Customer Reviews for

Shimmerspell: The Shimmer Trilogy, #1

Average Rating 3.5
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great book!

When I started this book I was immediately blown away. I really loved getting into the feel of the story and seeing Jensen's character. One thing I enjoy in a book is where a character is lost. That is Jensen. When Jensen figures out that there is more to her, she has n...
When I started this book I was immediately blown away. I really loved getting into the feel of the story and seeing Jensen's character. One thing I enjoy in a book is where a character is lost. That is Jensen. When Jensen figures out that there is more to her, she has no idea who she is. I loved that she demanded answers and sometimes thought that she is crazy. She made me laugh and her sarcasticness made me snicker!

I also very much adored the story line. While Jensen has been lied to her entire life, there is a war brewing. Jensen has come to some untimely problems that all seemed to be brewing around her. The way the story flowed, impacted a whole lot of the story. Every thing was set at a right pace that made the story so much more. The writing is easily flowed and nicely written. In the smallest sentences, you find so much happening that you the reader are devouring this book quickly.

My only gripe is course it's small. I was so hooked onto the story that I wanted to read more on the happenings of Jensen. The love interest for me, just didn't cut it. I realize it was short story but still I wanted more between the characters.

This is great novella that has a great impact while reading. Your heart is racing and your eyes fly across the pages as you read Jensen's story. Will there be more? I hope so! This is a great short, summer read that you don't want to miss!

posted by BooksWithBite on July 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Loss

Incredibly boring. Incredibly short. Lack of information and imagination.

posted by 9963782 on February 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Shimmerspell by Kimberly Spencer This review was originally pos

    Shimmerspell by Kimberly Spencer

    This review was originally posted on Big Al's Books and Pals review blog on July 12, 2012

    Sixteen-year-old high school student Jenson Meadows has no idea who she really is, her whole life she believed her mother had died and she was being raised by her sister Lauren. When events happen that cause Jenson to start seeing past faerie glamour Lauren abandons her saying “… Seek the order of the high wizard if need be and whatever you do, don’t take off your ring.”

    Jensen finds herself caught in the middle of an ancient faerie war of Arthurian proportions. She soon learns that faeries aren't made of sparkly goodness, some can be vicious. With the help of Liam Casey and his sister Fiona, she delves into their world to find her missing sister and begins to suspect that her whole life has been nothing more than a faerie tale.

    This novella has a very original story line that is tied into Arthurian legend in a very unique way. The author does a nice job introducing us to Jensen and a few friends. I loved the dialogue between the teenagers; it was witty and typical for that age. When Jensen breaks into her friend’s twin sister’s locker, she starts seeing the world differently. She becomes Two-Sighted, which means she can see through faerie glamour and can ignore their compulsion.

    Then things start happening too fast and furious, the story gets rushed and at times confusing. Some descriptions of the faerie world are colorful and well done, other parts needed a lot more definition or explanation. Many new faerie characters are introduced and not well defined. Perhaps certain aspects are picked up in the rest of the trilogy; but time should have been taken in this story to define Sidhe, Seelie and Unseelie courts as they pertained to her faerie world and not just assume the readers know, because this is a YA story. There is a lot of potential for a great story here that the author just lost by rushing the story along.

    Format/Typo Issues:

    A small number of errors.

    **Originally written for "Books and Pals" book blog. May have received a free review copy. **


    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    confuzing

    I got lost at points, and I was really confused at the end. Other than that, it was pretty good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Its ok

    Its a so so book i wouldnt read it twice unless i was bored but i would read the nexr books to find out what happens

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A fun fae novella

    First I have to say that I love the cover. This is what first drew me to this book. I love faerie stories, they always seem to bring something new.

    Jensen has lived her entire life on the run with her con artist sister Lorlei. Things are going ok for Jensen until one day she meets Liam, a total hottie at school. Things turn upside down for Jensen. She discovers that she can see through glamor, her sister disappears and that's just the beginning for Jensen.

    I truly liked the characters. Jensen is a strong, likeable person, Liam is a hot, mysterious faerie and I loved the twins, they are just so different from each other. This novella was well written and the story and world building was good. I could visualise what the author was describing. There was lots of action, some mystery and a little romance. I'm interested in finding out who Lorlei really is and what is next for this series.

    It was a good novella that I'm looking forward to reading the next book in the series. If you love fae, you need to read this novella. This e-novella was given to me for review. This did not affect my review in any way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Short

    Only 189 pages why to short

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    The writing is excellent. I could not stop reading it. I did not

    The writing is excellent. I could not stop reading it. I did not stop till I was finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Ummm

    Well good book but would NOT let a young kid read this. There are some words that are very rude. I am a girl and a litte mad they put words like that in there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Recommend based on Genre (Fantasy - Fiction)

    Picked up as future read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2