Customer Reviews for

Shine

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A MUST HAVE!!!!

    I love this CD! It is so awesome!!!I have never heard anything like it before.Bond is my new favorite group and their cd is a must have for any string lover's collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Cool

    This is a cool CD.IT is very energetic Buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Classical becomes cool!

    Bond does it again! With it's modern appeal, the album certainly lives up to its name! All the girls shine with immense talent. A groovy, beat driven track like "Gypsy Rhapsody" will defintely get bodies moving. "Speed" inspires everyone to drive a little faster. "Bond on Bond" is simply a lot of fun and proves the quartet deserves their fame. "Kashmir" will drum in your brain and be perfect before the big race, as my sister has used it to pump her up! My favorite track has to be "Ride" which certainly sweeps you away and takes you along with its vigorous movement. (And it is composed by Eos herself!) Even when it slows down, as in "Strange Paradise" and "Big Love Adagio," you will find yourself swaying along. Every composition is amazing, and your parents will definitely approve, which is a welcome relief!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Shine

    This album is very good. I love to listen to it and it's very fun. My favorites are Shine, Libertango, Sahara, and Kashmir. This album is for anyone who likes classical or pop music. That's whats so great about. Everybody seems to enjoy it, wether they like classical music or other genre. This album is as good as the first one. I would recommend this album to anyone. So what are you waiting for? Go and buy this album today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent!!

    Before listening to this album, I was more into rock and rap. But then after listening to Shine and Fuego, I had to get it. It has brought in a whole new sense of music into me. Definetly one of the best albums I've ever heard!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    impressed

    i was watching good morning america when isaw these talented young ladies.i must say i was very impressed.i've always tried to get into classical music but it was so longing for something else.but when i heard these girls,my ears couldn't beleive the wonderful music that played out.it is very upbeat and i could defitnetly see myself hearing this at work.what would us ungifted folk would do without gifted poeple?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Bond of Bond's

    I can't say how much I LOVE this cd. The music is moving and makes your toes tap on every song. I still need to get their first cd, which I'm sure I'll get soon, but this cd just ROCKS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Disappointing after their first album

    What happened to the Bond of "Born?" This is a completely different group! They have, unfortunately, added still more vocals and seem to be ashamed that they are a string quartet at all! There is barely any mention of any of their instruments anywhere on the entire CD case and insert. However, they do still have a few good pieces on this album, like "Bond on Bond" and "Allegretto."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Second Album Shine

    The string quartet Bond is back with their second CD entitled Shine. Bringing back the unique sounds of their fist CD Born, Bond do it again with this CD. Combining classical styles with ethnic folk, Shine has something for every musical taste. Fuego offers a nice Spanish-type dance track, Speend is a cool contemperary rock song, and the cover song Shine adds some nice flavor from other parts of the world. Covers on this CD include a remake of the ever popular Led Zepplin song Kashmir, the classical Albinoni song Big Love Adagio and the great remix of the James Bond Theme. Fans of the first album will definitely love this album and new fans should try this and the first album. The DVD concert is also a must see!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Kashmir?

    I keep reading these reviews about how wonderful and "powerful" the remake of Led Zeppelin's Kashmir is, so I go and get this album. It has some good tracks, but the Kashmir remake is NOT one of them. If you want to hear a GREAT classical version of Kashmir, get a copy of Symphonic Led Zeppelin, where various tracks are done by the London Symphony Orchestra. THAT version of Kashmir will blow you away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Shine is Freekin Fabulous!

    Shine has exceeded every expectation I had in looking forward to its release! Bond's first CD set the bar high...but Shine has gone beyond! As I listened to each track, I kept turning it up! And when I came to "Kashmir" (yes!!! Led Zeppelin's Kashmir!) I was freekin blown away! But there was another suprise to come!Bond does James Bond's theme! Now we're talking music that a "guy" can sink his teeth in! Bond...don't stop here! "Guys" around the world have got to love this! I DO!!! Next conquest for the guys...Godfather movie tunes...why let's go all the way and hear Bond's take on the Monday Night Football theme! It would be fantastic! And, oh yeah, guys you've gotta hear the strong and sexy track, "Space." These four ladies are so very talented...and by the way, THEY'RE GORGEOUS!!! The CD's photography is, by itself, worth buying! Oh yeah! Bond you've out done yourselves!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Bond - OUTSTANDING

    Bond's CD Shine is the best CD to come out in years. For anyone that loves music, you will love this CD. I can't stop listening to it and can't wait for the next CD. Fresh, fun, sexy ... BOND

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BREATH OF FRESH AIR!!!

    This group quickly became my favourite as soon as I heard their music. The only classical music that I seem to enjoy is that which has a distict unique feel to it. These girls are amazing. They are a literal BLAST OF FRESH AIR to the classical scene. And you don't have to like classical music to enjoy them... they manage to roll pop, dance, house and world music into one - nothing short of BRILLIANT!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Bond truly 'Shines'!

    This CD has a way of calming the soul and uplifting the spirits! The bows race across my heart and moves every fiber of my being. A truly wonderful listening experience!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not quite as good as BORN

    The music is all good but it would be impossible for them to better BORN. BOND on Bond is my favorite selection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome!!

    I love this band. They are rockin'! I love the way that their music is different than what we usually hear. These ladies are extremely talented. The sound is unique and we need unique. I think this music is great for people of all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Bond Shine's

    Think of four classically trained instrumentalists, with a flare for pop music, and who are mistaken for supermodels. Yes Bond is back, with their new album shine, released in the US on October 15th. These girls again show how talented they are. This type of music os somewhat new to the scene, just recently finding its way into both classical and pop charts. The title song Shine, is very bold and vibrant with an eastern flavor. Fuego is a fast paced song in which you wonder how they can keep their arms from getting tired, all the while feeling like you should be jumping about. The entire cd is filled with wonderful songs, a couple were written by the girls themselves! They even do the theme to James Bond, done their way of course, and it turned out fantastic! There are some familiar songs on the CD as well such as Allegreto, and Strange Paradise. The CD as a whole is wonderful, and uplifting no matter what song you listen to. Reccomended for all ages. The next cd is sure to be another smash.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Bond Shine

    The Bond Shine CD is an excellent followup to their Born effort. The title track Shine and their version of Led Zepplin's Kasmir are the two highlights of the CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fast Rising Stars

    Finally classical music played with talent that is only equaled by their beauty. A definate purchase for the serious music lover. A rollercoaster ride of emotion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Another masterpiece!

    Bond is turning out to be a group that I do not need to hear before I buy it because I know it will be great! Their take on classical and other music is very unique with the lite electronic background and the passion as to which they attack the songs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3