Customer Reviews for

Shiloh

Average Rating 4.5
( 210 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(143)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

The best book in the whole world!!!!

I adore the book,Shiloh,because Shiloh(the dog)comes into Marty's life when he takes a walk. When Marty sees Shiloh he wants to keep him. The problem of this book is Judd Travers,the owner of Shiloh,wants him back. This book will get you emotionally hooked to the end. W...
I adore the book,Shiloh,because Shiloh(the dog)comes into Marty's life when he takes a walk. When Marty sees Shiloh he wants to keep him. The problem of this book is Judd Travers,the owner of Shiloh,wants him back. This book will get you emotionally hooked to the end. We really like how many details the author put in because it really makes me imagine the story and helped me understand how they felt.

posted by 5thgradestudents on May 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

SHILOH IS GREAT

Everyone needs to read this book. It's good.

posted by Anonymous on May 12, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2006

    This book is good )

    This book was good I read it 2 times! It was sad. But it was touching. People should read it.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    a really good book

    The book Shiloh.Is about a kid named Marty.He finds a dog.It follows him home.So when he got home he asks his dad if he could keep it.He said no its probably Judds dog.Marty finds him on the hill again.And keeps him on the hill in a shelter.Shiloh is a 4 star book.I gave it 4 stars because I like dogs and I like adventure books.If you do you should read this book.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    I remember reading this way back in elementary school and I just

    I remember reading this way back in elementary school and I just loved it to pieces. i had read it about four times. Just recently i had seen
    a copy at the library and it brought me back. I had forgotten much about the story so I decided to re-re-re-re-re-read it. After doing so, I 
    wonder to myself how i could forget such a heart warming story like this. 
    To see such love between a boy and his dog is what my childhood consisted of. It made me want a dog so badly. Marty was sort of a hero
    to my younger self. I admired his devotion and the care he had. He showed that hard work for something you love will always pay off. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Shiloh

    Gp

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Dasewalindlsngdgdhrhdhhydvrgdgdgegdgdgdyefyhtrhgmjfhgg

    Vghfhfhchcnfhfhhcvjhchrtehdjfhgresxqdadgjkhghfhtjfnnfgbgfhchggxxfxgcffrxrxrxxtxxxrxxrxrdttftdufjkiff.fuuktgcng

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Good

    Great book. The comsept is really sad but it has a very happy ending. Would reccomend.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    Shiloh

    Marty is a boy who lives with his mother,father, and two sisters. He loves animals very much, and desperately wants a dog.One day he finds a dog in the woods. The dog follows him home and he later learns that the dog belongs to a bully named Judd Travers. While going to return the dog, he names it Shiloh. Later, he finds the dog, it had run away again. He decides not to give the dog bck to Judd, and builds a pen and hides Shiloh. He does not tell his parents, but they later find out and want to keep him as much as Marty does.But one day Shiloh get injured by another dog and Marty is forced to call a doctor, who later tells Judd about the dog. He wants the dog back, but Marty's family talks him into keeping Shiloh with them until he is healthy again. Judd agrees. Later, Marty sees Judd shoot a doe, when it's off season! Marty threatens to tell the police about what he saw, but he won't, only if Judd give Shiloh to him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    Lovely Novel for Tweens

    Newbery Award Winner. A wonderful story of a sensitive young boy who is adopted by a hunting beagle, which actually belongs to an unprincipled neighbor who is abusive to his dogs. Marty must figure out a way to keep the dog from its owner and keep it in a household which can't support another mouth to feed. This book has wonderful lessons and is a delight to read. Similar in setting, tone, and content to A Day When No Pigs Would Die.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2009

    Shiloh waas a great book to read. I thunk that shiloh should be read by every kid because they would enjoy it. Shiloh will be one of my favorite books for a long time.

    Shiloh

    There is nothing else that 11 year-old Marty could do but be himself and walk through the woods with his 22 rifle and see what he could shoot.

    One day Marty was walking through the woods when a beagle pup wondered home with him so he told his parents that he thought that the dog had been abused. His parents told him that he couldn't keep him, so Marty took him and hid him. His parents found out and they told him to take him back to his owner. So the next day he took Shiloh back up into the hills to Judd Travers House. When he arrived to his house he saw the other dogs pined up and looked as they had been abused. He told Judd what had happened and asked if he could have the dog. He told Marty that if he worked for a week and cleaned up around the house.

    Evaluation
    Shiloh was a good book to me because it is a classic and it hooks you to read on because at the end of each chapter something happens and you want to find. I read the book in about a week because of how good it was. I would recommend anyone to read it because it will make you want to just keep on reading.


    In the end after Marty cleaned up around Judd's house Judd told him that he couldn't have the dog and Marty told him off, so Judd told him that he could have him if he would never tell anyone about what he had done. So Marty didn't tell and he got to keep Shiloh and him and Judd have been friends ever since.

    So I'll probably read this book many more times in my life because it never gets old and one day when I have kids I'll tell them about the book and I hope that they will read that book one day and I know that they'll like it just as much as I do.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2008

    READ THIS BOOK!! by Phyllis Naylor,

    This book shows me great amazment about friendship between dog and human. This Recommended book not only taught me the friendships of dogs and human, but made me think of the friendships of everything, even though people can think differently. SO DON'T ABUSE YOUR PET OR AND ANIMAL FOR FUN!!!!'not even a small bug'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2008

    Shiloh

    Have you ever seen someone hurt or abuse a dog? This book ¿Shiloh¿ by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor is about a young boy, Marty who is determined to rescue Shiloh from his cruel owner.        Marty¿s family lives in West Virginia in a small house out of town, and his family is poor. When Marty and Shiloh met it was because Shiloh ran away from Jed, his owner. Marty finds out that Jed mistreats all of his dogs.        This story is about Marty¿s attempt to rescue Shiloh and keep him. How could he do this when his family is so poor?  Will he be successful? To know this you must read the book.        I rate this story two tails up! What I like about this book is that it could be a true story, and the way the characters were developed made me feel like I could know them. By Isabel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2008

    Adorable

    I loved reading this book. This a great story about confidence and love between a boy and his new found dog. If you like this one read to the other two. I named my own dog after the dog in the story because the looked and acted the same.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2007

    There's a Sweet, Lovable Dog named Shiloh!

    Marty would do a lot to get a dog of his own. But he especially has to get this one. The owner, Judd Travers, isn't very kind to Shiloh at all. Shiloh's depending on Marty to be saved. And Marty's going to work as hard as he can to get this lovable dog.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2007

    Who Will Protect The Animals If You Won't?

    People can be abusive to people as well as animals. Story makes you think about what is right and wrong and how far one should go if they witness a wrong. There are more lessons to be learned than the obvious story line. That's what makes great stories great when they can extend the imagination of the reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2007

    A boy and his dog

    I loved this book because I love animals and this book shows the strength and courage of an eleven year old who saves a young pup from a terrible owner who mistreats it. I feel that this book will show children that even though they are young, they can make very adult choices to change things that they don't want to occurr any more. Children of all ages will be enthralled by this book and will want to read it again and again, I know that I did and I still want to read it over and over!!! Naylor, Phyllis R. Shiloh. New York: Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing, 1991.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2007

    Shiloh

    Shiloh is about a boy 'Marty' saves a dog'Shiloh' from a boy'Judd' who is cruel to Shiloh. As Marty keeps Shiloh from Judd he starts to act differently. Marty begins to lie to his family and friends. Behavior he knows is wrong. The longer he keeps Shiloh, Marty finds nothing is as simple as it seems. However, Marty finds out more about Judd and the reason he acts the way he does, in which the readers and Marty finds it less certain that Judd in fact mistreated his dogs. Naylor, Phillip. Shiloh. New York: Simon and Schuster BFYR, 1991.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2007

    Newbery Winner!

    This is a story of a young boy named Marty who loves to spend time in the mountains where he lives. One day Marty finds a beagle dog that ends up following him home. Marty¿s parents of course do not want to keep the dog because they barely have enough food for themselves not along a dog. Marty senses that the dog has been mistreated by the way he acts around people, because of this Marty does not want the dog to go back to his owner. Marty has a lot of questions upon him should he tell his parents about the dog following him home, should he keep the dog because of the abuse he thinks the dog has suffered, and should he steal food to feed the dog? These are the questions that Marty has been faced with. Of course his parents find out about the dog and Marty and his father take the beagle back to the owner, Judd. Shiloh, the name that Marty gave the beagle, found his way back to Marty¿s house while Judd had him out hunting. Marty decides he will keep Shiloh this time but he doesn¿t know how to keep him quiet from his parents and how he is going to feed him. Marty ends up lying to his parents among others, but Marty doesn¿t see it as lying as long as he is saving a dogs life. Marty is constantly looking for ways to feed his dog Shiloh. Finally, later in the story Marty¿s mother finds him with the dog. That night, Marty hears that Shiloh is hurting, so he jumps out of bed, with his dad following, and finds that Shiloh has been attacked by another dog. This is where Marty¿s father finds out about Shiloh. But to Marty¿s surprise his father takes Shiloh to a doctor. After doctoring up Shiloh, Marty¿s father tells him after Shiloh gets well that they have to take Shiloh back to Judd. In the meanwhile Shiloh gets to stay in the house with the family and it seems as if everyone has taken to Shiloh. Judd arrives one day after hearing that Marty has his dog, after seeing how scared the dog is of Judd, Marty¿s mother offers money to him for the dog. Judd tells them no money, and he wants the dog back on a certain day. Marty decides that he will stand up to Judd and tell him that he is not giving Shiloh back to him. When he goes to see Judd he finds him hunting deer out of season and kills a doe. Marty makes an offer for Shiloh and it worked so he planned on buying the dog. The deal was that he worked around Judd¿s house for twenty hours in place for Shiloh. Marty worked very hard for Judd in place for Shiloh while Judd sit back and poked fun at him. Marty started trying to get along with Judd just in case Judd took a notion to get back at Marty and maybe hurt Shiloh. In the end they got along better and Judd gave Marty a better dog collar for Shiloh. Naylor, Phyllis Reynolds.Shiloh. New York: Bantam Doubleday Dell Books for Young Readers, 1991. The reading level is between the grades of 3-6.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2006

    Shiloh

    Shiloh is a story about a young boy named Marty, who finds a shy beagle dog and comes to realize that the dog has been mistreated. He ends up keeping him for a while until the owner Judd finds out where he is. Marty fell in love with the dog so he goes to Judd¿s house on day and makes him a deal after he saw Judd shot a doe out of season. The conflict that goes on in the story is when Marty don¿t know what to do when Judd wants Shiloh back, and Marty also argues with Judd so he can keep Shiloh. Readers of the book Shiloh should expect a great story especially if they like dogs. It¿s a good book with a good meaning. Recommendations: I recommend this book to any people that like dogs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2006

    Good Book!

    This book is a Newbery Award winner and a fictional story about a boy and his beagle dog. This book is about a eleven year old book Marty who loves to spend time up in the hills behind his home in West Virginia. One Sunday he comes across different on his path way to school it was a young beagle. This begins the trouble for Shiloh when he suspects that the dog is being mistreated. He tries to return the dog, but the owner has a gun and no one is there to help Marty. He discovers a lot about him self and that is no easy to separate right from wrong. But, Mary will do anything for a dog. The author of this book is Phyllis Reynolds Naylor says the hardest part of being a writer is focusing only on the book she is currently writing because she is constantly comes up with new ideas and characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2006

    Shiloh

    The book I am reviewing is Shiloh written by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor. I think my book deserves three and a half stars because it is okay, but sad. This book is about a boy who finds a dog and keeps him. The problem in story is that the dog belongs to a mean hunter who doesn¿t like his dogs. Marty, ¿the boy¿ has to hide the dog and keep him a secret. I¿d recommend this book to anyone that likes happy endings. Other books by the author are The Agony Of Alice and Beetles, Lightly Toasted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3