Customer Reviews for

Shimmer (Riley Bloom Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 212 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(141)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

A sweet, engaging read

In Alyson Noel's second charmer about 12 year old Riley Bloom, Shimmer, Riley's newly discovered talents are put to the test when she meets Rebecca, the ghost of a plantation owner's daughter. Rebecca's anger is trapping souls in their own angry, painful memories, and R...
In Alyson Noel's second charmer about 12 year old Riley Bloom, Shimmer, Riley's newly discovered talents are put to the test when she meets Rebecca, the ghost of a plantation owner's daughter. Rebecca's anger is trapping souls in their own angry, painful memories, and Riley and her friends, ghost guide Bhodi and golden retriever Buttercup, must find a way to free the trapped souls, and help Rebecca let go of a horrible event in her past, so she may move on to the Here & Now.

I adored Radiance, and Shimmer was just as good. I'm still amazed at Ms. Noel's ability to see through a 12 yr old's eyes and write about themes such as slavery, and the horrid things that happened during that unpleasant time in our history, while always keeping a glimmer of hope on the horizon. Shimmer was a wonderful read and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to reluctant readers. It ends with some unanswered questions that I'm sure will be resolved in the next Riley Bloom adventure, Dreamscape, coming this fall!

posted by StarSpun on February 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great book

Awessome book great setting!

posted by Anonymous on April 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 213 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A sweet, engaging read

    In Alyson Noel's second charmer about 12 year old Riley Bloom, Shimmer, Riley's newly discovered talents are put to the test when she meets Rebecca, the ghost of a plantation owner's daughter. Rebecca's anger is trapping souls in their own angry, painful memories, and Riley and her friends, ghost guide Bhodi and golden retriever Buttercup, must find a way to free the trapped souls, and help Rebecca let go of a horrible event in her past, so she may move on to the Here & Now.

    I adored Radiance, and Shimmer was just as good. I'm still amazed at Ms. Noel's ability to see through a 12 yr old's eyes and write about themes such as slavery, and the horrid things that happened during that unpleasant time in our history, while always keeping a glimmer of hope on the horizon. Shimmer was a wonderful read and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to reluctant readers. It ends with some unanswered questions that I'm sure will be resolved in the next Riley Bloom adventure, Dreamscape, coming this fall!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    I luved it

    I have no idea what the people with negative comments are talking about......its not boring at ALL! When it talks about the fire buring the house and it burning the girls feet, it felt so....real

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Shimmer

    I have read the sample of it and in counting I have read it 40x. I highly recamend this book. I am nine years old I only have three books so hopefuly my parents will let me buy the book!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Great book

    I really love this book im 10 and bought it at a book fair at my school.Read the first one and was addicted i would recommend this book to people who like reading suspenceful books about the fight of death

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Perfect for Tweens-young YA

    Short Version:
    So on the rating let me explain if you go in with the thought that you are going to read a middle grade book that gets right to the point and tells a great story you will love this book but if you go in expecting a long drawn out story with romance than you will feel disappointed but trust me this is a really good book!

    If you have read the Evermore series you will enjoy this but it's not required that you do. You will be lost if you haven't read Radiance the first book in this series. You can find my review of Radiance here.

    Long Version: (Don't read if you haven't read Radiance)
    After Riley successfully completed her first mission she was granted time off to go back to the earth plane where she can relax and get to know her guide Bodhi but things never go smoothly for Riley. She comes across a vicious hell dog and while Bodhi warns her not to get involved or have anything to do with it, she does the exact opposite. Riley finds out that the dog belongs to Rebecca, an evil spirit, who traps spirits in their worst fear and feeds off their tortured energy. Only to make matters worse Bodhi and Buttercup get trapped and Riley has to save her guide, dog, and put a stop to Rebecca's evil ways. When Rebecca finds out that Riley want's to stop her, she blocks her out and Riley finds help from a spirit who is tied to Rebecca's past. He sends Riley on a spirit quest to show her the type of person Rebecca used to be when she was alive and what she suffered while living on her father's plantation. Alyson Noel does not tread lightly on the topic of slavery giving us flashbacks to how horrible slaves were tread and I found it to be a great element in the story. In Shimmer we learn more about Bodhi and what his biggest regret was when he was alive. Rebecca also shows Riley the tragic way that she died and why she is so angry, but she is one ghost that is not willing to cross over. Riley has always been one of my favorite characters and while I have so many questions about where the series will go I find Shimmer to be a great book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Awesome

    Im a different nine year old and my sister got a nook gift card and now I have the book!!!!!!soooooooo awesome and if u think im wayy too young or anything… MY READING LEVEL IS TENTH GRADE!! TAKE THAT!"!!!" oh and …GET THE BOOK BUT IF U DONT HAVE MONEY BEG FOR A GIFT CARD LIKE I DO!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Can't wait!!!

    Cant wait to read this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    R

    I got Radiance really cheap at a book fair and loved it! I highly recomend it for ages 10+. I'm going to buy this book when I (hopefuly) get a Barnes&Noble gift card for Christmas!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    To:"Shut up"

    What are you talking about? Course she did.

    Anyway i liked it. I was a little cofused about the cover. Riley was supossed to be blond... so why did the other girl have Rileys dog, Buttercup?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Surprised with the depth of the storyline Review brought to you

    Surprised with the depth of the storyline

    Review brought to you by Annabell

    For such a small novel, author Alyson Noel managed to pack a punch! A suspenseful story wrapped in history and empathy, Alyson Noel proves a good story isn’t about length but quality.

    Riley is just as sarcastic as ever! She is rash, stubborn, and hardheaded. She tends to act against better judgment and tends to make a lot of mistakes before she gets something right. She is just like any normal twelve year old . . . er . . . except for the fact that she is dead. Riley grows a lot in this novel. She learns to be more empathetic, a trait most twelve year olds (and adults I may add) don’t fully understand. She learns to understand the power of forgiveness and compassion.

    Bodhi doesn’t play as much of a role as I would have liked but considering the story is from Riley’s point of view and what she goes through, I can understand. I just love Bodhi! He is SUCH a nerd. He dresses more laid back in Shimmer than he had when he met Riley in Radiance. He is still head butting against Riley, still as wise and smart as ever (much to Riley’s annoyance).

    I also love that Riley’s dog, Buttercup, is a part of the story. His personality makes for a great character even though he can’t actually speak. His facial expressions and attempts to get into Riley’s good graces and even the pain he has to overcome in the story are all believable. He reminded me of my dog Melody and I just wanted to hug my dog after reading about his story.

    The only thing that really bothered me in Shimmer was the constant repetition of Riley’s thoughts. She is dramatic in the way she expresses her thoughts and has a need to go on about them for far longer than I cared to read.

    Shimmer does deal with dark themes. Slavery, murder, rage. I would advise parents and readers of YA novels (who are under legal adult age) to be cautious with this book only because there are descriptions about what Rebecca’s father did to the slaves he owned. Also, as to what happened with Rebecca and her father. Nothing overly graphic or enough to become completely traumatized by reading but the author does venture into helping to built an image so readers have a better appreciation for the history of suffering that took place during those years.

    Shimmer surprised me with how deep the storyline went. There is a great deal of tragedy for the lost souls Riley must help free but also a beautiful journey of triumph and the power of love.

    This review and more at openbooksociety dot com

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Great book

    Awessome book great setting!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Blah blah whtever

    Im sorry but really ok but y would someone read the second book b4 the 1 book bc the first tells a lot a bout the sereis and does any one else think Nooks should have auto correction

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Read imediatly

    If u dont like the book u have some sort of disease. Idk. Let me check with a scientist..........................! Oh yeah its called hators disease!!!!!!! And do u know what i have to say to that......SHUT UR FACE!!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Really good book!!!!!!!!!!

    I read the first book and recently found out that theres another book!!!!! I would recomend this book to 5th and 4th graders.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    AWSOME

    Such a good book! Even tho im in the middle i cant wait til i finish reading it! One of the best books i ever read. Even tho i dont like reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Go to

    Res 5.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    I hope you know

    I hope yoy know that SL who said happy valentines day is probably a fake and trying to get "atention" by saying that i cant even belive that you even fell for that

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    This book is sooooooooo cool!

    Chapter 9 is amazing i was so creeped out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    To SL

    AWSOME STORY!!!!!!!!!! I LOVR LOVE LOVE IT. Please notify me if you need characters.~horsegirl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    To SL ~ F.R.

    I have a character!!!!!!!!! • NAME: Grasshoppa• AGE:12• GODLY PARENT: Persephone•GENDER: Female(but tomboy)• HAIR: Long and black with lime green streaks(always has a flower behind her ear)• EYES: Hazel• WEAPON: Bow and quiver• has crush on Leo Valdez • named after her favorite food Grasshopper pie•POWERS: Can control plants mostly flowers• very sweet girl good friend• THANKS!!!! HOPE YOU USE HER!!!!!! LUV YUR STORY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ~ Author of PiE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 213 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11