing what his parents would say if they found out He would be taking a ride to the pound before nightfall. Marty deceitfully hides Shiloh on the hillside behind their house for seem like an eternity. What's next? Well the worst is yet to come when Marty successfully keeps Shiloh in the back for months without ever spraying a word even to his best friend Danny not making one little mistake until now. One night Marty Forgets to cover the cage to protect Shiloh from death seeking creatures that lurk the land throughout the night. Will Marty continue to keep Shiloh a secret or is there even a Shiloh let to save.

    Filled with jaw dropping details Phyllis Reynolds wrote this novel due to an experience she witnessed when she took a sudden trip to West Virginia where she seen a dog similar to the condition Shiloh was in when Marty spotted him. The sight of the poor stray dog kept haunting her until she wrote her thoughts down on paper; in result the novel Shiloh was created. Phyllis Reynolds also explains the harsh reality that happens every day with abusive pet owners. However, some are not so lucky to find new owners, what is the world coming to these days. Would you go through what Marty went through to save a stray?

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    What a great book

    Can two humans really fight over a small beagle? Then Shiloh might be the perfect book for you. It's a spectacular, realistic fiction book written by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor. It's about an eleven year old boy named Marty, a greedy horrible man named Judd Travers, and Judd's dog (Marty named him Shiloh after the classic Shiloh schoolhouse). Marty Preston is up in the creek, and finds a small beagle, and followed Marty to his house. Shiloh might be the perfect book for you.
    The author was very interesting with the characters Marty Preston, and Judd Travers in Shiloh. If Judd and Marty trusted each other, Judd Travers wouldn't be greedy, and it would make the story less interesting. There has to be at least one bad guy. Judd confessed to Marty that he was abused by his own father, but Judd doesn't want Marty to feel sorry for him. Also, Marty saw Judd shoot a doe out of season, and he did not approve it. The author wrote lots of good characters and a few bad characters.
    I thank the author for using the talents of an eleven year old boy, and a man who fight over a tiny beagle. I think the story should stay the way it is, because the events are just fantastic. Judd was abused by his own father when he was four. But then, when Judd grew into a man, he abused his own dog that has a brilliant imagination. So what are you waiting for? Turn off that television, and go to a book store or library and find the book Shiloh today. Genus boy.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Naylor write another awsome book.

    Sorry about that first one,but Naylor please write another awsome Shiloh book,I know I'm on Shiloh Season but please,write another awsome Shiloh book,please.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    a really good book

    The book Shiloh.Is about a kid named Marty.He finds a dog.It follows him home.So when he got home he asks his dad if he could keep it.He said no its probably Judds dog.Marty finds him on the hill again.And keeps him on the hill in a shelter.Shiloh is a 4 star book.I gave it 4 stars because I like dogs and I like adventure books.If you do you should read this book.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2000

    SHILOH IS GREAT

    Everyone needs to read this book. It's good.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    Best

    I love it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    So cute

    I love the dog &star

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Sad

    I could imagine everything happening in the book. I haven't finished the book, but its kind of sad

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Read this book!

    This is a great book for all ages! YOU MUST READ IT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Love

    Love it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Great

    The book nearly made me cry it was jampacked with awesomeness but there wre barley any jokes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    So sad. But so wonderful

    I love this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    B

    B
    B
    Jn.l


    K

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Alex

    It is so sad

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 210 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11